We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OandM”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OandM”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a wonderful property,set in lovely gardens with an olive grove and the views are amazing. Anita and Alan made us feel like close friends and we loved the cooking. We have stayed in many places around the world but if I had to choose a place to live in, it would certainly be "Longview". The bedroom was so comfortable we slept in most mornings, left there feeling like we had truly relaxed. We totally recommend this homestay to all discerning travellers

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owieandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This bed and breakfast is all we could have hoped for.set in beautiful countryside.
The rooms were very nice, with comfy beds.and nice bathrooms.
A delicious breakfast was cooked and served by Anita,
Alan and Anita were very welcoming hosts,also allowing us to enjoy their beautiful garden.
We would have no hesitation in reccommending this bed and breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdidevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This was the most fantastic B & B you could ever imagine. Anita and Alan were great hosts and we had a lovely room with brilliant views. Anita cooked us great breakfasts and we chatted over breakfast with an American couple who were staying there too. They have a lovely friendly dog and we were just welcomed into their home like family. The house is tucked away and so there were no sounds at night to disturb us and we slept like babies. Anita has olive trees and has them pressed locally. Lovely olive oil. Anita was a wonderful hostess and guided us to some lovely local restaurants and places to visit. Overall this is a must stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Longview is a modern, well built house set amid olive groves and a lovely, extensive garden. The view of the four peaks is fabulous, our room was very comfortable and quiet, and the icing on the cake was the unexpectedly wide choice of cooked breakfast items - including my favourite eggs Benedict which were expertly prepared by our hostess Anita Blakemore. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed a night @ Longview last week (28/01/2011) & I am very happy that I found this little treasure. I have never stayed in B&B previously as I heard many stories about the standard of cleanliness (yeahhh I'm a little clean freak here).

This was my very first time staying in B&B in my life and I am very impressed !!
Friendly & nice host, spacious, neat, clean, stunning view and nested in a quiet location, perfect for a little R&R spot.

I must say the place is much better than photos (as you all know normally the photos on website look better than the real thing....), this is a complete opposite. The place in reality is way more beautiful & you just have to see it yourself to prove it!!

Alan & Anita are extremely nice, the facility is 6 star, you have your own area to read books & watch TV, make tea/ coffee (any flavour you want), and little cute cocker spaniel dog miss Beckie to play with.

They also produce their own olive oil, which is absolutely fantastic. I bought 1 bottle (500 ml) to take home. Highly recommended to buy this olive oil, it is rich in flavour & really pure..too beautiful.

Anita cooked beautiful breakfast for us - please refer to my photos.
Apart from cooked breakfast, Anita setup 3 bows of cereal (hotel display style), orange juice, milk, toast, yoghurt etc. What a treat !!

I will definitely stay @ Longview again if I ever visit Pleasant Point (15 mins drive from Timaru) in the future & will stay a minimum of 2 nights to enjoy their beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I booked one night at Longview for a stop over between Dunediun and Kaikoura. Anita was great and replied quickly to my request.

The time spent there was one of the higlights of the South Island. The views and company were excellent! Longview is definately a hidden treasure that more people should consider.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s33c3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I could rave all day about Longview because we just loved it. Anita and Alan, our hosts, were funny, intelligent, informative, interesting but above all, welcoming. There's not enough space here to tell you how good it really is - to open the curtains in the morning and see the magnificent view really is breathtaking and then you get to try Anita's cooking which is fabulous. If you go for a wander through the olive groves with them and get to meet their hand-reared calves you'll never want to leave...we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemount76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Longview Road | Pleasant Point, Timaru 7983, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 acres, Longview Bed & Breakfast/Farmstay has stunning, 'must be seen to be believed' views. Enjoy the tranquillity and beauty of the countryside with the advantage of being only minutes away from town. Centrally located, we are 2 hours drive from Christchurch and Aoraki/Mount Cook enroute to Queenstown. We are the perfect stopover on your journey. We have three double rooms available for guests. Two bedrooms and the guest lounge have direct access to the terrace and gardens. Stroll through our olive grove and enjoy a tasting of Extra Virgin Olive Oil from our most recent harvest. Visit our farm animals or explore the local attractions which include Maori rock art, railway museum with restored steam locomotives, golf course, vineyard and Timaru's International Motor Raceway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing