We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD STOPOVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GOOD STOPOVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Don't let first apperances throw you. a good stopover between Picton and Mt Cook. Nice large clean rooms, quiet and friendly staff . Good value for money. In town and close to pleanty of eateries. Has a restaurant on site, although we didn't try it as we were a late arrival

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Greetings Ian, thank you for pointing out all the good attributes of the Grosvenor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serve you again in the near future. Happy Holidays. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    106
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
34
108
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Timaru and I would not stay anywhere else. The Team at the Grosvenor have always been so accommodating, friendly and just great hosts.
We recently stayed for 4 nights. We dined in the restaurant which is AMAZING value for money and really hearty food. Keep up the friendl
I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Greetings KerryAnn

It's heart warming to read wonderful reviews that you wrote us. They meant the world:) We are also glad that you have made the Grosvenor your home away from home yet again. Enjoy your stay and should you need anything, do let us know. Happy holidays. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The staff of the Grosvenor were friendly and wonderful. We slightly had a booking problem, but a staff swiftly prepared substitute nice room for us. We were really impressed at her hospitality and kindness. The room was tidy and comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank satchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Greetings Sir / Madam

Thank you for your kind words. I'm sure that our staff would appreciate it. We endeavour to do whatever we can to make your stay an enjoyable one. Period. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Faithfully, Ping LIM (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We've stayed in Timaru for 4 night.
We had a slight problem with our schedule and the staff there helped us with couple of more days even thought it was a busy season.

The rooms are pleasant and comfy with nice location and a great value for money rates

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YosiTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of the whole team at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. Faithfully, Ping LIM (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff at the Grosvenor were very helpful right from our first phone enquiry.

Location is excellent and it was great for us to look at all the lovely buildings nearby. (Although I wouldn't want to be there in an earthquake! We're from Christchurch and we were somewhat nervous about the stability of the buildings).

Rooms were fine. Bathrooms very dated. Walls in need of a fresh coat of paint. Beds were super comfortable.

Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Yummy food and great value. The restaurant also had a warm inviting atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dina926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Greetings

Thank you for your kind words about our level of service and things that we have done well.
We could understand your reservation about being in a historical building. I originated from Christchurch myself and I could empathise with your feelings. I could vividly recall the day the big earthquake hit Christchurch in September. The Grosvenor was fully booked and it was in the morning when we felt the jolt from Christchurch. Yes, I have been living in the Grosvenor for the past six years and loving every moment of it. I expected the worst but nothing happened to the Grosvenor. What you must be aware of is the foundation where a building is built. Christchurch was originally a swamp and it was drained away to pave ways for houses. By default, houses there should have pilings done. Timaru, on the other hand, is filled with hard clay at the bottom. The Grosvenor, being a triple brick Georgian building was built the proper way & no corners were cut. And the result showed:) We take pride in the tradition and history of the Grosvenor (since 1875) and we look forward to preserve it for future generations. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Another 'get away from it all' break for us and overall, we weren't disappointed. It was a mid-winter stay and the room was lovely and warm having been pre-heated prior to our arrival, which was most welcome given how old it was outside. The room was spotless and very comfortable indeed. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, we'd highly recommend it. It's not a gourmet experience but it has a very good cross-section of food to suit all tastes. It was very well prepared and presented. The portions were huge (too much for us), but if you have a good appetite you won't leave hungry. The staff were particularly pleasant and friendly, we were made to feel welcome. The only gripe we would have is regarding the breakfast: there was no buffet service from which to help yourself to toast, juice, cereal etc, it is stored in the kitchen and served by the waitress. We ordered a full cooked breakast, plus the above, and rather than the fruit juice, yoghurt & toast coming out first while the breakfast was being prepared, it was all served at once. It was necessary to eat the cooked breakfast first to save it from going cold. This is not what we normally do, we would have that last. We really didn't understand the logic in serving everything at once. If there had been a buffet to help ourselves to, ths issue could have been averted. Overall it didn't change our opinion of it being a pleasant place to stay but it is definitely an opportunity for improvement. We'd stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteTheBluesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Greetings Peter

On behalf of our team here at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words.
Yes, we understood what you meant by serving all breakfast at once. It all comes down to dollars and cents. The number of travellers and tourists that come to Timaru has never been steady and it's impossible to do forecasting. We could be very busy today and flat the next day. Therefore, at this point in time, we are not able to do morning breakfast buffet. You can imagine the amount of wastage should the place is not busy. In the morning, we only have one front office supervisor, who is responsible to do checking out and serving breakfast at the same time. The Grosvenor has always been a hotel with a family atmosphere. And so, it is a double edged sword because we simply don't have the resources to provide what international hotel is able to do. However, we would certainly entertain with the idea of doing buffet breakfast in foreseeable future now that Timaru Port has been taken over by Port of Tauranga and we would see influx of corporates coming into the region. Yes, by all means, do visit us again in the future. We look forward to serve you. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really great service - the front desk staff are amazing. Interesting and quirky refurbishments. Free 10 hours internet access sealed the deal. Very quiet street with spacious off-road parking. Lovely room and heaps of good pressure hot water.

Room Tip: Highest floor may have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings Madam

On behalf of our staff here at the Grovsenor, we thank you for your kind words.
All the points that you raised are generally what our clientele is looking for for a 3 plus hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Wishing you well.
Faithfully

Ping LIM (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#17 of 18 in Timaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing