We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really great service - the front desk staff are amazing. Interesting and quirky refurbishments. Free 10 hours internet access sealed the deal. Very quiet street with spacious off-road parking. Lovely room and heaps of good pressure hot water.

Room Tip: Highest floor may have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings Madam

On behalf of our staff here at the Grovsenor, we thank you for your kind words.
All the points that you raised are generally what our clientele is looking for for a 3 plus hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Wishing you well.
Faithfully

Ping LIM (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    114
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
35
113
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely roast lunch today. As we now live in Timaru we will definitely go again as the meal was tasty, well presented and large. Service was very good and the music was not too loud. Close to my work so I will definitely be taking my colleagues there for a team meeting/lunch. Thanks grosvenor. From Di and Karel

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Greetings Sir & Madam

We are glad and appreciative that you enjoyed our famous Sunday Carvery. It's refreshing to see regular customers keep returning and bringing with them their friends and family members who would then do the same thing. That's also the main reason why Sunday Carvery is never being advertised widely because ultimately, word-of-mouth is the most effective campaign of all. We are food lovers here and so, we constantly change our food offering to ensure that you don't get fed up with the food and that we are there to give you pleasant surprise! Shortly, we are to commence upon yet another food offering at the Grosvenor. Watch the space. We look forward to serve you again soon. Cheers, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First impressions, The Grosvenor is very histical building, and well worth a visit, The staff go out their way to make you feel so welcome, no matter what time you arrive, The ladies at the front desk cater to your every need no matter how small day or night.
The rooms are confortable and warm, with inspiring vews of over the city which are cosy and warm, and well equipped so you make the coffee or tea at the end of the long journey.
The meals are high quaility, and not expensive the menu caters for all tastes, Highly recomend you say for the Sunday Carvery for $23.00 simplely an adventure for the taste buds covering traditiional, & delious Sushi and other tastes and flavors from all over the world, I can never get past the desert section.
No matter if you are backpacker or on Business I recomend you check out the Govsvenor for the high quaility and sevice you will receve from the very caring and attentive staff from front of to house to the cleaning ladies, go out their way for the confort of the guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyH323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings Andrew

Many thanks for your kind words. Our whole team at the Grosvenor appreciates it. Kind people like yourself remind us all why we ended up in hospitality and accommodation industries at the first place. We may not be perfect all the time but we do the best that we can to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Once again, thank you very much and without a doubt, we will see you again very soon:) Faithfully, Ping LIM (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pros: Nice view from the room's window (sunrise over the Pacific and snowy mountains); Lovely balcony for a morning coffee (it's a balcony for the whole guests, not in-room); Cool elevator - you actually have to close the door manually; Free use of the laundry facilities; Free wireless for 10 hours a day.

Cons: Wireless was quite shaky inside the room, you had to go near the elevator to connect properly.

Room Tip: Swimming pool & fitness center rating - irrelevan, please ignore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Greetings Sir

Thank you for your positivity and your kind words. We appreciate it.
Yes, we have recurring wi-fi issue over the past three weeks. It has since been resolved. Our wi-fi provider specified to us that due to more guests now using smartphones, tablets and notebooks, the number of transmitters in our hotel were no longer appropriate. He identified of the weak spot area and effective as from yesterday, we have installed three additional transmitters. We have since checked the strength of the wi-fi with our equipment and also our guests' (yes, we have regular guests that stay here from week to week) and it passed with flying colours. We can assure all our guests that the wi-fi is now, better than ever before.
High Five to all our guests for making the Grosvenor an even better provider of memorable experience.
Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I'd read the horror reviews before booking this room, and rang the hotel to check a few points before booking. I mentioned I was travelling along for Masters games and got the room at the end of a wing - I think this made my stay quieter than being in the middle of hotel.
Received the king room with ensuite and continental breakfast for @ $75 AUD per night during South Island masters Games week.
Room has been renovated - bed incredibly comfortable and a new tv. The bathroom was still in 70's décor but really clean - heaps of towels and hot water. Laundry room a couple of doors down the corridor.
Hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful - this is especially helpful when travelling solo. Free parking across the road.

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre of hotel may be noisier as they're over the bar. I stayed in the room next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fooey1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Greetings Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Once upon a time, on weekends, certain rooms would be noisy due to activity at the bar downstairs. However, that has since changed as we have re-evaluated our target market (comprising of matured guests over late twenties of age). Nowadays, interruption is kept to a minimum. The Grosvenor is a 3+ rating hotel and it is what it is. Our beds are new and all rooms come with LCD panels. Exterior may need a paint job but most of our guests are pleasantly surprised by mod cons that are provided at the Grosvenor, a non-pretentious hotel with a HUGE personality. Once again, thank you for your encouraging words. We look forward to serve you again in the future. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I suspect that the makeover hadn't reached all the rooms, ours was grim, small and very old. The ill-fitting sliding door to the bathroom did not keep out the noise coming in through the open vent - noise from the shrieking smokers standing under the window from the bar below. Receptionist was friendly and nice. The main areas had had a makeover which apparently had won an award.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room away from the smokers' spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Greetings Sir/Madam

The Grosvenor is a non-smoking hotel. That being said, we are aware that certain guests choose not to take heed of our restrictions and did it anyway and thus, the problem that you talked about. It is important that when some incidents like that happened, do inform our Front Office staff to deal with it right away and we can send the perpetrators off their merry way. Furthermore, should you are not happy with the room that you are given, do let the Front Office staff know about that rather than having us reading about it later on. It is our job to ensure that you have a pleasant stay at the Grosvenor and so, it is no trouble at all. In almost all cases, many issues can be dealt with on-the-spot but unless we are told about them, we won't be able to read your guests' mind. Anyhow, thank you just the same for providing us with priceless feedback. Cheerio, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have eaten here before but this time we were disappointed service was rushed we were offered the desert menu before we had even got our main meal staff wanted to take my plate George I had finished my main meal food was nice but disappointing that we felt rushed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Greetings Sir & Madam

We are sorry for having an "off" day. Lately, many of our waiting staff called in sick at the last minute due to sudden change of weather. Due to short notice, we weren't able to get replacement staff at such a short notice and as a result, our service was stretched to the extreme. When we are short in staff, one person would have to wait on the tables, working behind the bar and attending to cancelled credits of gaming machines. We could empathise with you of not wanting to be rushed because we would want the same thing for ourselves. We are not making any excuses and we are truly sorry. We try harder. Regards from Ping LIM (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing