We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Option for Chuuk”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Blue Lagoon has a nice location and pleasant grounds. The reason to be here is to dive - none other. The rooms are basic and only functionally maintained. The carpets, bedding, pillows and towels are old and in poor condition. The bathroom is sufficient, but hot water is unreliable. Be sure to ask to see multiple rooms. Some are in better condition than others, and stay upstairs. It's safer - and the high ceilings make the rooms seem larger. The food is basic with a menu that is too large and ambitous. They did not have fresh vegetables or salad during our stay. It's not their fault, as it's all tied to the timing of shipments to Weno. Nevertheless, the food gets tiring. On the plus side, the staff is always pleasant and responsive. We particulalry liked the restaurant crew. WiFi is available in the lobby and restaurant, but is slow (but sufficient for it's purpose). The dive shop and operation is good. They have multiple small boats, so there is not risk of diving in a huge crowd. In fact, it was just the two of us and our dive guide, Sesto, the entire time. Boats trips are short and there is safe equipment storage at the shop. Of course, the diving is amazing, so it's well worth the trip. From what we saw, the live aboards are much more expensive, very crowded and move less than advertised. While the Blue Lagoon is no Four Seasons, it is a serviceable option for Chuuk. Some minor investment in new bedding, pillows and towels would go a long way to making BLR a decent stop.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs. Corner rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauterbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having read numerous reviews before leaving,then arriving at Blue Lagoon Resort,I found many negative reviews somewhat confusing.The point of going to Truk is to dive.Not diving ,can't go to a nice tropical location and do nothing but read,eat and relax,then stay at home.First the resort,the grounds are clean,trimmed and during the day when everyone is diving, quiet and relaxed.The staff very friendly,not because they are looking for tips,they just are.The rooms are more than spacious enough,with every thing you need.the A/C great.The bathrooms were clean and large enough for anyone and as good and better than I've had in other as isolated dive locations.Much bigger than you will find on those expensive,stagnant liveaboards that rarely moved out of sight of the resort.They don't have hot water but you won't need it.The beds were comfortable,sleep came easy after two decompression dives each day and a great feed at the restaurant in the evening.This is a great location to do nothing or dive flat out everyday your there.The location is third world.We chose not to leave the resort, we had no need to.We ,a group of ten technically trained divers completed two dives per day on air and nitrox.Plenty of twinsets,210 bar fills,though I advise to take your own sling kit for your stage .The dive shop was clean organised ,the skippers and guides punctual and very informative.The two boats we had were reliable and more than sufficient for the task.
The restaurant food was fine,desserts a treat,nobody in our group complained or became ill.The staff quickly remembered our names and were fun and friendly.
The diving,well the reason you're probably reading this is that you have already heard about it and you're planning to visit.Nothing you read,see,or hear will prepare you for what you'll see.Amazing.I suggest some technical training before leaving to go,dive twins,complete staged decompression to get the most value,then stay with the guide once you're in.Don't forget your camera.Dives range from 15 metres to 60+metres visibility was generally 15 metres to 30 metres depending on the site.
An extremely pleasant trip,well worth the effort it takes to get there.I for one have no problems with any part of the resort,dive shop,restaurant or diving.If you're a 4 star only person try diving Florida,Cayman,The Red Sea, wherever, but you will never see anything like these wrecks,in warm water,with this accessibility.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I was the tour leader for a dive group from Sydney and we spent 10 days there. Accommodation was basic but clean. We all had twin shares and they made the rooms daily. Food wasn't too bad, but the menu doesn't change and starts to get old if you're there for 10 days. Also they regularly ran out of certain items. No potatoes one day, no fish on another day and no ice cream the next. This is because everything is imported so it is common to run out of supplies. Service is exceptional though and the staff will get to know you by name after the first day. And if you make a special request, you might be able to get them to make lobsters for you for dinner for around USD$20.

There's free wifi in the main lobby and dining hall, but it is slow and usually doesn't work during meal times when everybody tries to connect into the network.

Diving is amazing and it pays to do your research on the wrecks so that you can tell the dive guide where you want to go and what you like to see. Our dive guide was Nick and boat driver was Gladwin and they were a winning combination! It amazing a me how they are able to navigate the boat directly on top of the wreck without any visible moorings.

Also on your last day, the dive guide and boat driver will throw either a BBQ lunch or dinner. We bought a case of the local favorite beer, red horse, and had a huge party night! Amazing trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwinkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 8 nights, the accomodation was somewhat run down for the price you pay but comfortable enough. The food in the restaurant was better than expected although when I ordered the fish and chips it came out with fish cooked the right way but was accompanied with potato chips (crisps for those who are English) - I thought it was cute. I would reccomend the blackened tuna to any sushimi lovers. The diving was amazing and saw some things that you would probably never see anywhere else in the world. The dive guide was very safe and gave good briefings, Also took me very deep inside some wrecks once he had tme to sus me out. Unfortunately the experience was marred due to his constant reminders of paying him a tip.

Would I stay here again? absolutely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagermikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 11 days in March. The journey from the airport is very interesting; total distance is all of approx. 3 miles but the journey time took around 45 minutes due to the state of the main road. It is full of serious potholes, giving an indication of the poverty on the islands.

The resort itself, however, could not have been more different. It is beautifully laid out in lush tropical gardens right by the edge of the sea. The rooms could be considered a little dated, but they are large, comfortable and clean, with air conditioning, small fridge and balconies overlooking the water.

The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and has an extensive and varied menu at all times; we never got bored of the choice. The service was first class; all the waitresses were delightfully helpful, friendly and cheerful at all times, as indeed were all the staff throughout the resort. If you fancy a change for lunch, there is also a small cafe next to the dive centre which serves excellent basic local food, primarily for staff but guests are always very welcome. The choice here is quite limited, but it is well worth trying and is very good value for money.

There is an external bar which only opens from late afternoon into the evening, with pool tables and a darts board. There is a small beach from which you can snorkel, but sadly no swimming pool.

A small supermarket is located within the resort - useful for nibbles, soft drinks, beer etc. However, we would recommend taking one of the resort's taxis to one of the supermarkets in town where you can stock up on these sort of things for substantially less money! Other than this, there is no real need to leave the resort, and it is not recommended to do so without being accompanied by one of the staff.

And lastly the diving; this is why you visit this tiny island half way around the world after all! The dive outfit was very professionally run; it probably has the most organised pump room we have ever seen (and we have seen a few!). The guides, boat drivers and other staff are friendly, helpful and really know their wrecks (which we are reviewing separately, but we must say here that the rust under the sea was mind blowing!) There is a well stocked dive shop for the compulsory Truk lagoon bragging tee shirt and DVD of the wrecks. We were surprised they didn't have any reference books about the wrecks available and regretted leaving ours at home; it would have been very useful.

Sadly we were not blessed with good weather during our trip here, despite it apparently being the dry season. We had days and days of constant rain, which spoiled things slightly, but didn't detract from the fabulous experience. We were pleased to have taken light rain coats with us, so would recommend packing something similar!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Blue Lagoon for 9 days and loved it. Our room was comfortable, the restuarant served a wide variety of foods - there was something almost everyone could eat offered at each meal. Housekeeping was excellent, overall the staff was welcoming, friendly and hard working. We did have some issues with the AC and with flushing the toilet, but a call to the front desk and maintenance was at our room door in minutes and repairs were effected. The grounds and setting are exceptional - it looks like a tropical paradise.

The dive services are very good. The divemaster we had offered a good briefing at each site and the dives were magical. The place is famous for its wreck diving and it delivers. On deeper dives they offer Steel 100s instead of the usual aluminim 80's. In water, once the dive master observed us for a couple of dives, we were free to look on our own or to follow him on a tour of the wreck. The boat rides to the from the dive sites were almost overwhelming with the beauty of the Lagoon and its islands. However, we did think that the dive boats were a bit small and hard riding, especially when the wind created 3 or so foot waves. But overall, our lasting memory is one of a grand adventure.

We were also very impressed with the honesty of the resort and dive shop, and the value. We had prepaid for breakfast. We ate lunches and dinners at the resort (no other real options), ordered drinks, charged bottled water and other soft drinks, and charged snacks. At the end of our stay the front desk had assembled all of our bills and reviewed them with us. We were astonished that the total cost for both of us for 9 days was only a bit more than $400! Same with the dive shop. I used EAN 80 on most dives and was only charged for the actual gas used, not for full refills. Dive shop services were quick and efficient. We had issues with the mouthpieces of one of our regs and the shop effected repairs while we waited - gratis! Refills for my stage bottles were done while I stood there and the gas mixing was professional. Given the remoteness of the location, it would have been easy for the resort to overcharge - they did not do that.

This is a lifetime memory type of trip. Your memories will be great if you stay at Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Getting to this location from the US is a long and very tiring trip. We broke it up with layovers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Conducted 27 dives over 11 days. Underwater, we saw hundreds of tons (literally) of ship wrecks. Ship content included new airplanes, tanks, guns, torpedoes, trucks, bombs, mines, pots/pans/plates, and of course ... saki! Most of the bodily,remnants have been taken back to Japan, but bones and skulls can still be found. Coral growth on the ships in the 30-70 foot depth range is very impressive. Also saw several aircraft and airfields. By the end of the trip, we had the opportunity to dive the main deck of San Francisco Maru, with her 3 tanks, at 160-180 feet. Boat time to/from each dive was 20-35 minutes. Dive operation run very well. Dive staff was terrific!

We are happy we stayed at BLDR and have a choice each day, rather than stay on The Odysseyy and dive to their schedule. The rooms at BLDR had everything we needed. Staff was friendly. Room was clean, small fridge, and easy walk to everything.

I recommend a guest plan for 8-10 days of diving to see it all, which means a longer vacation due to difficulty to get there

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, which has a much nicer room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Codesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing