We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the award winning Speight's Ale House in Timaru. We have an the immense outdoor courtyard, great southern food and hospitality. Try some of local cuisine, from small/shared plates to larger meals. Private dining rooms available. Come and experience the best in Timaru!
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Speights ale house in Timaru is in central Timaru near railway station. lovely sunny afternoon Lovely company Delicious meal Good service what else do you require.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 430Eleanorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    108
    32
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tekapo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great as always!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went out for lunch during the week. Service was great we were greeted when we walked in the door. Minimal staff on so had to wait a wee bit for our order to be taken however received an apology on the wait from the waiter. Had a garlic loaf to start with followed by a seafood chowder and the chicken parcels. Food was amazing - hot, delicious and came out quickly. Will defiantly be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Haylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Came here with a large pre-booked group. Was very packed and busy, we were seated upstairs and started off well, they took down all our names which I have never encountered before but thought could be good, it wasn't. Despite having all our names they clearly made no effort to remember, who was seated where and who ordered what ( didn't help that we had several different waitresses) meals arrived and they had to ask who had what which I found very unprofessional. Meal was ok, the person next to me had a rather burnt looking garlic bread tho and the meals took a good 30 mins at the least, which would have been ok if the waitresses had at least came to apologize for the wait or reassure us that the meals wouldn't be long. Then desserts, one came out 5 mins before the rest?! Overall not particularly impressed, plus it was ridiculously loud like a nightclub, wouldn't go back or recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tsheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice atmosphere, went for a family birthday, heaps of people, didnt have to wait long at all. Awesome food, yummy. Tip; up stairs gets pretty warm and toilets downstairs

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First choice in Timaz.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every time we've been to Speights we loved everything we were served. Nice atmosphere and will return we next get the chance!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beth31990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing