We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In need of an upgrade”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

When I entered my room I directly saw that the interior had had its best days. The only way of heating the room was a portable electrical heater. It could handle the room but it's not what you would call professional. The sofa in the room had stains and was clearly not vacuumed in a long time. The bedspread was not torn but threads were torn and loose, the extra black bedspread was not clean. The sheets were clean. The windows were dirty and the frames were not cleaned in a long time. The rest of the room's interior showed clear sign of over use. The bathroom was clean at first sight although the ceiling paint was coming off, the faucet wasn't fixed. The shower was a cheaper version of what one would expect.
Conclusion: I was supposed to stay there a week and I left after one night. It was not the place I would want to stay and feel at home or at least comfortable. I would feel afraid to touch anything on the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    24
    21
    5
See reviews for
12
15
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I wouldn't pay good money to stay here. Just tired and dated. If you are just looking for an overnight place to sleep then it would do. Not a holiday stop but OK for an overnight traveller. Check in and check out was super quick. Won't stay again however.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chchgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Facilities were average, shabby and run-down in places. We stayed three nights, no one showed us our room, offered or advised regarding anything or took a welcoming interest in our stay. We arrived the day before Anzac Day and were told there was no room service due to public holiday which meant we did not have any room service for two days and no re-filled complimentary tea/coffee. Two days later we had room service however the sheets were not changed - despite a clear accidental spill which would have been visible on the sheets. We deliberately chose this hotel as they advised that the bar was available late nights (we were with a group of 12); however this did not occur and returning from dinner on both nights the bar was closed. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel was one of our stays while visiting NZ we were greeted by the manager who was very friendly and helpful (he took our cases up to our room) ,our room had a great view overlooking Caroline Bay the room was excellent ,we had a great curry in the restaurant at night there were other patrons also dining who were happy with their food
Based on our experience we would stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Sorry only good thing to say was shower had great water pressure. Dark and dingy room, grubby furniture, old stain & tired towels. Depressing room even for short stay.Very over priced. Noisy guests next door morning and night .Needless to say will never stay here or with this chain again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jax682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

As a traveling rep ive stayed in plenty of hotels...this is one of the worst. Outdated rooms, awful service and a decidedly average restaurant (still hadnt been acknowledged after waiting 20min!). This hotel is part of a global rewards system called choice privileges....none of the 3 staff behind the counter knew what to do with my card despite the fact there was signage and promotional material about it in the lobby. Will not be back...ever!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jax2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
325 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel every year for the past few years for at least one w/e. It used to be pleasant with reasonable accommodation (if you booked the right rooms, not all as good as each other!). However it has deteriorated substantially in the last year. Despite booking mulitiple rooms well in advance as we do every year we were charged the full rate & given no discount. We found that almost everyone else booked in was paying considerably less per room than we were being charged. Personally I was also allocated a room we had not booked which was significantly worse than the one I had ordered & paid for with no reason given & no apology. My party will never use this hotel again on our annual visits to Timaru & my advice would be for anyone else using it to be very careful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#2 of 6 in Timaru
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Benvenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Benvenue

Property: Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Address: SH 1/16-22 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Benvenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Benvenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benvenue Hotel Timaru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing