We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the ancient wonders of Oceania”
Review of Nan Madol

Nan Madol
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Pohnpei
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This center of an ancient civilization is surrounded by 92 islets.
Kansas City, USA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“One of the ancient wonders of Oceania”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Although not as overwhelming as the Pyramids, still Nan Madol is a similar engineering feat. Bringing the huge stone pillars from the quarry by boat then piling them log cabin style to make the huge buildings of Nan Madol is just incredible. Note that there is a similar but smaller stone city on Kosrae using the same massive stone pillars as building material.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Loved the tour thru The Village Hotel. The ruins are fantastic and a complete mistery.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank U_s_a_Viajera2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NAN MADOL”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

There's nothing to dislike. Its very peaceful and we got to swim right next to it. I had a blast.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank KLAUDIO I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok to visit but the trip there was better”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I found the trip to Nan Madol better than the actual site. We took a trip from the village and stopped to snorkel then over to an island for lunch. The island was inhabited by Japanese during WWII. It had the ruins of an outpost and bunker. I found this more interesting than the actual site.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank maxflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“we're still in awe of these past civilisations”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

As our skiff pulled into that first canal, we were faced by the immense royal palace of Nan Douwas. Wow! They really knew how to built with basalt back in the 9th century, didn't they? Through the royal entrance into the throne room, the small commoners entrance, the cave-like meditation crawl space, all so majestic but slowly being consumed by the jungle.
Back into the boat and we cruise slowly past the low walls of Peinering (the coconut oil preparation island), Darong (a ritual site built around a natural reef pool), then out past Kohnderek (the funeral island) and back into the lagoon. Truely a trip back through time.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nan Madol also viewed

Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
Kolonia, Pohnpei
 
Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
 

Been to Nan Madol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing