We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only resort with beach access”
Review of Village View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yap
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The title says it all. All other hostels and hotels in Yap are not located at a beach - water maybe, but no beach. The bungalows are roomy and 4 people fit in easily. Everything is clean and the cleaning lady is lovely. You also have a fridge to cool breakfast stuff or water and soda.
Talking about food: the restaurant attached to the resort is outstanding. I hardly can remember such good food coming out of such a small and simple kitchen. Just work down the menu, you ll be surprised about the flavors and taste!

The resort is located very remotely on the northeast corner of the island. There is nothing to do except relaxing, diving, swimming and eating. Bring a book and you ll wind down very easily

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you’ve a few days to spend at Yap, this is a very good peaceful place to visit. The beach is one of the only sandy ones and very beautiful. The houses can use some rebuilding, but as you’re always outside, this wasn’t a problem to us. The restaurant is very good (we even had some cooking lessons because we wanted to make the delicious food at home) and they’ve their own travel agency that can arrange diving, snorkeling and nature tours. It’s also very easy to walk to the neighboring villages. There’s an amazing reef in front of the cottages that you can walk to to snorkel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luigi-e-Ralfonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent three days in the Village View Resort on the way from Palau. We are quite well travelled, also to remote and exotic places, but Yap is one of the greatest experiences in our life. Most of this amazing experience is due to the Vilage View Resort and its owner Alex.

As already noted in other reviews, the Village View Resort is located in a remote place, in the very North of the Yap island, and this greatly adds to its unique charm. You are actually in a middle of a Yapese village, you go from your cottage to the restarant and dive shop by village road accompanied by the many friendly village dogs and chicken. At the same time you have all the Western comforts, including air conditioner and hot shower in you cotage which is located right on the beach.

The owner Al, who personally met us in the airport, took us to amazingly interesting land tour to other villages, stone money banks and other beautiful places in Yap. It seems that Al knows everybody on the island so all the doors are opened when you travel together with him. When we expressed interet in tasting the locally made palm wine, he arranged it from one of his relatives. When we asked for fresh fish, he just asked one of our dive masters to go fishing and we had fresly cought jack fish for the dinner! It was amazing service, which you rarelly have even in 5 star hotels!!!

Add to this the unique diving with Mantas, the very authentic and beautiful cultural tour to one of the villages with local girls and boys dancing in the traditional dresses and you have the holidays of your lifetime.

Thank you, Al, we have felt in love with Yap and will keep it in our hearts!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights . its about a 35 minute drive from the airport , the good thing about this location is that its the only resort/ hotel with a beach on the island !! believe it or not ! very peacful ( apart from the occasional building work to one of the bungalows ) beautiful beach , diving and nice friendly restuarant and diving centre staff , the diving centre and restuarant are actually owned by a Japanese owner called Daiskue , the resort is owned by a local guy . The best time for diving or spotting the Mantas is Dec - April , but still great diving outside these months . It really is Robinson crusoe / Mutiny on the bounty territory !! A great place for a solo traveler or a couple , easy to meet people and make friends , diving or relaxing with a drink in the evening . The only minor downside is if you want to snorkel off the resort beach , it isnt so good . But i am actually thinking of going again , possibly in March .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chudds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

it is one of the best experince in my life. the place is very far from the Colonia ( 30 min by car) and is on a great sandy beach.And that's all.This is the reason to go there. relax and nature. The resort is iINSIDE a typical Yapese village. there is a good diving center (Say hallo to Mike if you go there). The restaurant is perfect ( say hallo to Alex, the goog chef, and his wife if you go there). and The owner is very kind.( Say hallo to Al). The experience was really good. Stay no more than 3 -4 days, because after could be a little boring...I think is one of the place of the world that is quite intact.
The rooms are very clean with a/c A negative note: the water is too shallow and with some green algs....but this is the price of the pristine nature!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicisub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

A friend and visited Yap recently, spending three nights at Traders' Ridge in the downtown area of Colonia. But I found Village View online and thought it would be an interesting experience for our final night/day in Yap.

The important thing about Village View is understanding what it is and isn't. It is a set of five beachfront duplex bungalows in a remote village about 30 minutes from Colonia. There is a dive shop here, with a restaurant that is open all day. That is it -- if you're looking for tourist sites, shopping, luxury, etc., stay in Colonia. But if you want to scuba dive and/or relax on a beachfront while doing absolutely nothing (and loving every minute of it), this is the place for you.

Village View is located in a village called Wacholab, which we learned consists of the owner's extended family. The owner, Al, who is very friendly and accommodating, picked us up at Traders' Ridge the evening we checked out (and he will pick up guests from the airport, as well). We drove through rural roads, first paved then unpaved, to the village. Al offered to stop at one of the roadside stores along the way, but we had already picked up some bottled water and snacks for the stay. We arrived at the bungalow and settled in for the night. The bungalow reminded me of a campground cabin -- it appears very worn, yet it is clean, has a private bathroom and air conditioning, and a veranda that wraps around it. Other than a bar of soap, bathroom tissue and some towels, no other toiletries are provided, so be sure to bring your own.

We were only staying one night and all of the following day, before catching a flight to Palau. We spent the day reading on our veranda, walking and lounging on the beach, and exploring some of the village. It was a perfect way to relax on the trip. The dive shop's restaurant (Moon Rize) had quite an extensive menu for the limited number of people it serves, and the food was good. We met several other guests -- all were from Canada or Australia, and were scuba divers. They were enjoying their stays as well.

The cost was very affordable: I believe it was $85 for the night, plus $25 for the late check-out (for us, 8 p.m.). (Cash or traveler's check only.) At the end of the day, Al drove us to the airport for our next flight. Village View could certainly use a few cosmetic touch-ups, but it was a neat experience within an incredible tropical setting.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pennmike1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our visit to Village View was very relaxing. It is remote. The drive from the airport took a while, but Al opened the moonroof and we have never seen so many stars! Also stopping by a local store for provisions (wine, water, fruit) on the way to the hotel was a good call. The units are well constructed, and relaxing on the deck just feet from the beach and waterfront was great. The beach is narrow, but the snorkeling offshore is amazing (still far enough from shore that it is best to get there by boat, perhaps on the way back from Miil Channel where the mantas visit, as we did). Sunrise Cafe was very enjoyable! The gingan juice was wonderful! Also take enough cash/travelers checks - Village View did not accept credit cards when we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pactrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village View Hotel

Address: Yap 96943, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yap
Also Known As:
Village View Hotel Yap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing