We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$118
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Motel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$95
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
72
119
61
30
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
119
61
30
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelsingle roomfirst floorfree wifibed was comfortablemiddle of townreception arearoom was largea great stayold schoolthe main streetcouple of nightscentral locationbit datedcaroline bayexcellent locationstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 290 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The service was very good and the meals we had were excellent and I would not hesitate to reccomend this restuarant to anyone.I found the service and the size and quality of the meals were that good, that I will definately be going back for more.
Bob Tweeddale
Timaru.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Greetings Sir

Thank you for your kind words. I shall relay your favourable impression to our team. (The) Grosvenor Hotel has been serving South Canterbury for 120 years and we hope that the legacy continues for yet another 120 years! Our team takes pride in providing exceptional customer service. Our ethos has always been the pursuit of perfection, to provide our guests with value-for-money and down-to-earth authentic service. We are indebted to Tripadvisor, to have provided us with a platform for our guests to leave us objective feedbacks in order for us to exceed your expectations. Ultimately, this is an overall team effort: our guests, Tripadvisor and our team. So, a heart-felt thank you to you all. We look forward to serve you again in foreseeable future. Have a pleasant day. Faithfully, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a historical, friendly hotel.Inexpensive price, the room is clean, quiet.If the employee and boss are very kind and friendly, warm, attentive service provided.We ate of the hotel restaurant chef great technology.This hotel personalized decoration is very interesting.The Department has a history of the old elevator is special.
We are from China, English is poor, because of driving the wrong way, and had an accident on the road.We are fortunate to have a local I SITE staff enthusiasm, effective help.They according to our requirements to a nearby Chinese hotel and was lucky to live in this hotel, meeting Mr PING , hotel owner. He is very nice and obliging.Thank him for everything we do, so that we in the exotic feel very warm and happy.
Once again sincerely thanks to Mr PING!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Ms Ren, our team & I are glad that you made it back to China safely. All of us are simply doing our jobs. We know that if we were to be stranded in China and that we don't speak the language and understand local culture and custom, we would be counting on the locals to showing us the way. It so happened that the Tourism Manager was at the right place and at the right time when you were involved in the accident. You said to me that the main aspiration of visitinig New Zealand is to experience the landscapes and its people. And to have you stranded in Timaru also meant that you get into the heartland of New Zealand, where you get to embrace the "authentic" New Zealand rather than the fabricated New Zealand catering to the tourism market. Being a forever optimist, I would like to think that everything happen for a reason and good things happen to good people. I hope that despite your brief sojourn into our country, it leaves you with a lasting memory and favourable impression. We hope that in a foreseeable future, we can be of service again to your friend and yourself. I can't stress enough that it's the people that made a hotel. "Let there be warmth in society; let there be light in humanity". Sincerely, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We live locally and decided to eat at the Grosvenor. We have had good food there previously and I had been told that they now stocked Tuatara beer.
The food was good, large portions and great value for money.
Very pleasing to have a local bar selling excellent craft beer.
I hope more bars will follow this example.
Roy H

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Hi Roy, thank you very much for your compliments regarding our food and beverage selections. We aim to please. Naturally, we could have done more to stock boutique beer and wine but being in New Zealand heartland, Timaruvians are more accustomed to mainstream offering. Being an avid international traveller and a big fan of food and beverage, I still stock items that I believe are gorgeous and value-for-money. Our staff are all ears to get feedbacks from our guests and we aspire you folks to have a memorable experience, and to refer us to your families and friends. Till we meet again, on behalf of our crew, we thank you wholeheartedly and we look forward to be of service to you again in foreseeable future. Sincerely, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We choose the Grosvenor as we were travelling by bus and it was only about 3 minutes walk from the bus depot and close to the main shopping centre. We found the receptionist cheerful and helpful. We loved the quirky pictures on the wall. We knew about the one near the main door as we saw it online but kept getting little surprises - van Gogh on the wall in the stairwell, Mary Quant type design on the first floor, etc.
We had dinner in the hotel, a cosy, friendly, very nice pub meal.
Caroline Bay was also only a short walk away and definitely worth walking to. There is a choice of many interesting bridges across the railway line. The huge park in Caroline Bay looked like it had been upgraded recently (although we had not been there before). We continued around the coast too - a lovely walk past a light house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Sharon, The Grosvenor thanked you wholeheartedly for your kind words. You have made our day, that's for sure. Can we be presumptuous to assume that you are an art buff? If so, you have come to the right place. The Van Gogh-ish mural that you saw on the stairwell was done by our dear friend and an up and coming New Zealand contemporary artist, Michael Springer. And he was aided by one of New Zealand's renowned cutting edge artist, James Robinson. We are striving to live up to the Grosvenor, being a HoMA: Hotel of Modern Art. Recently, we also had contribution from yet another artist, Jo Robertson. We are appreciative of New Zealand's artists to have embraced the platform that we have provided them to display their imagination and creativity. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Timaru and we look forward to be of service to you again in foreseeable future. Faithfully, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

In a way, I feel for the Grosvenor that it's tucked in the sleepy town of Timaru. A quirky boutique hotel such as this would do marvellously well in Europe. It so happened that I was travelling from Dunedin to Christchurch when a fog came through. As it was late at night & I was exhausted, I decided to find somewhere to stay. The last thing I wanted to do was to get stuck in a staid and plain boring hotel or motel. From pictures at the Tripadvisor, I thought I should try my luck there. Fortunately, the bar was open. The lovely attendant, Danielle got me a night call attendant to check me in. Then, she asked if I cared for a nibble or a night cap, which I concurred in both fronts. I was put on the first floor & the room was fresh. Being an enthusiast of historical hotel, I waited for the next day to talk to the Front Office lady, Amy, who indulged me with its renovation, its history etc. I love the family atmosphere of the hotel. There were lots of laughter and bantering between the staff & guests, who I assume must be regulars there. I thought I may do the hotel a favour by jotting down some nice words to entice other guests to know of this hidden gem in the provincial town of Timaru. Commendable stay.

Room Tip: Pick Room 101 to imagine the same room that Queen Elizabeth 2 stayed in 1954 during her Jubilee Tour of New Zealand
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Rowena

We are gratified that we have made your day as much as you have made ours. The word, hospitality derives from the meaning of being hospitable to our guests. Our staff is constantly reminded that the Grosvenor is to be treated as our home and they are to imagine themselves being the hosts. As hosts, they are to ensure that the needs and wants of guests are well taken care of. Our words confirmed to us that our staff indeed took heed of our words and they walked the talk. By no means, we won't rest upon our laurel and we shall continuously strive to provide exceptional service to our guests.

Sincerely, Ping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews