We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to fabulous diving”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gateway to fabulous diving”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The diving in Truk is awesome. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the Blue Lagoon resort. We were not expecting 5 star luxury and the rooms were adequate if a little tired. Hot water is "scheduled" so it was luck of the draw if you actually were able to have a hot shower.
Service in the restaurant was very slow - one lunch we waited over an hour and a half to get our food
Diving at the resort was very expensive -way above any other dive resort we have stayed in although the dive crews were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    70
    18
    9
See reviews for
26
64
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman
Level Contributor
235 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have to remember you're on a remote island, not USA. Yes, the beds are hard, lack luster linens and furnishings, but the view & AC were great, They are doing the best they can do with the supplies they have at hand. Staff is great and the food was better than any on Palau! Diving and dive staff was incredible.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view....we were in 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pirateis48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

the very good rating is comparative. We are in a third world country and this place is pretty good in that situation adn light years better than the 2 live aboard options.
All rooms have a view and balcony. 2 double beds - ours were rock hard, the others had too soft, All we needed was Goldilocks!! Shower was like a giant hose, but worked well. Bar fridge in all rooms, air con that worked most times. Lovely grounds that are well cared for.
Food was an adventure. 1 in 10 will get something other than what you ordered - but there is a reasonable menu and the food was always edible. (not like the liveaboards!!) you can ask for stuff not on menu - like lobster or BBQ. both were great options,
Staff are friendly, place is clean, drinks cheap, dogs and cats to play with and close to the dive shop. Diving to die for. Highly recommend this resort to a diver.

Room Tip: rooms in 100s face west and on ground floor. 200s face west and second floor. better rooms are 300...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Blue Lagoon Resort is by no means five star, but it is the gateway to some of the best scuba diving on the planet.
The staff are friendly and helpful, although most of them have only basic English.
The rooms are comfortable, although we would have liked an overhead fan rather than the (very efficient) air conditioning. Pillows were truly terrible, our tv didn't work (not that we wanted to watch tv anyway) and the hot water is a bit hit and miss. Luckily, with the climate, a hot shower is not really essential.
There is an atmospheric Sunset Bar located in the gorgeous tropical gardens (not a leaf out of place, the grounds staff do a terrific job). The bar is covered in graffiti left by the many dive groups that have stayed over the years, and the ceiling is festooned with memorabilia and tee shirts.
The resort had problems with the septic system while we were there for ten days, and the dining room ran out of many items including eggs and salad. But there was plenty of other things to choose from on the menu and there's no point getting stressed about a lack of eggs... Chuuk is a remote location and the poverty outside the resort compound is sobering. Food on a trip like this is just fuel to enable you to do what you are there for.
If you want five star with all the bells and whistles then stay in a major capital city.
But really, you don't go to a place like that for the food, or anything else other than the diving... And that is spectacular.
The dive shop staff are friendly, helpful and very very knowledgable about the many wreck sites. We couldn't fault their service, advice or guidance on our 17 dives. There is a small building near where the boats depart for the easy and secure storage of dive equipment, with access to fresh water for rinsing gear off after dives. The boats are well set up with easy entry and exit, and most dive sites are within 20 minutes of the resort.
We hired a driver on our last day to do some sightseeing while we waited for our no-fly time to pass. Big mistake, as the weather was ferociously hot and the bus wasn't air conditioned. The tour was interesting but the roads are terrible and we returned feeling exhausted and depleted. Pick a cooler day!
Internet wifi is free but exceptionally slow, and only available in the restaurant and resort foyer. There are two computers available for hire.
The Blue Lagoon Resort is highly recommended if you love good diving.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are very noisy if there are guests staying above you, but upstairs rooms involve st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pretty disappointing resort for the money they charged me for a one night stay after our dive trip on the Odyssey. The room was very musty and the carpet looked like it was the original put down 30yrs ago. The bathroom shower trickled and the towels were like paper. If they had charged me $50-$75 bucks I would have felt I got what I paid for, but to charge $125 is just a pure rip-off. Captive audience pays the price, too bad I have nothing nice to say.

Room Tip: Check out the competition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MixmasterM10Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sverige
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic diving and excellent service. Rooms are ok but the environment is fantastic!
The only complain I have is that the menu for the food is quite limited, after a week you'd like something else. All the wrecks are within a short boat ride so there's no long transports.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WreckKalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We love wreck diving and Truk is the best place. You have to remember it's a poor island with v basic infrastructure. You're not advised to go much outside of the resort, it could be unsafe.
The room was adequate. The bathroom was ok with a shower/bath and towels changed every day.
The restaurant had a pretty varied menu but we mostly had reef fish, the local dishes didn't look attractive. The restaurant closes for lunch at the time when you're likely not to be back from diving, but they will give you food in tr bar.
Only wifi is in the common areas and is very slow.
The diving is awesome and the guides experienced. They help a bit with carrying your tanks on and off the boat but you are expected to do most of it.
Little shop around the corner where you can buy some basic food and drinks.
Nothing else to do so please don't take your non-diver friends with you, they'll get dead bored.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing