We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're here to wreck dive!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This isn't a spa. This is a place to nest while diving wreck mecca. We stayed a little over two weeks.
The restaurant has a nice variety and, while the sashimi is exquisite, we were surprised how often we ordered the fried chicken. mmm. The ladies who run the place are very nice and the pace is slow; remember where you are and you won't get frustrated.
Alcohol has a 50% tax added to it. You can go into town and buy beer across from the Truk Stop (a fun place with nice people - shout out to Herry!) Might make a bar bill a bit more manageable...
Get with Isiro Aisek in the dive shop to make the dive plans. Our dive master was Jongki T. and he was, in our opinion, outstanding for what our needs were. He may not talk much, but his wreck penetration skills are what's important and we always felt safe, plus he's pretty darned funny when he gets going! Shout out to Roki who ran our boat while we were all in the water.
We dove with wonderful people and made great new friends all around.
You do need to know this: sometimes UNITED AIRLINES overflies this airport. There are not that many flights in and out of here so HAVE A CONTINGENCY - I'd recommend enough space back in Guam that you don't have screwed up flight connections like we did.

Room Tip: Our AC controller was in Korean. They'll help you figure it out, but I knew from friends there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juicy2mato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 319 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Possibly the best wrecks I've ever dived. I think i will be hard pressed to find better diving anywhere else...but the search will go on. I wen with my pal Eun and we had the best time ever. We dived from the SS Thorfin and I cannot praise captain Lance enough for his knowledge and most excellent briefings.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very tidy gardens, rooms need major overhaul, no hot water but rooms very tidy and comfortable, good size beds in a spacious room with balcony , bring your own DVD player if you suffer from jetlag as none in room and one room no TV(DVDs avaliable at the front desk), great views from the balcony the balcony railing was completely rotten, Ok on a ground floor but I was on the second for both rooms.Internet painfully slow
Staff really helpful, friendly, polite, food in the resturant pretty good, kayaks avaliable for free though mine had a hole and slowly sank, some snorkeling in front of the beach bar(sewer pipe to the left )

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

let's face it, you've come to Chuuk to dive. And the diving is nothing short of spectacular.
The hotel is fine. Beautiful grounds situated on a beautiful blue lagoon, which is great for swimming or exploring by kayak. When you're not diving, grab a towel and lounge around on the well maintained lawn near the beach or bar.
The bar is perfect for a beer after a days diving. The restaurant is not fancy, but there are some ok options - the breakfast omelettes were good, as was the grilled fish and rice for dinner. Vegies are few and far between, but there is no agriculture on the island and everything has to get flown in.
The rooms are worn but adequate. A clean bed is all you really need. There is also a large bottle of fresh water in the bathroom that the staff will refill when it is empty. Our shower didn't have hot water, but we didn't miss it.
The staff were all very friendly and helped with anything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiMaybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a convenient hotel to stay after our live-aboard diving trip in Chuuk. As others have said, it would benefit from updating. Still, all was clean and the service was friendly and very helpful -- even when we needed bellhop assistance near midnight. The rooms are large with equally spacious balconies. Views vary depending on which building you are in; nearly all buildings have ocean front yet not all have swimmable beachfront. The outdoor bar was lively and the restaurant gave us a chance to try local cuisine--among other options. The grounds and gardens are well taken care of and the gift shop has a decent selection of moderately priced local crafts. We also were able to take a boat tour onto neighboring islands to see some if the remaining Japanese structures from WWII. The tour is not exceptional in terms of historical knowledge shared yet one does see the way average Chuukese live, which unfortunately is quite modest and at the bare subsistence level. It is impressive that this hotel was founded by a local diver and survivor of the WWII occupation by the Japanese. I enjoyed seeing the artifacts and history placed throughout the property.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The resort had a superb view over the lagoon, at least my side did, looking over the various fleet anchorages as they would have been in February, 1944. The place was generally peaceful, except in the dining room when some groups were in residence. They had a peculiar penchant for sitting at different tables and conversing with each other after the initial bobbing and bowing was done. Mind you, this might have been their way of taking our attention away from the boring, mundane food. Over the twelve days I was there, I tried most things that sounded edible. It was a bit of a test at times. ‘Medium rare’ referred to size and the sight of pinkness anywhere on the plate respectively. Anywhere else, you might have been tempted to send it back but with so little else available, one grins and bears it. Or chops it up into a tissue for the posse of cats waiting outside the dining room door. They are a well fed and growing population.

However, there was not a day when one or many items were ‘off’ the menu, the strangest one being fish, but tomatoes ice-cream, bananas, certain types of fruit and some cuts of meat also made the list while I was there. Weekends were especially bad. I am sure I spotted ocean as far as the eye could see, and I know there were a few fish in there. Trouble is, the islanders have got phenomenally lazy and fishing is just too much work. So is vegetable growing or making handcrafts to sell in the resort shop, a place you can rest assured you won’t be parting with your dollars. The Internet was interminably slow to non-existent in either the restaurant or reception, the only two places it was available and phones don’t work. This includes the resort ones should you wish to make an international call at extortionate rates, which I suspect is being siphoned off into the black economy here as well. This was mirrored by the availability of hot water. If you were in residence at 5pm you were fortunate. A cupful would come through. Ten minutes later and it was back to cold or hint-of-warm. Rooms, once one had evicted the cockroaches on Day One, were spacious but ‘tired’ to the point of lethargy and beg the question: why do they provide a television? This appendage is purely for show. It has not worked since the day it arrived but it looks good in the pictures.

There are a few land tours but the real interest is in the ocean. Forget a stroll into town. It isn’t safe to leave the resort and the poverty is shocking. Anyway the road to the resort is in appalling condition so if you’re into inventing new sports involving leaping over craters and dodging God knows what running over the surface, Bob’s your uncle. Strolling is for the resort and several times around the outer edge is a tactic adopted by one of the resorts many dogs every morning, so it must be a reasonable way to waste some time.

The diving is rustic with very basic boats and you can expect to be well and truly exposed to the elements. I was fortunate to have no more than four divers on my boat and an excellent guide(Keeran) who was very amenable and wise about the wrecks in relation to our experience. Once the guide knew what we were capable of, he simply advised which wreck would be better given the conditions and would often be on his way back up the line because he didn’t want to overstretch himself and not be able to do follow on dives with us. Unfortunately, dive storage for guests at the Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is ludicrously small and poorly maintained. The floor needs a scrub every day; it was slimy; racks fell and things are not well organized so divers put their things anywhere and left other people’s gear on the floor or lying on a table when they got their own and couldn’t be bothered considering their fellow divers. They need hangers for wetsuits and BCDs and much larger facility. Putting some of the young individuals hanging around the wharf to work building one would be a start.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MasafiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Everything is in need of serious updating. After the first day you figure out the groove for your survival and happiness. Most impt, the diving and resort do not work in tandem. You need to figure out your own dive plan, organize your own lunch, water, towel, own equipment makes it on & off the boat each day. I can understand the lack of dollars for much needed renovation, but the lack of communication with the resort, dive shop, and guest is unforgivable. They just sort of stare at you. If you can get a reservation on a live aboard, grab it. The diving is beyond explanation. Nothing you will ever experience anywhere else. For the advanced diver that likes tunnels, caves, depth and a bit of deco diving. Yet very little current, great vis, and 83 degree blue waters.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing