We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of The Oxford

The Oxford
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: European, British, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

A lot of locals rave about The Oxford but I canlt say I feel the same.Very expensive and food nothing special in my opinion.Wouldnlt go back.Maybe ok for a couple but not a family meal.Seems to be doing well though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jokemuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    66
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always good food, service and value”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food and service here is second to none. We visit fairly regularly for dinner or lunch and every time is great. Good choices on the menu and service is friendly without being intrusive. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timaru
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at Oxford”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a great meal at Oxford.mushroom entree was exceptional , Mains delicious. Steak not quite rare but very tasty and tender. Orange syrup cake for dessert was fab. Excellent service and good wine/ beer selection. Very happy to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
761 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Summer Sunday”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

On wandering through town on a quiet Sunday we chose to eat here
Wine advise was stellar
Starters and mains all went v well
Great service
Priced well to boot

Helpful?
Thank Nlenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Came upon this restaurant by chance as most venues were closed being 2/1/14. The food was beautifully prepared, I had the sole with fennel -a subtle combination of flavours. My husband had the slow braised lamb, which again was cooked to perfection. Followed by desserts made in heaven, highly recommend the orange drizzle cake!
At $60 inc wine for two courses it was money well spent. Loved the understated decor and the staff were really friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fruitbat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing