We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I were guests at the Inn while on staying on Yap for some business and some diving. We were thrilled with our accomodations and proximity to the dive shop. Our rooms even had a "drying closet" on our private veranda - perfect for our dive equipment and wet clothes! The rooms are decorated with a vintage Savannah feel right down to the smallest detail. The staff was very gracious and willing to do anything to make us comfortable. We enjoyed many nights in the bar, on the front porch and the back deck area enjoying drinks and great conversation. There is an excellent restaurant, Oasis, directly across the street from the Inn. You can charge your meals to your room and just settle up at the end of your trip with the Inn. We absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Yap for any reason. There is an excellent dive shop right next door and the drying closet on the veranda makes it a perfect choice for divers. My husband and I are already daydreaming about our next trip to O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn!! Please feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crr1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

Right on the water. Don Evans, owner and resident of over 40 years, has put together the nicest place in town. great hearing the waves splsh at night. Great location in the center of the town of Colonia.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jceby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

For places to stay, I stayed at the O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn. This is a quaint and small inn consisting of 5 rooms located right on the oceanfront (no beach). My room, while not large, was very comfortable and very nicely appointed. It even has cable TV if you are inclined. However, I never watched it. The TV is hidden behind a piece of art similar to a wall safe, so it will not be in the way if you do not want it. The staff at O'Keefe's was very friendly and accommodating at all times. If we were interested in something, we would merely mention it, and it would be done for us. For example, I inquired about a rental car, and all arrangements were made for me, including the car being delivered to me at O'Keefe's as well as allowing me to simply drop it at O'Keefe's. Another example is when we wanted to try Tuba, which is a local coconut beer/wine drink which is indigenous to Yap, and made locally by families. We inquired, and that night, we were sipping Tuba recently made by Jimmy's (desk clerk) grandfather! Also, we had the breakfast plan and dined at the Oasis Restaurant located across the street from O'Keefe's. We found the Oasis was the best restaurant in town based upon service, consistency of the food and prices.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcleanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We were looking for a midrange hotel for one week of diving in Yap. Since most people are coming to Yap for the diving, you can either arrange both through the hotel or through the dive shop. We were pleased to find O’Keefe’s Waterfront Inn.

O’Keefe’s is a charming, five room inn, on the water. From the private deck, you look out directly onto the bay and it felt like being on a boat. The price was in between Manta Ray Bay/Trader’s Ridge and Pathways / ESA.

The rooms were well furnished, with enough space to stow a lot of luggage (especially dive equipment !) The closets were well arranged so we didn’t trip over our stuff, yet we could easily access our three bags. In addition, it is the only hotel with a little room for drying wetsuits and other gear – it was great for washing out our swimsuits and t-shirts/shorts … and everything dried within a few hours ! It was a big help on rainy days when our shoes got absolutely soaked … but they were dry by the next morning !
The bathroom held the shower and toilet and was big enough to accommodate two; the basin was outside in the bedroom, which made it easier for two to co-exist. (There is no bathtub, but no other hotel on Yap seems to have them; Manta Ray Bay has a few deluxe rooms with private hot tub.) The room was well lit during the day via the deck and multiple mirrors in strategic places. At night, the room was well lit and we could comfortably read or watch television. It is the only hotel with cable TV on Yap.

The restaurant is across the street (Oasis Restaurant). If you let the staff know the night before, they can arrange to bring your breakfast to the sitting area off of the lobby. The restaurant is closed on weekends, but if you pre-arrange it, the staff will prepare meals for you. The food was outstanding – we ate several breakfasts, lunches and dinners.

For breakfast, there is a choice of American style or Japanese style for $7.50, including coffee/tea. The food was fresh and the fruit was ripe. For lunch, there is usually a special for $5.00, which has to be the best deal on the island. It is usually packed with locals, tourists and the Peace Corps volunteers. The food was hearty and most important – it was well presented. The food was well arranged, not slopped onto the plate. There was a variety of meats and starches, as well as unlimited iced tea.

Dinners were in the $10 range – we had sizzling fish one night that was enough for the two of us to share, along with an extra order of rice. Service, even when the restaurant was full, was prompt and cheerful.

Yes, you can pay more to stay on Yap. Yes, the experience at Manta Ray Bay or Trader’s Ridge is different. But, if you want a homey, cheery, comfortable room for a more reasonable price, I would choose O’Keefe’s. Due to the flight schedule, most hotels will charge you anywhere from half to full price to stay in your room prior to your flight. Since the hotel was not full, they allowed us to stay without an extra charge. We were able to relax and then freshen up before our flight to Palau. That is darned civilized and considerate as well. It is a much more personal touch than you can get at a larger hotel.

One last comment about diving - the dive shops are typically aligned with the hotels. Both O’Keefe’s and Pathways will recommend Beyond the Reef, which we used. At most, there are 4 paying divers per boat, with a dive master and boat captain. The small group experience was much more personalized.

Bottom line – the best value for diving on Yap: O’Keefe’s Waterfront Inn + Oasis Restaurant + Beyond the Reef.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We originally booked O'Keefe's because they are the only place in Yap with Tv's and cable (most have only the TV). We were really thrilled when we figured out that we were at the best place to stay in Yap.In the middle of town we had every resturant in town (4) to choose from and every Dive shop. The hotel in town with a dive shop welcomed us for dinner and even gave us a open account to charge on despite we were staying next door. The room was decorated like the early 1900's and the balcony and dive gear dryer were also great. We recomend this Inn highly and welcome any questions.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Herbjørn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia
0 mi away
Manta Ray Bay Resort
Manta Ray Bay Resort
#1 of 5 in Colonia
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
#5 of 5 in Colonia
83 reviews
0 mi away
Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn

Address: 2 Waterfront Rd, Colonia, Yap 96943, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range: $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn Yap/Colonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing