We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very shabby motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very shabby motel”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was very shabby! The room didn't even have a door to the bathroom, neither had the bathroom any sink to wash your hands. Obviously you don't expect a nice view for such price, however you certainly don't expect to look straight into trash bins either. There are other options in Timaru, we unfortunately chose the wrong option this time. Don't do the same mistake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaganor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Vaganor,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the Anchor Motel. You make a valid point, that having a curtain to separate the bathroom from the studio is not good enough, even if you stayed in our cheapest unit and we have now fitted a door. The rubbish bins are about 8 metres (24 feet) away from your unit, so I don't understand the problem. We would have preferred you mentionning you were unhappy during your stay as we could have offered you a better unit than our budget unit you stayed in.
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
11
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We got there quite late (2am) but the hosts still entertained us without any issues. Slept very well in their comfortable and soft beds. Not the usual back packers. Definitely nice and clean. :) we couldn't have picked a better place. Paid a good price and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkiesx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for eight days for a national roller skating event. Location is great. Room was dated, but comfortable and had everything we needed. Bedspread was dirty and when I mentioned it to staff, it was promptly replaced.
Thank you for making our first visit to Timaru so memorable.
Walking distance to Caroline Bay, and there's a great bakery across the road!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are cheap but we are definitely striving to provide clean rooms. I'm sorry a beadspread was dirty and I'm glad you pointed it out so we could replace it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

a comfortable unit with good hosts can be recommended for the budget travellers such as my wife & i

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Michael. A bit disappointed you gave us only 3 stars since you enjoyed your stay and would recommend others to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekawa
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We spent 10 wonderful days here. The hosts were helpful and kind and friendly. They both ensured all our needs were meet. The unit was very clean, tidy and comfortable. Our children enjoyed the location being close to shops and a skate park.
We will be back to stay sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank yo for your great review Sally, I'm veryhappy you enjoyed it so much here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable, everything is in walking distance, including my favorite the pier, and Caroline beach, and the hosts were absolutely wonderful people. I will definately come back.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank j275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My partner booked this scummy motel through the net pics are very deceiving. The fridge stunk, the bathroom was grubby, not a secure place for children at all. Rated a 3 star, makes a good tui ad "yeah right."

Room Tip: take advice from people you know that have been to a place, dont trust pictures online!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Rene,
I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy the Anchor, I would have liked you to mention something on the day if you thought that your unit was not clean. In our view there's absolutely no excuse for a dirty room and we would have rectified whatever it was that you say was dirty. Idon't understand why you say the Anchor is not safe for children (my 6 year old girl who plays here).
p.s. I hope this is not a malicious review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#16 of 18 in Timaru
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Baywatch Motor Lodge
#14 of 18 in Timaru
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers

Property: Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Address: 42 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE, COMFORTABLE & FRIENDLY. Location: centrally located, 500m from Caroline Bay, beach, new Aquatic center, tennis center, Northtown mall, restaurants, paddling pool and playground, etc. Accommodation: studios, 1 & 2 bdrm family units, 5 bedroom separate house, separate backpacker. Specializing in group bookings & long-term accommodation. Features: Motel units are spacious and come with fully equipped kitchens, sky TV, wireless internet, guest computer, ample onsite car parks, bbq. 5 bedroom house is fully renovated has 2 kitchens, 2 1/2 bathrooms and a huge balcony. Backpacker has single, twin & dorm rooms with shared kitchen, lounge and bathroom, linen provided, wireless internet avail. Your hosts Sandy & Greg look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing