We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the entrance fee”

Te Ana Maori Rock Art
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Timaru
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Ana provides personalised, authentic Maori cultural experiences based around the rock art art sites created by our ancestors. We offer guided tours of our Maori Rock Art Centre, Te Ana, and guided tours to some of the districts most stunning examples of Maori rock drawings, also known as cave art. We are a Maori owned not-for-profit organisation - 100% of the proceeds of our centre and site tours are used for the management of the rock art sites in the district. By choosing Te Ana you are helping us to protect this unique aspect of our culture for future generations. Kia ora!
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the entrance fee”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

For both locals and visitors this is a rare opportunity to see first had Maori Rock Art in New Zealand. The displays of rock art from around the area are complemented with excellent videos, and interactive audio visuals. There is a very helpful guide too who imparts much insight into the local history. We spent a whole morning at this fascinating exhibition.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Get to understand deeper about the Maori culture & having the first hand look at the rock carving which wont be found anywhere in New Zealand.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great look at Maori culture”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had trouble finding educational tourist sites on the South Island where we could learn more about the Maori culture. This little museum was on our way to Oamaru and ended up being a great place to learn more about this indigenous culture. It was brought to life by the tour guide who took us through the exhibit and explained each item as well as popular legends and how the Maori people lived. It only took about an hour but was the perfect amount of time for our young kids. The fee was a bit high at $50 for a family of four. Even with GPS, it is quite hard to find so look for a red brick industrial looking building at the end of the road.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank 4foolsofwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Underrated”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Te Ana Rock Art Centre is not located at the main touristy route heading to Mount Cook. It's worth stopping by to the Centre if you want to know more about Maori culture particularly Ngai Tahu tribe. Whilst the Rock Art Centre may not be imbedded with the latest interactive & entertainment technology, it has knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff that gives people an intimate Q&A sessions. I like the fact that the Rock Art Centre isn't choked with tourists and that I could stroll around the displays at an easy pace. I particularly loved the stories told by Susie, the local guide of things that the tribe is doing now to help other native people in the world. I didn't know until today that Red Indians from the States was here in the 19th century and they're the ones who introduced salmon to the local river. Ironically, the Indian tribe is now seeking for Ngai Tahu's assistance to re-introduce the spawns back to America because human's intervention in dam has eradicated its local population of salmon. For those of you that are inquisitive and wanting to know more about Ngai Tahu, this is an experience NOT to be missed.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Te Ana Rock Art Centre, Timaru”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We visited the brand new Te Ana Rock Art Centre in Timaru today. What a fantastic, comprehensive and stylish place! It's located by the old railway station in the center of town in the old Landing Services Building and has been put together by local Ngai Tahu.

The South Canterbury region of New Zealand has many examples of indigenous art in the limestone caves surrounding the Timaru area. The Rock Art Centre brings together examples of this art, explaining why it came to be there, how it was created, what it means and how it's being preserved and viewed today. We ran out of time visiting the center and you could easily spend a couple of hours there if you looked at everything. There's a few interactive displays including a 'rubbing' section so you can create your own copies of the art, and a display that tells you more about the food and hunting methods of local people.

Perfect for a rainy day! The staff are very enthusiastic and eager to give you more information. Check the opening hours as they are dependent on the iSite visitor office in the same building.

Helpful?
2 Thank MhairiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Ana Maori Rock Art also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Te Ana Maori Rock Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing