We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch”

Old Bank Cafe & Bar
Ranked #11 of 74 Restaurants in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Restaurant details
Temuka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Huge platters for lunch, quick and tasty...staff average but place could do with a really good clean up looks and feels a bit stale

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This restaurant is your typical pub eating place but with a good atmosphere and good food. It has been a while since my husband and I have been to The Old Bank as we no longer live in Timaru. We did eat at The Old Bank on several occasions and we had no complaints. The service was good and I think food was value for money paid.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy and value for money”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The staff very efficient and couldn't do enough for you. Meals value for money, brought to the table quickly, hot and very satisfying

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The staff are really great here, we only ever have the roast and desert but it is good and this is a regular restaurant for our roast meal. Surroundings are good, clean and friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank DonellaTimaruNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Don't go if you want a quiet setting”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Food is good but it can get very busy later on and loud as it is the place to go for young people later at night.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank KellyTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bank Cafe & Bar also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Old Bank Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing