We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean room, unfortunately let down by the service”
Review of Avenue Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Lovely spacious room with everything you would need for your stay. Large comfy bed and loved the spa bath! Very clean and tidy.
The location was fine for us, but I imagine it would be a bit far away from the town centre for people who didn't have there own transport.

Unfortunitly this place was let down by the poor service.
One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of the broadband access, which we could not get onto. We went down and asked the lady at the front desk three times and each time we got a different excuse, she told us to try the dial up which didnt work either. It seemed to need a password but when I asked for this I was told no. When I asked for the owner/manager I was told they were away on holiday.
This woman seemed to neither know what was going on and more importantly, care.

There was also a few other things that came with the booking free of charge that I didn't realise until afterwards as we were never informed of. In fact I dont recall being informed of anything at all. If we wanted to know anything (including check out time) we had to ask.

I would still recommend this hotel as the room was very nice and I think it is reasonable value for money, just don't rely on using the internet or the service!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was a very nice place to stay. We went with a large group so had booked multiple rooms, we also had a number of children with us & the owners were very accommodating. The only issue I have, was the lock on our door would not open after we checked out when the cleaners went to service the room. Management knew after checking out that our group were going across the road to the public pool (which the motel had arranged for us to have a free swim for our group) & we were asked to go back to help sort this problem out. My fiance was not impressed especially as the door unlocked straight away for him as soon as he turned the key. We were only 1 of 4 out of our group who had problems with the locks. Other than this our stay was good.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyliemcsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Huge, well appointed room with large wet room. No bath which didn't really matter for a 1 night stay, nice staff and excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Our stay at the Avenue Motor lodge was pleasent enough, the only issue was we could hear the toddler in the room above us running around, and what sounded like jumping off the beds, but luckily toddlers go to bed early! The rooms were well appointed, had a nice outdoor area with table and chairs to sit outside. We are very noise concious, it was a quiet location - could not hear any road noise, or noise from the adjoining rooms which were occupied, (appart from upstairs - but I suspect if there wasn't a toddler it would have been fine.) This motel is within walking distance to the botanical gardens, which were nice to wander through in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archicatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The room was great, very clean, all the mod cons, a big spa, and a very good bed. The motel was on the highway but we did not hear any road noise. A five minute walk to a big supermarket. Only down side is that it is a drive to good restaurants - although only 5 minutes away.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed here for in March for one night. We weren’t quite sure what to expect however, we were pleasantly surprised - the room was huge. Superking bed, plus a single, LCD TV, kitchen, large bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. Everything in the room was spotless.

The lodge is situated just outside the centre of Timaru (best to have a car) in a peaceful residential location which meant we could get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by our room at this Motor Lodge. It was spacious, extremely well equipped and immensely comfortable. There were two beds, one single and an extremely comfortable queen size bed. A sliding door led on to a small terrace which was laid out for outdoor eating.

The bathroom was a large WET ROOM and not as someone else has said in an earlier review, no shower tray just a hole in the floor. The floor did not get wet around the basin or toilet area and the whole room was extremely well set for a person in a wheel chair. There was a seat in the shower and the toilet slightly raised higher than normal. The convenience of use for a disabled person has been well thought out. The only criticism, and it is a small one, is that there was no where to place shower gel and shampoo at a convenient height (just the floor).

The staff were helpful in recommending places to eat and provided a complimentary continental breakfast. Parking was easy and generally in front of your door.

The check out the next morning was quick and the staff again very helpful and friendly and they were helpful in advice for the traveller.

We would highly recommend this Motor Lodge to any who read this review.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylarkGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#8 of 18 in Timaru
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Motor Lodge

Address: 31 Craigie Avenue, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avenue Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Timaru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing