We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$118
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
72
119
61
30
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
119
61
30
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelsingle roomfirst floorfree wifibed was comfortablemiddle of townreception arearoom was largea great stayold schoolthe main streetcouple of nightscentral locationbit datedcaroline bayexcellent locationstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 290 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

At $85.00 per night I rate this as great value. Service very freindly. The number one high point was the double bed. Usually we find it hard to sleep at lower accomadation rates. The bed was brilliant. Had everything we neede in the room. The other big plus was the meals in the restuarant. They were great. We had blue cod and Lamb shanks and they were so good we ordered them a second time the next night. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnttyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Greetings

On behalf of our team here at the Grosvenor, we only this to say to you: thank you, thank you, thank you.

There is no other way to express our gratitude and appreciation to you for conveying to the world what the Grosvenor truly represents. Value-for-money is the topic that I keep bringing up and it's comforting to know that your statement backs us up. Isn't it our food is exceptional?

We look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Faithfully

Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with a bit of trepidation. Night before we stayed at a hotel for $85.00 a night and it was terrible. We had booked this a few days before and we were prepared for another saggy bed, sad room etc. We were happily wrong. the Grosvenor was built over 100 years ago but had been bought recently and refurbished. Our room was spacious, clean,and quiet. It had a flat screen tv, fridge, tea and coffee fixings and plenty of towels.
Our only complaint was that it had only 1 plug so either we had to u plug the fridge to plug in the tea kettle or pull the plug for the clock to plug in our ipad. Not a big deal in the scheme of things.
The price for a double was around $90.00 with tax which is pretty inexpensive for New Zealand.
The maytress was quite comfortable and last but not least, they had a laundry room for guests.
Nice touch!
Hotel is only a couple of blocks from everything.

Room Tip: Even though we were facing the sea and the trains, we didn't hear the trains very much at all.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annallen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Greetings Madam

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have to concur with you that our hotel is great value. When we have mediocre reviews from clients, many of them have forgotten the fact that they were getting what they paid for. Once again, thank you for your objectivity.
As for the plug situation, there are actually FOUR extra plugs on both sides of the bed. When we did renovation, we did it properly rather than on a superficial level. We actually beefed up the power capacity of the room to ensure that it is capable of handling modern equipments such as Notebook, iPad, iPhone, hair straightener etc. Haha~
We look forward to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling around the South Island and stayed in some wonderful accommodation, so I was nervous about this one. There was no need to be, it's quirkiness made it a fun place to stay, the king bed was divine and food in the restaurant was good. Bathrooms are dated, but plenty of hot water ans clean. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Greetings Sir & Madam

On behalf of our team here at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. Yes, we make do with what we have here at the Grosvenor and you can be assured that we will never ever skim on our services. This is our passion and so, we do it well. Being humans, sometimes, we tend to be off the mark but it's not because of the lack of trying but we simply have a bad day. Once again, thank you for supporting us and keeping all our families here employed:) Sincerely, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are 2 sections to this hotel. As you climb the stairs(there is a lift) you pass a floor with modern contemporary styling. New wall paper and doors. Our room was on the floor above and as we got up we got a much different scene. We were transported to another time. The room we stayed in was very very dated and had a smell about it. The bed was a little lumpy and the TV was tiny. There was free wifi but our room was not in range. The bathroom had a strange configuration and was ancient. Having said all this it was clean, and the staff were friendly. The pub attached on the ground floor was great and we had a few beers. Its very close to the main strip in Timaru but its a pretty quiet town. We struggled finding a restaurant open to have dinner.

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms. One is old and dated and i would not recommend it. Judging by the corridor I would image the other rooms are newly renovated.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Greetings Sir

Your feedback is spot on about the hotel. Our hotel comprises of 49 rooms and they are split evenly between two floors. It so happened that the Grosvenor appeals to a broad mixture of clientele; from corporates to families to contractors (who many of them have been staying here for over two decades). The Grosvenor is a historical hotel and it's lodged with the National Heritage Trust. It's been serving customers since 1875 and Her Majesty herself was here during the Jubilee Year in 1954. When we carried out renovation six years ago, we took into account all these factors. First floor is where we placed the theme rooms and where many rooms have additional features and soft furnishings that second floor doesn't have. Be mindful also that the price of the room on the second floor is cheaper. That being said, second floor is no shrinking violet but the rooms are more utilitarian-like. Contractors LOVE second floor because it's quieter, warmer as heat rises up, larger and due to its height, certain rooms can have uninterrupted view of the sea. Those contractors won't ever want to stay on the first floor because they consider those rooms to be too posh. The Grosvenor is known time and time again for its friendly staff and it's what I call the southern hospitality attitude. Our chefs are top notch chefs that used to work in international hotels and so, the food will always be supreme. For the cynics out there, you would question why international chefs would want to live in Timaru? It's simple, really. They are getting fed up with the hustle bustle of big cities and they want their children to be raised in a town with extra space and that people are still simple and genuine. Timaru can be quiet during the weekdays and that's also the ideal time to visit this city. Weekends could be potentially noisy in certain parts of city centre with teenagers hitting town and looking for action. Last but not least, I also concur that the configuration of the bathroom is interesting at best. The reason being the previous owner was cutting corners and as a result, some of the bathrooms look "interesting" but rest assured that they are still functional and clean:) And yes, all rooms have been refurbished. And the smell that you were referring to on the second floor happened to be the smell of new carpet that we just placed last year and also, the new paint that was completed a few months ago. As all hotel rooms are mostly closed all the time, it's impossible for the hotel to rid of the smell immediately. Yes, wi-fi signal was weak on the second floor last week due to a faulty unit. It has since been remedied. Once again, thank you for your objective assessment of the hotel. We shall do our utmost best to keep bringing the value to our customers. Ping LIM (the Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This old building has been refurbished, but in modern style which was somewhat unsympathetic to the history of the building - a picture of Winston Churchill with a green Mohican hairstyle for example.
The room was only okay and was smaller than I would have expected for a superior room, but the refurbishment hadn't extended to the bathroom which appeared to be 1970s - the lino flooring wasn't even nearly cut accurately. And the windows were really filthy on the outside, can't imagine when they were last cleaned.
For dinner, the staff were scurrying round at top speed but they weren't paying much attention to us, so we had to wait some time to eat. The food was very good though, large portions of fish nicely cooked. For breakfast we had to order what we wanted the night before which was a strange way of doing things.
I'm sorry to say that we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevorswaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Greetings Sir & Madam

We are sorry for not meeting your expectations.
TGB, our restaurant is known for its food & as you said, our staff were off their feet trying to attend to everybody's needs. Our restaurant comprises of a bar attendant and a waitress and we do the best we can. Sometimes, should you sit at a hidden corner, there's a possibility that the waitress may not have seen you.
Yes, outside windows are dirty now. We have booked for window cleaner with harness to come and tidying up the place. Once upon a time, our housekeeping team would climb out and wiped the windows but with Occupational Safety & Health Regulation these days, we are restricted by how frequently we can clean up the exterior building especially on the third floor.
The Grosvenor has 49 rooms and this is our sixth year of refurbishing the place. Many of the bathrooms have been updated but we still have a way to go yet. That being said, the bathrooms are clean and the hot water pressure is good. Previous reviews would vouch for that. Furthermore, we are to improve our facilities shortly with addition of a disabled bathroom facility (due to request from our regular guest).
The breakfast request the night before is a standard protocol for overseas hotel. In order to keep the hotel rate affordable, The Grosvenor won't be able to have waiting staff available at all times to attend to your immediate needs.
Lastly, the Grosvenor is a 3.5 stars hotel and we price ourselves accordingly to suit the market. We are not the Grosvenor in London and never will be. If there is a market for a grand hotel, then, we would refurbish the hotel accordingly and price it accordingly. Being in Timaru, majority of our guests simply want a comfortable stay at an affordable price. The Grosvenor has been running since 1875 and we are proud to say that we provide livelihood for twenty five families in this region.
We wish you all the best for the future.
Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews