We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manta Ray Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Ray Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved It!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at The Manta Ray Bay Hotel for 11 nights April/May 2008 and found the hotel and the staff to be first class in every possible way. Nothing was too much trouble and you really felt that they cared about you having a good time on your holiday. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, rooms light and airy and extremely spacious, facilities within excellent. The staff were very friendly and it was evident this was due to the hotel being a family run business.
Food was served on the Mnuw a boat moored to the front of the hotel an excellent point of difference for this hotel. The food was good-fab fresh fresh daily. Hotels own brewery supplied a very drinkable beer!
The dive centre was clearly set up by a diver as it was well thought out and spacious with plenty of room to hang kit outside to dry and in your own dedicated storage area inside the centre. A simple idea but it was great knowing your kit wasnt going to get picked up by someone else in error.
Dive guides excellent, good fun, eager to please and would dive what the group on the boat wanted, weather conditions permitting. Diving itself was fabulous the mantas were superb but some of the wall diving we did was just amazingly pretty, so don't get hung up on just seeing mantas else you will miss out on some great dives (Yap Caverns- don't miss this dive- spectacular)
MRBH was far away from what we had expected and deserve a big pat on the back for being so effortlessly organised and efficient and making our trip unforgettable.

  • Liked — Clean, well presented, spacious.
  • Disliked — Tea/coffee making facilities would be a nice addition.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    71
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
89
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

I stayed at MBRH for four days and also dove with Yap Divers, the dive shop affiliated with the hotel and located on the same premises. I would most definitely recommend staying at the hotel and booking any dive trips through their dive shop. They offer discounted rates if you book them together and since it seems like most people dive with Yap Divers anyway it makes sense to just stay at MBRH. I was fortunate that even though it was high season (the best season for manta sightings), I happened to be visiting in between tour groups when there were only 4 other guests at the hotel. Every employee of the hotel knew my name and addressed me by sight by the time I had been there an hour (which made my stay even more enjoyable as I happened to be traveling alone). The entire staff was helpful and personable. I would recommend the half-day land tour run by one of the very informative hotel staff. The dive staff was knowledgeable, safety conscious, and very exuberant about diving around the island, which made for a very pleasant diving experience. The dive shop videographer accompanied us on all of the dives and presented a video for purchase at the end for about $45, which seemed reasonable given the high quality of the video. As far as the accommodations, for a remote island in the Pacific ocean with a population of only 9,000 people, the hotel seemed like a palace (although if you are expecting the Ritz, your expectations are too high and you will be disappointed). The hotel's restaurant, the Mnuw, is set aboard a hundred year old ship docked in front of the hotel. The food is delicious and I would suggest buying the meal plan if you plan to stay at the hotel. There are very few other places to eat in town anyway, so you really won't be missing out on much. The restaurant also serves fresh catch (i.e., when the staff brings in a tuna at lunchtime, it becomes sashimi at dinner). The hotel also has its own microbrewery, serving light, dark, and 'Texas two-step' (a half and half). All of the beers are great and I would recommend trying each of them. Also, I was glad to find that the hotel water was purified and drinkable, since there aren't exactly any corner grocery stores to buy bottled water.

  • Liked — Great staff, great diving, great food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

I just got back from an eight day stay at the Manta Ray Bay Hotel. What a great trip! The Hotel was the perfect dive hotel. The service was outstanding. The room was clean and comfortable. Happy Hour and meals aboard the Mnuw were fun and tasty. The dive shop - run by Jan was very accomodating and the Manta diving was awesome. The owner's Bill and Patricia were welcoming and I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The great service.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Underwatertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

We've stayed at The Manta Ray bay Hotel several times over the years & it just keeps getting better & better! It was an awesome experience back in 1998 when we 1st stayed & now with the addition of the Mnuw, swimming pool & Micro Brewery it just became our favourite place in the whole world.
The hotel & staff are fabulous, the dive operation & sites world class. I have over 5000 logged dives, all over Asia pacific (& then some) & to this day my best ever dive has been in Miil channel! Drifting in on the incoming tide, surrounded by mantas, sharks, schooling fish & then settling at the cleaning staion to watch the mantas close up....PRICELESS!!!
just do yourself a favour & go, Yap offers one of the best travel experiences on earth teamed with some of the best diving in the world with superb accomodations & easy access to the dive sites. (a typical 2 tank dive day sees you back to the hotel by noon to early afternoon) The people & culture of yap are incredible & you have to see stone money to believe it.

  • Liked — location location location!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — leaving:(
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank divekrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

We stayed at the Mantra Ray Bay Resort for 4 days after a week of diving in Palau. Our room was large and reasonably clean. I think the pillows were quite old and my allergies acted up sleeping on them. The beds were moderately comfortable, but the a/c worked well! They had tv's, but they were just for watching dvds, which was just fine as we didn't spend too much time in the room.

We did 3 days of diving plus one Mandarin Fish dive. I love Mandarin fish and saw plenty, although Rainbow "reef" is more like a murky lagoon. Our boat captain, Henry and dive guide, Tim were very friendly. The dive shop was nice with lockers and lighted dunk tanks. We weren't there at the best time of year for Mantas, but we did see them on about half of the dives. There were so few fish when we were waiting for the mantas to show that we got bored. We dove Lionfish Wall and the Magic Kingdom where the visibility was great and there was a lot more sealife.

The staff at Mantra Ray Bay was as friendly as anywhere I have been. They all learned our names and nobody ever passed us without a friendly greeting. The Cultural Tour and Island Tour were very interesting, it's a facinating island. The food was good, lots of fresh Wahoo and the banana bread at breakfast on our surface intervals was fabulous!

Yap is probably not for everyone, it's certainly not luxury. It seems that the entire island is slightly buzzed on Betel Nut and the constant spitting as well as the unattractive effect it has on everyone's teeth can be a bit off-putting.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good dive shop
  • Disliked — Old pillows, expensive food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

We heard about the Manta Ray Bay Hotel through other divers, who couldn't stop talking about their experience on Yap. After 35 hours flying (and sitting at the airport in Palau), we arrived on Yap at 0245, where we were met by hotel staff, who drove us to the hotel, showed us around a bit, took us to our room and told us we could do the necessary paperwork in the morning. The BED -- I thought I'd died and gone to heaven; I never expected such a comfortable bed; it was wonderful. Staff at Manta Ray Bay are special too -- after your first meeting, they call you by your first name the rest of your stay, and they'll do just about anything to ensure your stay is special. I celebrated a birthday while at Manta Ray Bay, and the staff all wished me "Happy Birthday" and arranged breakfast flowers and a very special dinner for me. Another MRBH plus is its in-house brewery, "The Stone Money Brewing Company." We'll happily go back to MRBH in a heartbeat. Oh, yes: the diving, which had brought us to Yap in the first place, was super too.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — paying for SLOW internet connection
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamtonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2007

This was the second trip to the hotel, previous visit being 2004 just after the hotel had been damaged by the hurricane. The stay in 2004 was great. Despite the difficulties caused by the hurricane, the food and accommodation were excellent, the diving unbelievable and the staff made the holiday really memorable.

The hotel has been refurbished and extended (swimming pool, brewery, new dive complex and extra rooms) since the hurricane so the visit this year was even better. The hotel accommodation is first class and with the Mnuw (dhow used as restaurant and bar) back in business, the food was really good value with plenty of variety.

Yap is a diver's dream - it is not a centre for anyone without an interest in diving, snorkling or fishing. Once again the diving was superb - Manta Rays, Sharks, Turtles, Mandarin fish to name just a few.

The hotel and dive staff once again made the holiday. With their friendliness and attitude - nothing is too much trouble - you are encouraged to have a great time.

Cultural trips are available and I would recommend them if you want to understand Yapese culture etc.

Evenings spent in the Mnuw drinking the local brew and talking about the days diving are a great way to pass the time.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia
0.1 mi away
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
#4 of 5 in Colonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
#1 of 1 in Falalop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bay Resort

Property: Manta Ray Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box MR | Fsm, Colonia, Yap 96943-0850, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manta Ray Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Bay Colonia
Manta Ray Bay Resort Yap/Colonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing