We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nautilus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Delaware, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nautilus”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

In Nautilus we were surrounded by wonderful people. It was a great time getting to know people there -- everyone who worked there and those that live in the area. Although the other place we stayed at on the island was beautiful, it was more isolated and at Nautilus I felt like I had a better feel of what Kosrae is really like, a more opportunities to have conversations with people who live in Kosrae. We spent a lot of time at the beach across the street, especially during sunrise. The "blue hole" is right across the street, and there is magnificent sea life in it that we were able to see while snorkeling. We also spent a lot of time on the other side of Nautilus where there's a big, thriving garden and a mangrove channel (that we kayaked in! ). The food is really, really good. And so is the coffee. Another great aspect of Nautilus is its location, just down the road from the village of Lelu and not too far from Tofol.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memmemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After working for six weeks on Chuuk we four flew to Kosrae for a few days of snorkeling. Kosrae is small, beautiful, and clean. The roads are in excellent repair. The people are friendly and helpful. We stayed at Nautilus Resort. We took all of our meals at the Nautilus restaurant except for dinner on Wednesday evening at Bully's restaurant. ( Order the egg plant parmigiana. )

Salek serves as the Nautilus' bar tender, waiter, van driver, ( Ask Salik to take you to the store that sells beautifully embroidered Pohnpei women's skirts. ) dive master, boat skipper, and snorkeling guide. Mark, an American guest who frequently visits Kosrae, referred to Salek as the "Mayor of Kosrae". Salek took us out snorkeling every day on one of the Nautilus boats. As the prevailing wind was from the southeast, we snorkeled at several sites on the northwest side of Kosrae where the waters were calm. These sites have large coral formations often in columns and are full of fish. I enjoyed diving down and swimming in the "canyons" created by the columns. I have snorkeled in Belize, Palau, Chuuk, Majuro, and Bali. Snorkeling on Kosrae is right up there with the best sites I have visited. A big plus is that Kosrae is uncrowded. We had the snorkeling sites to ourselves.

On one of the afternoons I took one of the Nautilus Resort's kayaks for a tour of the inland waterway behind the hotel. I recommend this.

Nautilus Resort fit our needs perfectly. Clean. Simple. Interesting guests. Good restaurant ( Order the pokey, breadfruit chips, and a Steinlager beer for lunch ). Attentive and helpful staff.

My thanks for a wonderful holiday and congratulations to Nautilus Resort proprietors Doug & Sally Beitz and their excellent staff member, Salek.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Nautilus Resort in Kosrae. It was my first time to this beautiful island in Micronesia and such a surprising experience. After being in Chuuk for several weeks working, we decided to island hop our way back to the states. Kosrae was our first stop and it was perfect. Staying at Nautilus Resort was a boon. Doug and staff were delightful - energetic and attentive as they introduced us to this spectacularly beautiful and well-maintained island. He arranged tours and shopping expeditions for us and made sure that we were informed and connected to all of our interests. Snorkeling was tremendous, and Salik was the ideal guide. He took us to different sites each day, each one more beautiful than the last, and helped familiarize us with all of the natural history and culture. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, cool and quiet. The restaurant was the best on the island, and we loved the sashimi and their daily specials.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful Micronesian vacation. The purpose of this trip was to dive the wrecks of Truk Lagoon. Because it was so far to get there, we decided to split the trip up and spend a week in Kosrae. This was a great decision! Nautilus Resort was the perfect place to stay. From the time Salik picked us up at the airport to the time he dropped us back off, we were very well taken care of. The resort had a restaurant, bar, pool and on-site dive operation. Everything was clean and in perfect working order. The rooms were large and comfortable with cold a/c and hot water. The food at the restaurant was good with fresh fish and vegetables available. We came here to dive and this was an awesome dive operation. After breakfast we would load up the van and head to one of the marinas. Nautilus divers had two boats kept at different marinas. Doug would check the wind and swell for the day and choose which side of the island would be best for diving. Fortunately, we had no wind the whole week and were able to dive everywhere around the island. We did three dives most days. We were served cold water before and after each dive. After surfacing from the first dive, we had fresh fruit (bananas, pineapple, strawberry papaya, and tangerines) and banana bread. After the second dive, we were served lunch of a chicken or fish burgers. Each dive was at least an hour long with no limitations except to follow our computers. The reefs were extremely healthy with abundant hard coral. If you are used to Caribbean diving, you are in for a treat. We saw a manta ray on our first day of diving. In addition, we saw a few sharks, many turtles, and so many kinds of reef fish, it took a while to ID them all! On several days, the spinner dolphins came out to play and we had a blast with them during our hour-long surface intervals. We flew from Honolulu on the island hopper which made stops in Majuro and Kwajalein before stopping at Kosrae. The following week, we picked the island hopper back up and continued on to Chuuk after stopping in Pohnpei. I would highly recommend Kosrae Nautilus Resort and hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. They also have two larger suites with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyedive90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Kosrae is the most beautiful island in the Pacific. And the Nautilus Resort is a good place to explore it. With very friendly Staff, big, clean Rooms and a lot of activities. The Riff is right over the street and is nice for snorkeling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas159632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovely place.
Cold airconditioning, hot water, lots of water pressure!!!
Beds were so-so. The room was huge though, plenty of space for activities.
TV worked and had plenty of channels, althought be warned that the news is at the very least 3 weeks old and from San Francisco.
There's a pool, it was clean and enjoyable.
The food was good at the resturant, and they're very willing to accomodate special diets and requests "we'll see" was the common answer when asking for off menu items, but they always delivered.
Across the street is a lovely little beach and a gazebo to sit in and watch the sunset. There is no free internet but the FSM telecom works very well (probably because you're paying top dollar for it).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The island did not cooperate -- it rained almost the whole time; but we saw enough to know we'd love to return! Kosrae is beautiful, friendly, clean, safe. Diving is easy and the corals are every bit as spectacular as advertised. When the sun was out and lit them up they were breathtaking -- and Kisrae almost never gets whole weeks of rain so you should feel confident you'll see them at their best!
Owners Doug and Sally live on-site, are very available, and did everything they could to make our trip great. Their resort is clean, comfortable; simple island decor -- and the best wifi on a 3- island trip! Menu selection is limited, as I expect it to be on an out-of-the-way island, but it all tasted good.
All in all, a great place to do some good diving and enjoy a relaxing island getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosrae
0.4 mi away
Pacific Treelodge Resort
0.0 mi away
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
#1 of 1 in Falalop
7 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosrae Nautilus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosrae Nautilus Resort

Property: Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Address: Kosrae 96944, Federated States of Micronesia
Phone Number:
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Kosrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kosrae Nautilus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen air-conditioned guest rooms and a restaurant, plus outside dining by the swimming pool. Full service NAUI dive shop, purpose built dive boats. Island tours arranged. The ideal location for business and pleasure travelers. Free airport transfers, and rental cars arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kosrae Nautilus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosrae Nautilus Hotel Kosrae
Kosrae Nautilus Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing