We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise !!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 70 Restaurants in Timaru
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a surprise !!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Called in here for lunch by chance the other day and soooo glad we did. The best Chinese in Timmers. Sweet n Sour chicken ( homemade sauce ) with apple, yum yum. So fresh and tasty. Looked beautiful and tasted even better. $7 bucks for a good size plate on there lunch menu, will definitely be going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bloomin good food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On the outside this place looks awful with it's unkempt appearance, once inside it is not much better. However if you want a blooming good Chinese meal in timaru you need to go in.... the food is freshly prepared and is just lovely, went in with my other half and we were so impressed with the amount and quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xt350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
325 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“this restaurant has deteriorated considerably”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have visited this resataurant each year for the past few years on our regular visits to Timaru. In previous years we have had good service & generally good Chinese food. For reasons we don;t understand when we visited this year we had poor service, poorly prepared & generally poor quality food! Two of our courses (from a set menu) didn't arrive until the others were cold & even then only after we complained! I can only imagine that the chef or ownership has changed. Very disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great chinese food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is a yummy place to visit if you love chinese food. It has a great atmosphere and is in Timarus main Road.

Helpful?
Thank koru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"really nice food"”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recommended by a local and we were pleasantly surprised, the food was good, plentiful, flavoursome and really good value. Probably not the best chinese I have ever eaten but close and the flavours of the dishes I ordered were true. I would like to have seen this place when it was really busy to add to the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing