We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The photos don't show the smell”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The photos don't show the smell”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I know this is Chuuk and it's not wealthy and we're in the FSM. I know it's not right to expect anything luxurious in this place. I had no expectations of luxury or internet bandwidth or even cell reception. I did expect the hotel to apply whatever cleanliness was reasonable. Nothing more than that. I didn't get it. I have traveled in the third world for months at a time, I have stayed in rooms that had fleas, I have been to the tropics and camped in Africa. I have looked at a green bush in the desert and thought "thank heaven - a clean bathroom". I don't think I am too spoiled, but who knows. Regardless, I expect hotels to keep things clean if they possibly can.

I want to preface this by saying that everyone was really nice and really friendly. The dive center is great, really, and I was well-looked-after by everyone here. They were helpful and tried to make sure I was all right when I got rather dehydrated. I had a hard time eating the food here and the water made me nervous given the state of the rooms (how could the filtration system be clean?), which is how I got dehydrated. Bottled water was hard to come by outside the restaurant.

The kindness of the staff is important, and got them from one star to three. The property was safe, well-located, and the grounds were beautiful. The state of the rooms and the restaurant, though, were not okay.

There was mildew in the air so thick you could literally taste it, and it didn't go away with A/C. The floors had old, greasy, smelly and stained carpet, and the towels smelled really bad of "left in the wet too long" fungus. You know, like when they don't get washed for long periods or sit around wet and then aren't bleached. The bathroom was dingy and other people's hair was in it. There was mold (a lot) where the tub met the shower. The vinyl in the bathroom floor was split. The soap in wrappers was sticky from sitting in a basket containing a wet napkin in the bottom. Some of this stuff just isn't that hard to fix. Vinyl flooring, not easy, but changing out a wet napkin, easy. Bleach, a tube of caulking and some elbow grease would have made a pretty big difference here.

There are jalousie windows in part of the room that allow mosquitoes in no matter what you do. They don't like the A/C all that much but they are hungry so they do try and if you turn off the A/C, you're going to get a lot of bites.

The pancakes at the restaurant tasted like last night's chicken (dirty grill), the fries were swimming in grease, and the food was not tasty except for the fresh grilled fish. Again, I am sorry, but this is stuff you could fix. Clean the kitchen. Often.

Yes, the reason to go there is to dive, and the diving is spectacular. Folks are writing here that you have to just deal with the hotel, but come on, we can do better, even in the FSM and in Chuuk. Clean some stuff. Apply a little soap, bleach and observation. Your guests will thank you for it and be glad that you did.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    122
    73
    18
    9
See reviews for
27
65
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's not much, and it's a bit costly..but you have no other choice! Very tropical and the people are great, but the rooms are worn out and somewhat dirty. Food is marginal at best, but again, you have no other choice so just go with it! Note that beer will cost you about $7 a can due to some "tax" issue.

Room Tip: All Rooms are the same and all have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon for 3 nights this past week, 2 nights before our trip on the Odyssey and 1 night before our departure. The grounds were a welcome sight after the trip from the airport. This island is poor and the roads are horrible. It looks beautiful. Check in was a breeze. We were put in room 209. The room was dated and the view was beautiful. The bathroom was dingy and dirty. The A/C had a thermostat that did not work and our room was freezing. I had to sleep in a fleece and pants. We were moved next door to 208 and things were much better temperature wise but the bathroom was dirty.
We enjoyed the kayaks, and the water. If you are not there to dive, that's about all there is to do. If we were to dive on Odyssey again we would opt to stay in Guam a few days to adjust to the time change rather than stay at Blue Lagoon again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubababe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

As soon as you land in the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), you know there isn't going to be much luxury. The islands are remote, poor, and under developted. So, the hotel was probably the best hotel on the island, but it wasn't anything special. The rooms were clean and air conditioned. Definitely functional rooms. The food was good and cheap but there wasn't too much variety. There was WiFi in the lobby area which worked well enough for emails but wasn't too strong.

The real (possibly only) reason to Truk Lagoon is the diving. Truk is the Mecca of wreck diving. It has the best ship wrecks in the world. The site of a World War II battle (American planes surprised and sunk an entire Japanese fleet in the lagoon), Truk has a variety of different wreck types. In my week there I dove at a Japanese bomber, oil tankers, transport ships carrying airplanes in their holds, a destroyer, and the highlight of the trip, the Nippo Maru: a transport ship with a Japanese battle tank on its deck.

The best way to get to the dive sites is through the Truk Blue Lagoon Dive Center. The staff there are all great divers and know the sites well. They'll lead you around (and often into) the wrecked ships and show you all to see. The downside of the diving is that many of the ships are VERY deep (80-130 ft) so you should be an Advanced Open Water Diver or higher.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I may be biased because I have only been a few places to dive wrecks but Chuuk (Truk) Lagoon is amazing! Wreck diving at its finest!
The resort was comfortable but definitely not fancy. Resort electricity is supplied by its own 2 generators, so they switch between them at 6 AM and 6 PM everyday. Good, reliable power is a really nice feature for this remote location. The dive operation is top notch. The boats are perfect for the diving. The dive guides and boatmen are excellent. Refilling our double tanks with nitrox or helitrox was very efficient but not cheap. That goes with the location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was okay and did have some choices. Bring along a new shower head because the ones there are old and don't work well.
I would go back to Blue Lagoon Resort again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank beann12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The rooms were functional and capable. Considering the island, these are probably best rooms on the island. The restaurant wasn't fancy but the food was passable. The electricity went out on a regular basis so the internet access was very spotty and slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonehead4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the blue lagoon for eight nights while diving the incredible wrecks of truk lagoon. Many reviews have criticized the hotel for being tired, lack of hot water, etc. Visitors to Chuuk need to put things into perspective. Chuuk is incredibly isolated and most people live a subsistence life style. The friendliness of the staff and the amazing diving more then make up for a few missing creature comforts, If your a bit precious, stay in Hawaii. Special thanks to Marilyn at the bar, she makes a great long island ice tea!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5waites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing