We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy Motel in a very good location”
Review of Seabreeze Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seabreeze Motel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed on one night in a downstairs unit. Unit was very clean and tidy. A little dated but we were not worried especially at the good price for two people and especially in Timaru.

Great location just leave your car in the car park and walk to town centre or down into Caroline Bay. For the more mature there is a lift nearby that will drop you down into the Caroline Bay area.
We were not worried by the railway or motor vehicle traffic.

Bed was average but hey nothing is as good as your own bed. The only noise was from the people moving around in the upstairs unit. Easy check in and friendly management.
Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

A popular and handy location, only a short walk to the main street. Booking in was not a problem using their freephone. We asked for a quiet room away from the railway line. As it turned out, our spacious room on the upper level had a great view over Caroline Bay. There is sufficient car parking on the premises.

The bedroom was clean, fresh and tidy with adequate lighting, heating, phone and TV, but the wireless internet is on the Zenbu paid network. The kitchen is a separate area with cooking and tea making, ironing facilities. Though the appliances are cosmetically tired, they are still functioning. Likewise the shower and toilet area showing the age of the premises but clean enough for a short stay. Face cloths and towels are supplied but the traditional block of soap has been replaced by liquid hand wash and shower gel.

As for the railway, the last train went through at about 11.30 p.m, a perceptible rumble but not a problem. From then on, a good night’s sleep in the comfortable bed. Great value at $95 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaspah4582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is great as far as Timaru goes, but this place is out of the 70s! Maybe even earlier. Sometimes vintage can be quirky if done right, but this is NOT done right! The beds (thank heavens) are the only things in this place that have been changed in 40 odd years. The smell of our room was quite sickening, it's as if it's been sprayed with loads of disinfectant to try and distract you from the old decor, and I'm sure, the rotting of the lounges. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a family unit for two nights stay. The views were fantastic, location great and ideal for walking to the beach, playground etc for ourselves and 2 little granddaughters. The rooms were large and beds very comfortable. Be prepared to hear the occasional train during the night! Unit was clean, although a little 'tired' (in need of a little TLC!). We would stay again. Thank you for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We needed a couple of reasonably priced rooms and checked in at The Seabreeze. The owner was helpful, we had a very spacious room looking out over the sea with a full kitchen. There are fancier places to stay, but we were very happy with the value for dollar at the Seabreeze at a rate of $95 a night. There are a few restaurants on the same block so it was convenient for what we needed--a place to overnight and eat. No complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

walking distance into town centre.There are four restaurants alongside the motel.We ate at Little India,my wifes first Indian food.She'll return for more.Our upstairs room was very spacious with comfortable bed,lounge suite,table and chairs,large tv with sky,full kitchen, smallish bathroom .Good value,$95 p n midweek.Would stay again if stopping in Timaru.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

An old fashioned motel close to the city centre. Nice views from the front rooms but the building is in poorish shape and surrounded by derelict neighbours. We had a large room facing the sea with a full kitchen, passably well equipped. Double bed was not the best and the chairs / settee worn and torn. No food shops within walking distance if self catering but a good supermarket about 5 minutes drive. The railway passes almost under the hotel and the occasional freight train is quite noisy. Reception on arrival could have felt a little warmer. Prices are low - large family room for around $90.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#16 of 18 in Timaru
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabreeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Motel

Address: 28 The Bay Hill, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seabreeze Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views over Caroline Bay Spacious Studio units Family 2 bedroom units off street Parking Freezer,Laundry, off SH 1 Closest Motel to CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Seabreeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing