We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the heart of Timaru”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room and the location of the hotel. Our room looked over the carpark across the road but we also had views over the port area and out to sea. Very handy to town and quiet even though it was by a road. Very comfortable bed and the room and bathroom very clean and tidy. Only drawback was the loo was very difficult to flush easily. I had to use both palms of my hands to push the button to operate. Other than that, we were both impressed with the service, the price ($85 double) and the location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Greetings Madam

Firstly, thank you kindly for your favourable comments. Our team and I appreciate it very much.
Yes, value-for-money is what we aspire to provide to the public. Yes, we understood what you meant by the stickiness of the toilet flush. Some hotel rooms of ours comprise of the antique flushing system from yesteryears and we have set up a program to progressively replace the units with the new ones. Shall we say, it's work-in-progress? Our team are pet lovers and we couldn't help but noticing your username being "Catmad". Next time, if you are heading to our neck of woods, should you travel with your pet such as cats or tiny dogs, you may be pleasantly surprised to know that the Grosvenor is pet-friendly too:) In Europe, pet-friendliness is a norm and we aspire to do the same always, noting that pet is afterall an extension of our families. Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to host you folks again in the near future. Faithfully, Ping LIM (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 262 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Over the Christmas and New Years holiday we stayed here for one night. The room itself was great - had been refurbished. The bathroom was dated but was very clean so can't complain. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. We dined in the restaurant - partner had the cod which was excellent and I had the vegetarian pasta which was nice too (nothing fancy but no complaints). Fine place to stay for a short stay. Very central to the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Greetings Madame

Happy 2013 to you and your family. Thank you very much for your graciousness in complimenting our team. During your stay with us, we sincerely hope that you enjoyed our southern hospitality. We may be in a tiny New Zealand provincial town but that's where the authentic publican spirit is still very much alive! We won't rest upon our laurel and we shall continuously living up to the good words that you have graced us with. The Grosvenor has been hosting local and foreign guests for the past 120 years and we vow to keep the torch burning for the next 120 years and beyond. We look forward to serve your families and friends again in the near future. From all of us here at the Grosvenor, a warm gratitude to keeping us employed. Faithfully, Ping (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I with our 15yo son in tow stayed just the one night and were really pleased. It's obvious they have renovated recently and have done a great job. It has a funky feel but with the old world charm still evident. We booked a family room and it was perfect, had separation of rooms but still felt we were all together. The room was very clean and had everything needed. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was brilliant, have the pork belly, stunning. The staff were all super friendly and it's located within a short walk of the main street. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Sir & Family

What a lovely way to start our 2013! Thank you for your nice compliments. On behalf of all of us here at the Grosvenor, we would like to express our heart-felt thanks and gratitude for your kind words. That being said, we strive harder to provide exceptional and memorable service to all our guests. May we wish you a pleasant and awesome year and beyond. We welcome you to come and stay with us again in the future. Just like the song, we ARE family:) Sincerely, Ping (Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We only spent one night here but would have liked to have stayed longer. The room was a good size, recently refurbished in a colourful and unusual style yet the room still maintained a quaint attractiveness - as did the hotel as a whole. The hotel is central with good parking and also has free wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms looking towards the east (the sea side, seem best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchells51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Greetings Sir & Madam

On behalf of our staff at the Grosvenor, we thank you whole-heartedly for your kind words. We are truly appreciative that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback meant the world to us and only through your words that we have a yardstick to measure our performance by. We wish you a Happy New Year and a Merry Christmas. We look forward to be of service to you again at foreseeable future. Have a nice day.

Proprietor - Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'd read the reviews on The Grosvenor prior to booking. I noted that the owners had rectified whatever had been previously complained about. So I had no second thoughts about booking the Grosvenor - two rooms for 1 night, particularly as I couldn't find another proper hotel in Timaru.

Let me say early on, that at $135 /$90 for the two rooms, it's got to be bad to get a poor review; it ain't gonna be the Ritz! The staff were friendly, there was a working lift, internet worked well, plumbing worked, plenty of hot water, a good car park and the food was really excellent. really excellent.
The Grosvenor attracts passing travellers (who are put on the first floor) and truckers/contractors who are put on the second floor. There is a large pub in one section of the building and the second floor gets pretty drunk as far as I could tell.

So, what is there to gripe about? The "Superior Room" didn't have a table or chair but the cheaper room did; we had to move our daughter out of the first room she was given because her window opened out to the smokers' balcony. I had to swap rooms with her when in her second room, an old man appeared on the roof and peered into her window, waved and walked away. The management must get a grip on the goings on arising from the pub. Also, the TV control box in one of our rooms didn't work and the work table was sticky not having been wiped by the chamber staff.

The decor is wacky. This is a magnificent Victorian building, with beautiful ceilings in the entrance and dining halls. The owners should, IMO, more properly blend their ideas on the upper floors with maintaining respect for the glorius downstairs.

That said, the Grosvenor is full of potential and represents excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Greetings Sir, first of all, on behalf of our staff, we express gratitude for letting us know your experience of staying here with us and secondly, we couldn't apologise enough for not meeting our usual high standard. I checked with Mel, our night director of first impression and she indicated to me that the day your family checked in, our first floor was fully booked except the two rooms that your family took. She wanted to put your family closer together but circumstance prevented us from doing that. Should we were informed earlier of your daughter's asthmatic condition, we could have swapped the other rooms around but by then, it was all too late. We have since printed out this review for our housekeeping department to see and we are to rectify the issues that you brought out as soon as possible. Thanks for that:) Also, on that night, there was a pool competition being held at Geraldine and many competitors stayed here. When you have a bunch of lads together for an outing, rowdiness is to be expected. Thus, we chose not to put your family on the second floor, where all of them were placed in. Everything that you raised for that evening are justified and noted. We thank you for your generosity and humility in giving us a four stars when in actuality, we know we have let you down. We shall ensure that this won't happen again. We wish you a pleasant journey in New Zealand before returning to Cornwall. All the best. Sincerely, Ping~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The service was very good and the meals we had were excellent and I would not hesitate to reccomend this restuarant to anyone.I found the service and the size and quality of the meals were that good, that I will definately be going back for more.
Bob Tweeddale
Timaru.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Greetings Sir

Thank you for your kind words. I shall relay your favourable impression to our team. (The) Grosvenor Hotel has been serving South Canterbury for 120 years and we hope that the legacy continues for yet another 120 years! Our team takes pride in providing exceptional customer service. Our ethos has always been the pursuit of perfection, to provide our guests with value-for-money and down-to-earth authentic service. We are indebted to Tripadvisor, to have provided us with a platform for our guests to leave us objective feedbacks in order for us to exceed your expectations. Ultimately, this is an overall team effort: our guests, Tripadvisor and our team. So, a heart-felt thank you to you all. We look forward to serve you again in foreseeable future. Have a pleasant day. Faithfully, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a historical, friendly hotel.Inexpensive price, the room is clean, quiet.If the employee and boss are very kind and friendly, warm, attentive service provided.We ate of the hotel restaurant chef great technology.This hotel personalized decoration is very interesting.The Department has a history of the old elevator is special.
We are from China, English is poor, because of driving the wrong way, and had an accident on the road.We are fortunate to have a local I SITE staff enthusiasm, effective help.They according to our requirements to a nearby Chinese hotel and was lucky to live in this hotel, meeting Mr PING , hotel owner. He is very nice and obliging.Thank him for everything we do, so that we in the exotic feel very warm and happy.
Once again sincerely thanks to Mr PING!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Ms Ren, our team & I are glad that you made it back to China safely. All of us are simply doing our jobs. We know that if we were to be stranded in China and that we don't speak the language and understand local culture and custom, we would be counting on the locals to showing us the way. It so happened that the Tourism Manager was at the right place and at the right time when you were involved in the accident. You said to me that the main aspiration of visitinig New Zealand is to experience the landscapes and its people. And to have you stranded in Timaru also meant that you get into the heartland of New Zealand, where you get to embrace the "authentic" New Zealand rather than the fabricated New Zealand catering to the tourism market. Being a forever optimist, I would like to think that everything happen for a reason and good things happen to good people. I hope that despite your brief sojourn into our country, it leaves you with a lasting memory and favourable impression. We hope that in a foreseeable future, we can be of service again to your friend and yourself. I can't stress enough that it's the people that made a hotel. "Let there be warmth in society; let there be light in humanity". Sincerely, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $64 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing