We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Sukhothai Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 74 Restaurants in Timaru
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

As the title states, simply the best!! I am a regular diner at this restaurant and I would highly recommend to anybody who asks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nemo1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb authentic delicious Thai food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

One of the most delicious Thai restaurants in New Zealand. The food is authentic, excellent, fresh, and absolutely delicious. The lunch is very competitively priced, comes with soup and main. Very delicious and filling. The service is not top notch, more like a well run family business than a professional fine dining establishment. But the food is as good as the food in Thailand itself. We always stop by this wonderful restaurant on our South Island trip. This is one of the busiest restaurants in Timaru as it is the only Thai restaurant in this town PLUS it also serves excellent Thai food. As a result it is always extremely busy. The owners are absolutely lovely. If you love authentic Thai food do not hesitate to stop by at Sukhothai if you visit Timaru. The food is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always the best”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had lunch here, and it was fantasic!!! Ordered the paneng chicken curry and it was definitely one of the best I have had. Thanks so much!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodtimes225588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Back up to a reasonable standard again!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We often visit this restaurant when we are passing through or staying in Timaru each year. Last year it was disappointing but we believe that was due to the lady who runs it being away in Auckland setting up a new place. This year it was once again very good. Service was back up to previous standards & the food was once again quite tasty, if a little expensive for relatively standard Thai food. Amazing what a difference one person can make to a restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lunch menu is fantastic value for the price - amazing flavour, quick service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

if u want some great tasting food at affordable prices without having to wait for ages then this is the place to go :)
If ur fortunate enough to get Anne you've hit the jackpot, we come here a few times and no matter how long it's been since the last visit she remembers our favourite meals and is so friendly and efficient.
I love Thai food and have never been disappointed with the flavour. you will love the lunch menu particularly and be prepared not to need afternoon tea the meal portions are very filling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MstMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai Restaurant also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sukhothai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing