We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Afternoon With friends”
Review of Stables Cafe & Bar

Stables Cafe & Bar
Ranked #27 of 74 Restaurants in Timaru
Restaurant details
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon With friends”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great family atmosphere, Beautiful Cafe and friendly staff. I had a wonderful meal " Spinach and corn patties with smoked salmon " Yummy would highly recommend if you want a lite meal. It is a bit out of town if you haven't got a car but is worth it I would highly recommend to anyone

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sammygee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Tasty Food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love this place. Its cafe food thats always fresh and tasty. The setting is fantastic, it is a big stable that has been converted into a cafe. There are farm animals for the kids to enjoy and a lovely rustic/cool atmosphere. Great coffee too. Definately worth a visit as it close enough to town but just so peaceful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Country dining”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a a couple of times for lunch and a few times for coffee. The menu is good and is fairly priced. It's great to sit outside on a hot day, can get a bit cool in winter though. Looking forward to my next visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathAnne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

A great place to go have lunch. service is good and food is lovely beer battered fish is great highly recommend if looking for a family outing or just lunch with friends would highly recommend going here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoreyG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been here for lunch several times. There are outside tables in the garden and plenty of tables inside in the atmospheric old stables building. This family run cafe serves freshly made, well cooked food and good coffee. They have an adequate wine list. Though they are usually busy, the staff are always smilingly cheerful and helpful. I love to see the miniature horses, Alpacas and donkeys in their paddock adjacent to the restaurant. A great place to take kids. We will be back next time we visit Timaru.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Cafe & Bar also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Stables Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing