We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
35
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 36 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I spent a fortnight driving through New Zealand staying at b&bs and hotels. Longview was our top pick. Anita and Alan have perfectly tuned their approach to the task of welcoming a guest and giving them their own space. Their modern home and olive farm sit on the crest of a hill overlooking farmland, with snow-capped mountains in the distance. It is indeed a fabulous long view. Our bedroom was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. There is a separate guest lounge with television, and Anita served a nice cup of tea and snack when we arrived. Dinner was shared at the family table over a glass of wine and easy conversation. We were the only guests that night but the house felt truly lived in and inviting. The property has a lovely garden and was a soothing stopover on our travels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRoadLeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We traveled to New Zealand last year from Ireland, just before Christmas. We stayed at The Long View, Timaru with Alan and Anita. They made us so welcome,giving us all the information we needed to enjoy the beautiful scenery, and helped me find connections to old family history in the area from the 1800's! After Anita's very good breakfast,we loved wandering the gardens that overlook a magnificent view all the way cross country to Mount Dobson! We never wanted to leave to be honest, and someday we hope to be able to make the long trip back again! Thank you Anita and Alan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our second stop on our NZ trip and again a great choice thanks to Trip advisor Anita and Alan are great hosts and they are very friendly and are very knowledgeable about anything you care to ask them. Anita's breakfasts are to die for and they offer a lot of their own produce at the table. They also produce an amazingly good olive oil which if you get the chance you should sample.

The local town of Pleasant Point has good restaurant and Pub which is a bonus or you can do what we did and go to Fairlie for a meal which was a great night.

Room Tip: Use as a base to explore the whole Canterbury area you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one evening here with Anita and Alan, we should have stayed for more! The house is in pristine condition and Anita and Becky (the dog) made us felt like home.

Breakfast was fantastic! Must try the egg Benedict! Dinners can be arranged if you have a group of 5 or more. Please check with Anita!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We were very lucky to find this B&B. It was a last min booking and we were quite worry about what we will get, but what a pleasant surprise in this B&B at Pleasant point. Spotlessly clean and everything thing look so nice and new! Beautiful garden, and the view to die for!!!
They have a cattle farm, olives plantation & some fruit trees, a vegetable garden and a beautiful dog!!!
Anita is a great host and we feel very much at home. It was a very good experience for my parents, they love it so much that they ask if we could stay for a week!
It's about 15mins drive up north from Timaru, which is on the way up to Christchurch anyway. I regret I did not pre-arrange for Anita to cook dinner for us, it will even more perfect if we get a home cook meal to complete the experience! It's a great stopover if you are looking for a place to rest from Dunedin to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews