We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pacific Colonial Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very happy with this beautiful hotel and very friendly staff. Food was excellent too with a combination of local cuisine and western.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Yap Pacific Dive Resort in February/March 2011 and we travelled with a group of friends. We enjoyed it so much we are seriously considering going back in 2013. In fact our friends already went back in 2012! The Hotel is stunning, and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable...there was free wi-fi which is especially good for keeping in touch with friends and family and sharing pictures of our trip.

The food was excellent and we were told by other visitors to the Hotels restaurant that it was the best on the island (and they learned through bad experiences)! Breakfast was included with our package, and was delicious every day. We had lunch a few times as well which was also up to the same high standard, but we didn't have this every day because we were often still full from breakfast.

We were there for Yap day and we saw the locals celebrating their history and heritage through costume, dance, song and demonstrations...something definitely not to be missed if you are on the island the first week in March.

We also went scuba diving, and this is what makes the island so special, the quality of marine life is breathtaking from Mantas to Sharks to Nudibranches. My husband hasn't stopped talking about the diving since we got back and our 2012 holiday to the Maldives didn't even compare.

In many respects, holidaying in Yap is like stepping back in time and it's so relaxing. The pace of life is slow, and you really start to appreciate life and enjoy the small things. It was the people who worked at the Hotel that turned our holiday from a good holiday to the best holiday experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaceyRache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Staff were helpful, relaxed atmosphere. It's a lot more expensive than the other places for the tours, but we had a great time sitting at the bar chatting to the staff and other guests. Jeff the hotel manager also went out of his way to talk to every guest, even stopping us in the street to make sure we weren't lost.

I went diving for the first time with Dieter, made the whole event very simple and relaxed. Didn't have any problems.

If you have problems climbing stairs, you may want to avoid staying here as there are lots of steps to and from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewokracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here when it was Traders Ridge and while the local staff where excellent as was the local dive masters I am sorry to say the dive mangment was well below par.
There is a very steep climb from the dive center back to the hotel and I asked if I could leave my camera & strobes locked in the office at nights and was told no. It was at the end of our stay that a hotel staff member told me I should have asked the dive manager for a ride back, as he comes back for dinner every night. He did and also had breakfast there but was very aloof and made it plane he did not want to talk to us.
There were no other guests from the hotel diving but there was a party of Germans from another hotel that dictated where we would dive, all communication was in German with them and no English spoken.
After my seconde day of diving I became ill with a infection and could not dive but my wife continued to dive, on one of the dives he told her there was nothing wrong with me and I could dive if I wanted to. After leaving Yap we continued on to Palau, feeling a little better I did a days diving and had a relapse and was taken to hospital in a ambulance straight from the dock. I was told by the doctor no more diving on this trip
The manager at the Yap dive center, Dieter (--) refused any compensation for any days diving that I missed and I still had to pay extra for a night dive that I did.
I have dived all over the world UK, West Indies, Australia, PNG South America, Bali and into Indonesia and can honestly say this was the worst dive operation I have ever had the miss fortune to come across.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cdiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I chose this property for our 10 day dive vacation over the more conventional choice in Yap, and we were very happy with our decision. The tropical-colonial ambiance, comfortable room with stunning view from the balcony terrace and friendly and accommodating staff & management were all wonderful, but the crowning touch was the exquisite grounds. The resort is positioned on a hill above the sea and lagoon, with beautifully landscaped gardens surrounding it. Loved the scent of flowers and birdsong drifting into our room. We booked a dive package and the dive crew, Vince and Charles, were top-notch and a lot of fun. Breakfast was included in our package and it was massive and delicious!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great resort to stay at, from all the staff. excellent service.
went on a dive trip purpose to see the mantas which we did and tons of it.
Won't hesitate again to be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have traveled to many tropical destinations in Central and South America, as well as the Hawaii and several locations in the South Pacific for the last ten years, but my travel to Yap has been the most rewarding by far. I had the good furtune to book a stay at the Yap Pacific Dive Resort. Getting to and from the nearby international airport was easy, as the hotel provides transfers. Throughout my stay I found the service to be first rate, with a very knowledgeable and friendly staff quickly responding to any need or question I posed. With WIFI available I was able to immediately share written thoughts and pix with family and friends. The room accommodations are comfortable and include air conditioning, reliable hot water service, and a clean comfortable bed. Housekeeping was as good as you would experience at a major brand hotel. The open air restaurant is on the hotel grounds and provides quality menu items for a reasonable price. The presentation of the food reflected a chef's touch. I wholeheartedly recommend the Yellowfin Tuna which is caught locally and grilled to perfection. Having it along with scrambled eggs was a wonderful breakfast treat. Could not pass up having it in a sandwich for lunch as well. Although I did not use the hotel swimming pool I did see others enjoying it. It was clean and well maintained. Across the street from hotel is their boat house and dock facility. It was here that my friendly and knowledgeable guide and I set out to see Manta Rays and Blue Starfish, as well as snorkel at several other locations around the island. The guide also provided an all-day cultural tour of the island and Yap history culture. If you go, you must take this tour. Another "plus" was the fact that the U.S. Dollar is the currency of exchange. Last, as this is a tropical location, having and applying a quality mosquito repellant as a precautionary action is very prudent thing to do.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the lobby have better WIFI reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yap Pacific Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yap Pacific Dive Resort

Address: 1 Yap Pacific Drive, Colonia, Yap, Federated States of Micronesia
Phone Number:
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range: $130 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yap Pacific Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yap Pacific Dive Resort, "Where Adventure and Luxury Meet". Here you can enjoy world-class scuba diving and instruction in our SSI & PADI approved dive center by day, and gourmet dining & exotic island drinks in our restaurants at night. Relax by our fresh water pool or spoil yourself at our private massage retreat offering a wide range of popular spa services! We offer the islands largest selection of environmentally friendly activities and tours sure to please even the most discriminating guest. Visit historic WWII sites, stone money banks, village tours, cultural events, kayaking, boating, snorkeling, fishing, biking and more! Visit the “forbidden island” of Rumung! Experience this unspoiled paradise and see the largest stone money ever discovered.Yap Pacific Dive Resort ties the traditional Yapese culture with the feel of a colonial period gone by. The type of service that one would expect 100 years ago in a first class hotel exists here, today. Our staff, which is almost entirely Yapese, is dedicated to the highest level of service since the beginning and it has made a lasting impression throughout the world. Our boutique hotel, styled in unique Victorian architecture, offers 22 beautifully appointed, spacious, air conditioned rooms, each accented by hand crafted furniture and original artworks from the Ethnic Art Institute of Micronesia. Our two Grand Suites with almost 800 square feet of living space set a new standard for luxury in Micronesia! Fresh flowers daily and evening turndown service is included for all rooms.From sunrise to sunset, the staff at Yap Pacific Dive Resort is available to make your stay with us a memorable one. Personalized concierge services, expert dive staff, exclusive tours, conference facilities, international cuisine, cultural experiences, romantic adventures and best of all, affordable family pricing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yap Pacific Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yap Pacific Dive Hotel Colonia
Traders Ridge Hotel
Traders Ridge Resort
Yap Pacific Dive Resort Colonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing