We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless night.”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Saturday night there was a live band down in the bar area. Being very serious, I could hear it as if the sterio was on in my room from 7pm - 1.30am! Not only that, the Bass of the music vibarated through the walls making the door jiggle and cups and saucers clatter every single beat. It sounded like hardcore rock music. I'm not a complainer but after a few hours of this I wanted to pull my hair out. I was travelling with my 11 year old cousin from out of town for a badminton tournament. I went to change rooms but noone was manning the reception area. Next morning i politely told the reception lady the situation and wanted discount. She told me there are ear plugs in the room for that reason!!!! hahahahaha. NO LIE. (no ear plugs in my room) Sadly she didnt have authority to change the room rate and management dont come onto the premisis on Sundays. I just paid and left. If you like a late night with live music go ahead! Also they say its been done up but thats been done with a tight budget, the bathrooms have not been touched, and the hallways have creepy hand painted massive faces with bright 70's style colours everywhere. Staff nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very impressed with the hotel and its refurbishment. We stayed in room 101 and it was was very spacious and modern. For $220 we paid we got a 2 course meal and cooked breakfast, which was called the Queens package.

The staff were friendly and helpful, being winter it was quiet but that is how we liked it.
The evening meal ws lovely and breakfast TGB was huge.

Well done Grosvenor!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

booked two rooms for one night, rooms good value for money paid $120. per room the rooms faced the back of the hotel, so was abit noisey when the staff emptied the bottles in the rubbish. Got up in the morning to cold showers in both rooms informed the young lady in the office she informed us that everybody was up early and they used all the hot water, we said that wasn't good enough and asked for some to be taken off the price she refused.
On the good side food in bar was good and they kept serving late into the night, which was great as we were late back in after the rugby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Hi there, hot water issue is no more. Now, we have SEVEN gigantic commercial hot water cylinders for the Grosvenor. The amount of hot water available is enough for two hundred people and MORE! Humans are creatures of habit and in the past, our system was good enough for forty nine rooms BUT what happened is that customers tended to take shower at the same time. We look forward to serve you folks again in forseeable future. Ping~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

stayed here one night en route between Dunedin and Christchurch. Hotel is tucked away down a small side street a few minutes walk from the town centre. If you're looking for an experience of a typical NZ pub/hotel then this is it - the rooms are smallish and basic and have interesting interior decor - the bathroom was a thin corridor and getting to the room needed navigating down a few corridors. Was noisy late in the evening as other guests returned from the bars etc. No frills type of place. If I was to stay in Timaru again I'd look to be closer to the beach at Caroline Bay though.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Charming old building Hope it will be tastfully done up Hand rail in shower would be good confortable bed good breakfast polite staff nice and warm

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stef030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I used to stay in this hotel a lot for business before the rennovations, so I was curious to see how it had changed. What a huge surprise, it is looking amazing. The foyer is almost unrecognizable, as is the TGB bar. The rooms have been nicley renovated, although the bathroom seemed to be largely original, but still clean and tidy nonetheless. Good to see earplugs in the room, I have travelled a lot and have never seen this before. Overall, great value for a great hotel, friendly staff, great bar, and the best location for entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

As a corporate traveller that is out of town a minimum of two days every week I am so happy to able to say that The Grosvenor Hotel is one of the most welcoming and best value hotels that I stay in. The staff are very warm, friendly and helpful. Nothing is to much trouble for them. I have special needs meal wise and they are always only too happy to accomodate my special requirements. On that note, my most recent meal was Sweet and Sour Pork, whilst my colleague had the Pork Belly. I can honestly say that tis was the best prepared and cooked Pork that we have had. The rooms are very warm and comfortable with excellent facilities. Both NO8 Wired and TGB bars are a great experience, even when travelling alone there is always a warm friendly face to chat to. They also have an awesome gaming room that has a great range of machines (it was a finalist in the 2009 HANZ Gaming Room of The Year). It is a very safe enviroment to relax and have fun in. Overall, I would highly recomend this venue for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davo9andJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $65 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing