We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Ado about Nothing much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Ray Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much Ado about Nothing much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Resort is really making a stretch here. The rooms are well decorated and the service by the staff is excellent. Everyone greets you by name and treats you wondefully. However, the food at Mnuw is terrible, the "infinity" pool is best suited for kids and at the cost of over $200 per room why is there a t.v. with no cable and wifi access that you must pay for by the hour. The best thing about this place are the dive instructors. My suggestion, stay at Pathways and head over for a few dives, not worth the extra cash for some nice linens.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewislaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    75
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
91
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

I think that you can actually see the end of the earth from the 3rd floor of the Mnuw.
Rooms are modern and comfortable, pretty well maintained. No night life in Yap. Few other places to eat, other than Oasis and Trader Ridge across the street. Enjoyed Scuba Diving and Snorkeling with Manta Divers. Well run on site dive center.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivebuddyMidland_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

When I decided to book my trip to Yap, it was to realise a dream. Dive with the mindblowing Manta Rays! And the dream came true thanks to a the Manta Ray Bay Hotel team. I had 10 days booked and was hoping that everything would be spot on... Expectations exceeded I would say!! After only 4 days there, it was already like being on a trip with old time friends... These guys really know how to make you feel like you are part of it! The rooms are very spacious, bright and always clean. The swimming pool was a great place where to relax and mingle with other visitors. Meals are served on a boat-restaurant Mnuw that gives you an amazing view. You can even enjoy an outdoor movie on a huge white board (screen) placed on the mast. Hats off to Jan, Andrew, Julie, Daniel, Bill and all the staff. I hope they will keep the dream going! They will definitely see me again on the fantastic Mnuw sipping their homemade beers!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Back in April 2009, we spent 4 days in Yap and stayed at Manta Ray Bay Hotel, and we sure enjoyed our time there! From the moment we arrived at the airport (which I swear was the size of our 2 bedroom unit) we were looked after! Someone from the hotel was there waiting for us with cold water bottles in the esky and a cool damp face clothes! We received such a wonderful welcome from Richard our driver! Upon arrival at the hotel at 11pm, the dive shop manager was there to show us around to ensure we felt ready for an 8:30am departure! We never felt rushed and we were always made to feel welcomed! The dive shop is great and every detail had diver’s needs in mind! I just like how you wake up, rub the sleep out of your eyes, get the swimmers, and venture a few metres to the dive shop and depart at 8:30 (Dive guides are always waiting on the boat ready to go with all your dive gear prepared for you! No faffing around) And I loved their rule where they only need 1 diver on the boat to do a dive! (In Palau at Sam’s Tours, it gets annoying when travelling as a couple, as they need 8 people to proceed with most of their tours....) Dive guides (Chomed and Tim) were fantastic – they even let us do a third dive at the Slow and Easy for 98 minutes – and they always made it appear to be a pleasure to be our dive guide! They were always keen to point things out as well! As for the diving, Valley of the Rays was great – 4 Mantas in one dive! (If diving Valley of the Rays, bring a reef hook, as the current can be annoying if trying to take pictures). Some people avoid Yap, because they believe it’s just Mantas. Don’t be fooled! It has so much more – Yap Caverns, Vertigo, Milnn Channel! Manta Ray Bay Hotel also organises a land tour and a culture tour which I highly recommend! And make sure to try the Betel nut – it’s a good group bonding exercise, watching everyone make a mess spitting the red goo! My only complaint is that for the culture tour, Manta Ray Bay Hotel needed 8 people for the tour. We were only 4 people and they were not going to proceed even though we travelled all that way and were unlikely to return to this island in the near future. In the end, we all agreed to pay xtra to cover the cost and they allowed the tour to proceed.

Now, as for the hotel – the beds are the BEST! After days of travelling and arriving on this itsy bitsy island in the Pacific, I was so happy to be sleeping on this cloud! And again, Bill (owner) has thought of EVERYTHING! First, I felt like a big kid when I found out our room was the Hammerhead room. Yes, every room is themed after marine creatures! Our room had the hammerhead quilt cover, hammerhead shower curtains, the hammerhead picture...some might think tacky, but I LOVED it! There’s some comments on here that the towels are tattered, and this is true, but considering this is just a small island that receives shipments of fresh veggies once every 3 to 4 weeks, having towels period was great! You cannot arrive in Yap and expect the Marriot in Hawaii! As for room set-up: it is PERFECTLY set up for photo processing. It had sufficient power points at the desk for the notebook and battery chargers for 1 SLR and 1 camcorder (We didn’t realise how good this was until we arrived at the Palasia in Palau where we had cords running all over the place....). There’s internet access in the room (but at a cost). There is also a TV (LCD) in the room with DVD player which was great for playing our diving DVD which was made by the onsite videographer Julie. There’s no cable, but it didn’t matter – TV was the last thing we wanted to do, because we were too busy hanging out at the Mnuw.

The Mnuw, the old Indonesian Schooner turned into restaurant is located on site! It has a little ‘je ne sais quoi” about it. It’s a charming little place where after a long day of diving, “where everyone knows your name”. We spent our evenings there and made some great diving friends – some of which we’ve exchanged contacts (Facebook of course is a great way to keep in touch). The food won’t get any Michelin stars, but keeping in mind they only get fresh veggies once every 3 to 4 weeks, it was pretty impressive. By the way, the water there is drinkable (Our driver Richard told us this from our ride from the airport to the hotel...I’m telling you, nothing was missed!). I highly recommend the pizzas. And the beer (microbrewery on site – the only one on the island) is A1. Bill the owner has got it made!

Overall, we LOVED it and would return in a heart beat! (This place however is not for the person wanting a nice white beach with sunset views while getting nails painted! (although they do have massage service)).

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderwaterAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

Manta Ray Bay Resort is an interesting place as it is an all service resort (resort is a stretch here). Anyway, it has an infinity pool, restaurant on a boat and its own dive operation. In many destinations it would be a benefit to have everything located in one spot like this, but in Colonia on Yap, this is absolutely not necessary, and is more restrictive than anything else. We found the food at the restaurant called Mnuw to be generally awful, and the service even worse. The only redeeming virtue of this restaurant would be the microbrewed beer. They sold three microbrews: pale, mixed and dark. It did not matter which brew you choose as they SEEMED TO BE VERY SIMILAR(look and taste), so it was a wonder why they would claim three distinct brews. On Sunday night as this restaurant is one of the only places open, and we did not know any better, we dined there. I ordered grilled pork, and was served country bacon with BBQ sauce on it! This was truly unreal for the price of $14 (almost double what standard dinners cost in other restaurants in Colonia). For lunch on Sunday we had a hamburger with fries from this restaurant for $9.50. WE DISCOVERED LATER THAT other restaurants charge $3.50-$4.50 for better burgers. Also, for some reason, my french fries were black, while my buddies' french fries were the more classic white/golden color. Maybe this was because mine were cooked? Because my buddies fries were uncooked. Further, one of our dive companions ate at Mnuw and tried a tuna dish, but sustained food poisoning as a result.
Regarding Manta Ray's infinity pool, while as a stand alone this would be nice, it hardly seemed appropriate for its location, as any view is completely obstructed by the Mnuw boat restaurant. The dive operation is the largest by far on the island with about 7 or 8 boats. If you are a new diver, or simply did not mind crowded dive boats, you probably would be happy with it. However, experienced divers MAY WANT TO consider this a dive operation of last resort. Did I mention that the workers at this resort were generally unfriendly to guests, and that is was not uncommon to see its guests at other local restaurants and lounges?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcleanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

Just returned following a 3 week dive trip in Micronesia. We wanted to see the giant mantas, but unfortunately, Yap has no lodging that is acceptable to me. If you go, make it a short trip, 2-3 days at the most, see the mantas, and go back to Palau or get on a liveaboard in Paula or Truk. The hotel was in a bay and the view was of rusted out broken down ships and some sort of large metal buildings. The water outside your balcony in the bay is green, i attempted to feed the fish, but only three Sargent Majors The water is just not fish friendly it is so disgusting. The food was edible, that's about all. The sheets were paper thin, stained with rust, and looked one hundred years old. Towels were the same, barely thick enough to dry with, some with ragged edges where the hems had come out. On the long days of diving, we were served banana bread, hot unsweetened tea served in old plastic cups washed daily by the boat crew but not throughly as I noticed the stain of red betel nut juice which the locals chew, and water. No food! The boats were more like fishing boats with no seating. The dive gear and tanks were just laid in the floor of the boat and we sat on the edges of the boat for the long rides to the dive sites. I have to say that the staff was as helpful as they could have been with the limited resources they had. The pool is smaller than my backyard pool, but was clean and refreshing. The restaurant is a large wooden ship mored permanently at the hotel and the outside dining on the decks of the ship was very nice (with exception of the previously described view of the gross bay). Once the boat left the bay and got into the ocean, it was extremely beautiful and navigating through the mangrove chanels was very relaxing. Bottom line, hotel barely tolerable, diving good but can be done in two days, boats terrible. On a positive note, the dive staff was very nice and personable.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

We have just returned from a dive trip. During the trip we stayed nights at The Manta Bay Resort. Its only a short ride like 10 min to the airport but you don't have to worry about taxis as the Hotel will collect you.

The Hotel is imaculate. All the rooms are very spacious. The one we stayed was up stairs facing the front there were 2 double beds in the room very clean shower etc. The beds was so comfortable it was great. One of the rooms down stairs have there very own plung pool. I saw the room its very nice.

Breakfast was included which was fine. They had a menu, they were a tad slow with the breakfast so we found a trick that as soon as one was ready we went to the restaurant and ordered food. That way we could eat it and be ready for the boat for diving.
Lunch and evening menus were great especially the fish and Spagetti. There was a good choose.

The Restaurant is very special. Its on Board a ship that is moored out the back. The view is amazing of the sea and most beautiful sun sets. On Board the ship they have there very own brewed beer which is very refreshing after a hard days diving. The canon is egnited daily to denote Happy Hour.

There will be a spa opening soon but in the mean time you can get a massage by the pool or in the room.

There is also a nice size pool with loungers around to relax. Nobody is in your face trying to sell you stuff.
there is an internet place 2 min walk from the hotel but is slow.
No mobile phone coverage but there is the option to by a local sim card and use that.
Recommended by us is the do the tour of the island provided by the hotel ?$ but it is very interesting.

All the staff are very helpful and always in good humour and happy.

The Yap divers were amazing. Very knowledgeble and super help. Ask to do a 3 day dive out instead of a 2. The mantas were fantastic to see.

Overall it's a fab place to stay. Definatly go back for sure.

  • Liked — Fab room and pool area. Diving was amazing
  • Disliked — Slow in the morning for breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank erpjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manta Ray Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bay Resort

Property: Manta Ray Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box MR | Fsm, Colonia, Yap 96943-0850, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manta Ray Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Bay Colonia
Manta Ray Bay Resort Yap/Colonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing