We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four times here, and more to come!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“four times here, and more to come!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

After 7 visits to Chuuk, I have now stayed at nearly all accommodation options. Blue Lagoon is the one I look forward to most. The rooms are nice, and although getting old, still well maintained. The restaurant is good...in fact the service keeps getting better - ten years ago it was terrible, now it great. I've given up the liveaboards because the dive shop here is so good, can't wait for my next trip!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are closer to the dive shop if you need to carry gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shipwreck_pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    70
    18
    9
See reviews for
26
64
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on our way to the Truk Odessey. Dive, dive, dive!! Good food, great dive shop, excellent dive guides. No hot water, a few mossies, friendly helpful staff, beautiful grounds. Nicest place we saw on the island.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NanetteGeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Second trip back - Wonderful service from the restaurant and general staff, I could live off the chicken curry! With the dive centre and jetty on-site, Blue Lagoon have done an amazing job for divers. The CCR support at the centre is excellent. Unless you are a diver, the amusement options will be very limited. The bar stays open until the last diver's standing. The location is quiet, set in beautifully maintained ground right next to the lagoon, an idyllic location. On this trip WiFi was available which is great to make all your diving buddies back home envious of a few pictures from the wrecks dived that day! Tips include using mosquito spray, having patience as the site's electricity is from generators and the aircon will cut out in the night for short moments. Do note that this is an incredibly poverty stricken island with a serious lack of infrastructure and a horrifying history.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of only two good resorts in Chuuk. Very nice, quiet grounds. Food, especially lunch, was very good and you get your money's worth. Not five star dinning but very good for the location. Quaint outdoor bar with pool table and they will play music from your IPod. Most folks are on Chuuk for the diving as there is not much else to do. Facilities for diving are excellent. Staff is friendly. Rooms are acceptable. You shouldn't expect 5 star luxury anywhere on Chuuk. This is by far the nicest resort on island. You'll feel safe, it's quiet, and has most everything you need for a dive vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COSEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Blue Lagoon Resort is a gated resort which had everything you needed, which is very important on Chuuk since I certainly didn’t want to go outside the gates. I’ve been in plenty of poor countries before and Weno was still by far the worst looking place I’ve ever been. I knew it was going to be bad and it still shocked me. Normally I hate resorts where you never leave but I wouldn’t have had it any other way on Chuuk. The other hotels are in town and I instantly knew we had made the right choice.

The grounds feel safe and there are security guards and plenty of other staff always walking around. The grounds are also beautiful and very well maintained.

The rooms were a little old with worn carpeting and a balcony that leaned a little (I had to convince my wife that it was safe). It was also disappointing that they don’t have king beds in any of the rooms despite the brochure showing a picture of one. The rooms were very large with lots of space to spread out. The view was beautiful, and it was worth it to get the “superior room” which really just means second floor and a slightly better view, but the price increase was pretty marginal.

They have a grocery store on the grounds which enabled us to buy cereal so that we could eat breakfast in the room but the restaurant was reasonably priced and very good. My expectations for non-fish food were pretty low by this point in our trip (we went to Palau and Yap first) but BLR actually had decent quality beef/pork/chicken that wasn’t half fat like everywhere we ate earlier. I’m always a little worried when I’m not going to have other options for eating if the resort restaurant isn’t good but they have lots of options and I never got sick of it or was let down by the food. About my only complaint regarding the food was that the vegetables were just frozen mixed vegetables. The restaurant also had a great view and service that was very good for Micronesia.

The dive shop was all in all a nice operation but far from perfect. They were very accommodating in doing what you wanted to do including dive site selection as well as surface interval times and locations. They’re happy to do some interesting surface intervals so make sure you request them. We ate lunch on Eten island one day and took a hike into the island to see the old Japanese buildings which just required $2 a person for the landowner. Other days we did some snorkeling, and they even allowed us to do a short 5-10 minute dive on the Betty bomber between our two main dives one day. The crew was also very helpful with your gear and provided valet service.

The dive boats were decent and provided some shade. They didn’t have a real dry spot for storage nor did they have any buckets or anything else for camera storage. On shore they did have a nice, secure, ventilated area for storing gear.

The guides were very knowledgeable and although the dive briefings were good at telling you what you’d see they gave almost no history on the wrecks and no info on signals/signs they wanted you to use which occasionally caused confusion. In addition the dive briefings didn’t tell you how much bottom time you were allowed even if they seemed to have something in mind; we typically had plenty of air left (although not always much no deco). They provide custom nitrox blending (you can pick both your blend and your tank size) which is great but it was very expensive so we just dove air.

Although the dive guides were very proficient they were the least friendly guides I’ve ever had. They weren’t mean or anything, just all business and they didn’t even bother to ask your name despite the fact you typically dove with the same guide and captain all week. The captain finally introduced himself to my wife on the last day, and never introduced himself to me. They did do a night dive just for the two of us and it was very well run; I felt very safe just like I did on all the other dives. It’s been said many times before, but there are lots of wrecks on Chuuk that aren’t that deep, we only went below 100’ one time and you can do as much or as little penetration as you like so it’s not nearly as intimidating as people make it out to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Pretty basic accomadation but not much on offer there. Clean rooms & good service. Food average but okay. The best wreck diving in the world makes up for the short fall in resort. Resort is still leaps & bounds better than truk stop.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

used this hotel for the first 4 days as a base before a weeks livaboard on the odyssey, because of the history around this resort and the island itself ya can forgive the basic ammenities.
the hotel was an old sea plane base and evidence is everywhere, the local dive center is well equiped and offer regular trips out to the lagoon.
rooms have great views but are basic, restaurant was ok, food cooked fresh for you, bar was ok, as was the local shop.
i would defo use them again, the staff were friendly but i'm convinced the dive guide was smashed out his face on something chemical !

Room Tip: ask for a top room... at least ya can hang your gear out to dry in safety
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing