We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B in Timaru!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Sefton homestay was excellent! my partner and i called quite late at about 5pm needing a booking at the last minute and we were driving from Dunedin to CHCH and needed a stopover for the night.
I called them and asked if it was ok if we arrived late like near 1130pm. It was totally fine with them and the bedroom they had arranged was awesome! really warm, tidy, cosy and the bathroom was great - all new and really clean. the heater was on, and they had electric blankets thank god!
The breakfast was yummy! with toast and eggs and bacon. cereals and fresh fruit, tea and coffee. yoghurt and jams. i liked that they had brown bread as im health conscious! Trish really made sure she catered to what you preferred as i didn't want a full breakfast. They were great to talk too and very friendly. The house is beautiful and used to be their family home, the wood structure is lovely.
they had a sitting room as well with tea and coffee and bikkies and tv and magazines. I liked that, although we didn't get to use it cos we ended up there to late. but it looked lovely!
Would highly recommend staying here if you want to stop over in Timaru for a night or two. They are welcoming and its definitely worth it after a long drive.
would stay again without a doubt! thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seftonhomestay, Owner at Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

It was great to meet you both. We were sorry it was such a short visit. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great place to stay, beautiful setting, lovely host(s). We had as excellent time and will definitely be back when next staying in the area. Very welcoming and homely.:-)

Thanks for a very enjoyable stay Trish. All the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seftonhomestay, Owner at Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you both again if you are down this way. Thanks Trish & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After a day long journey from Wellington to Timaru, there is nothing better than a long hot soak in the bath....and what a bath it was! A most wonderful character house with heaps of redeeming features, exceptionally clean and comfortable, central location within a few minutes walk to the beach. Trish and John made us very welcome in their beautifully appointed home. Trish provided an amazing breakfast. Superb value and a most excellent start to our tiki tour of Southern NZ.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Tartan Room with its own private bathroom, a shared lounge, tea-making facilities, cookies and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morse057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seftonhomestay, Owner at Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your trip south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Sefton Homestay B&B is a great place to stay if you want to spend some time exploring Timaru. The hosts are lovely and very obliging. The house is on a quiet street, yet is within easy walking distance of some great restaurants and cafes. There is a resident elderly lab/samoyed cross who may give you a smile if you give him a pat.
The room we had was the smaller of the two. It was extremely comfortable and the shower in the ensuite was fabulous (lots of pressure and nice and hot)!
It was lovely to stay in yet another character home (built around 1915 and very well looked after).
Excellent breakfast set us up for lots of walking everyday.
Would recommend Sefton Homestay as the perfect base for a stay in Timaru.

Room Tip: Choose the bigger room with the separate bathroom if you have a particular issue with hearing a toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerdie_xena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Sefton Homestay B & B, and we had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. The Sefton is a wonderful example of the lovely older Timaru residential architecture and has been kept in immaculate condition. The B & B is located in a quiet street with easy access to the main streets of Timaru.

We arrived two hours early, but Trish easily accommodated this change in time.

I particularly loved the Rimu wooden trim throughout the building. Our room - the Tartan Suite was spacious and opened out onto an enclosed balcony. The room was warm on its own, but there was also a heater, electric blankets and extra blankets for the bed. We also had a dressing gown each waiting for us in our room, which was a nice touch. Fresh flowers were also lovely. Bed was huge! Very quiet, with only one other B & B room; and so it felt just like staying at a friend's house.

The private bathroom was separate to the bedroom, but this was no trouble at all. Bathroom was spotless and the deep bath and strong water pressure much appreciated.

Breakfast continued the feeling of staying at a friend's house. We sat with the other guests and chatted easily with the owners Trish and John. Meal offering was generous, starting with cereal with all the trimmings including a fruit platter, and bacon and eggs to follow.

I wish we had time to stay another night! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateE771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We arrived on the wrong day, don't know how we got it mixed up. However, there was no problem with Trish. Luckily she had a room free and was happy to fit us in. The accommodation was great, very cosy and breakfast was magnificent. The place was very clean and amenities had been well thought out. We could tell a big effort was made to make our stay comfortable. We would recommend anyone to stay at this B&B.
Thanks Trish for being so flexible and welcoming.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here last summer for a nearby family celebration, no kids with us (the B&B would host them fine). The moment we got there we knew we had made a good choice. Handy to the centre, nice and quiet. Friendly and helpful hosts and a lovely place, as well. Oh and the breakfast was amazing too. This is the place to stay folks!!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good and had character. Some were a little smaller but still plenty enough room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyKiwi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Baywatch Motor Lodge
#12 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Northpark Motel
#13 of 18 in Timaru
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#8 of 18 in Timaru
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 Sefton Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sefton Homestay Bed and Breakfast invites you to be their special guests. Relax in our superbly appointed and spacious 2 story character brick home with sweeping views from the mountains to the sea. Refurbished with the feel of yesteryear, with an ambiance and style you will love. Perfect Location: Sefton Homestay B&B is conveniently located just a minute or two walk from the Bay Hill restaurants, Caroline Bay and the Stafford St shops. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing