We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious... immaculately groomed grounds, a great base on Truk!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Blue Lagoon Resort is really the ONLY ground based dive operation worth visiting on Truk, when you weigh up the considerable advantage of spacious beautifully groomed grounds, a great tropical chill-out bar scene each evening and a large well organised dive boat system.

Let's face it... people come to Truk Lagoon to dive not sight see.

Transported by the hotel mini-bus, with a very slow and bumpy ride from the airport (the main road is STILL heavily potholed, despite several road gangs at work...) we were met at reception with a friendly smile and a chilled coconut drink each. A nice touch...

All 20 of us were checked into our rooms quickly and efficiently... I think everyone was most impressed with the immaculately groomed grounds, complete with a few hammocks strategically placed to gather the best view of palm trees and white sandy beaches.
Picture postcard stuff!

Rooms had all the basics, but seemed a bit tired.
Housekeeping did a good job of keeping things tidy around piles of dive gear.
The AC worked most of the time, it did break down once but when reported was promptly repaired even at 9pm! Would have liked the option of an overhead fan, which surely would be cheaper for the hotel than AC running all night. Windows could not be left open to catch the evening breeze because of the mosquitoes.

Staff at the dive shop and dive operations were very friendly, competent and ran things pretty smoothly (when factoring in a touch of 'island time'... but hey its a holiday after all).
Some local divemasters command of English was a bit patchy... at times this led to some confusion as to what exactly we were going to see on each dive. But their knowledge of the dive sites and skills were top notch.

All positive so far...

Which leaves me with the only real drawback of the Blue Lagoon Resort... the food!

Let me stress up front I am totally aware of the remoteness of the location, and the fact that after expending all that energy most divers aren't chasing haute cuisine, just simple tasty and filling food.

The waitresses and service manager were all lovely ladies who really did maintain a serene demeanour in the face of several rather terse and impolite exchanges I witnessed with some neighbouring guests about the food. It's not their fault, people!

The menu was quite extensive... which I guess it woulld have to be catering as they are for visitors primarily from Europe, Japan and the US.

Not sure when the supply ship comes in but it would seem there is a disconnect between the front office and the kitchen regarding expected numbers of guests each week.

Several staple items were off the menu for several days, including fresh fish, frozen fish and french fries. There were valiant attempts at creating home made french fries and hash browns out of fresh potatoes to meet demand, but these were invariably over cooked, dripping a dark brown acrid-tasting oil. Maybe the kitchen is using up some WWII bunker oil from the wrecks?

Quality control of dishes coming out of the kitchen was hugely variable!
There were regular cases of the same dish being cooked to widely varying standards when ordered by several members of our group. Often well overcooked, nearly burnt.

So a note to Blue Lagoon Management... something is seriously amiss in the kitchen and needs urgent attention to bring this part of the operation up to the standard their tariff rates suggest.

But I will definitely be back at some stage... you can overlook a lot of glitches for the quality of diving that is offered here.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views of the lagoon, some felt an upper level room had better views but I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TilleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fairly expensive for the quality, but only come here for the diving.
See Cootch review, just about sums it up.Loved to sit on a tiny beachlet yards away from my room ,and to see the view across the bay at dusk and dawn.
My third time, but only stayed a week the first time. The next two were 2 nights only as spent the week on SS Thorfinn.
Food good in the restaurant.The island is full of WW2 history.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am not a diver so missed using the resort for it's true purpose which is to provide a base for people diving the wrecks of Truk Lagoon. So, these comments are about the accommodation and resort in general.

From the diving perspective, I can only pass on the comments I heard from the 12 divers in our group. All had nothing but praise for the staff at the Dive Shop and the boat crews. First time divers were delighted by how much control the dive staff took of the gear . By day two, the staff knew which gear belonged to which diver and had it loaded into the boats accordingly. The crews were very open to late changes to the planned dives for each day and I knew our lot were nearly back by the laughter I could hear coming from across the lagoon 10 minutes before the boats docked!

Now, about the resort. The rooms are quite large and well equipped. Remember this is in the American style and so there are not tea and coffee facilities or ironing boards in the rooms as we expect in Australia. However, just ask and the staff will accommodate your needs.
Hot water was not always available but the tap water (NOT DRINKABLE) was usually warm enough not to miss the hot.
The restaurant didn't always have all menu items available but the food was plentiful and tasty - more home-style cooking than Michelin star winning. The staff are just wonderful.
Free wi-fi is available in the restaurant and lobby but it may not be the fastest you have ever enjoyed.
The resort grounds are spotless and extensive!
Do yourself a favour and walk outside the resort gates and into the local village that adjoins. It is a typical local village as you might find in Fiji or any other of the islands. The rubbish lying around is disappointing but the people are friendly and curious. Have a look at how happy the people are and how they live and then make a decision about how important the hot water situation really is in your life.

Room Tip: Ask for water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cootch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A very good we'll run resort. Great food, varied to suit most tastes, from English to Japanese. Surroundings very clean and well kept. Wonderful snorkel site and very relaxing stay. Would go there again. Although it is a long way

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnzhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The BLR is not 4 star but was clean, food was good, and the staff accomodated all our needs. At the end of the day, we were there for the diving and it was out of this world, the dive guide was great, the dive shop staff always helpful. I am looking forward to coming back. There is only one place to stay on Truk, it is at the BLR.

Room Tip: If you can get a top floor room looking out on the lagoon, the view is that little bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15Danno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Basic, but just as expected! Great food, lovely surroundings. There is nothing else to do but having a very relaxing vacation with diving. The best diving in the world!! Went on a round trip on the island on a rented moped, but the resort is the place to be for relaxation. Doesn't matter if you have company or not, you will make friends here for life. Many other divers are also comming here alone. All with the same purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDvEntuReS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After reading some of the horror reviews on the Blue Lagoon resort I arrived with some trepidation. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, bedding was good, nobody in our group was sick from the food in the restaurant or complained about the quality or service.
There were some problems. The toilet in my room on 2 occasions wouldn't flush and the aircon stopped working. The maintenance staff were quick to put right. The shower water pressure was poor and the washbasin water smelled like swamp water. This smell was unique to my room as nobody else in our group noticed it. It wasn't really a problem as a large container of clean potable water is supplied in the bathroom. Most people who come here are divers and if they have travelled to the best dive sites in the world they would be used to roughing it a little. The wreck diving is second to none.
The view from my second floor room was spectacular, palm trees, sand, water and a magnificent sunset. Take some insect repellent as the sand flies are ferocious.
We were told not to venture into the town at night and wouldn't have wanted to, the road is dreadful, it took 20 minutes to travel the 3km from the airport. There is a well stocked store next to the dive shop for drinks snacks toiletries etc although they didn't have any insect repellent. The rooms are a little tired and run down and so the nightly rate is expensive ($140 single occupancy) but I wouldn't hesitate to return because I went for the diving not the comfort of a 5 star resort. This place appears to be the best place to stay in Truk.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko31752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing