We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem with bells on.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with bells on.”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This was the most fantastic B & B you could ever imagine. Anita and Alan were great hosts and we had a lovely room with brilliant views. Anita cooked us great breakfasts and we chatted over breakfast with an American couple who were staying there too. They have a lovely friendly dog and we were just welcomed into their home like family. The house is tucked away and so there were no sounds at night to disturb us and we slept like babies. Anita has olive trees and has them pressed locally. Lovely olive oil. Anita was a wonderful hostess and guided us to some lovely local restaurants and places to visit. Overall this is a must stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Longview is a modern, well built house set amid olive groves and a lovely, extensive garden. The view of the four peaks is fabulous, our room was very comfortable and quiet, and the icing on the cake was the unexpectedly wide choice of cooked breakfast items - including my favourite eggs Benedict which were expertly prepared by our hostess Anita Blakemore. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed a night @ Longview last week (28/01/2011) & I am very happy that I found this little treasure. I have never stayed in B&B previously as I heard many stories about the standard of cleanliness (yeahhh I'm a little clean freak here).

This was my very first time staying in B&B in my life and I am very impressed !!
Friendly & nice host, spacious, neat, clean, stunning view and nested in a quiet location, perfect for a little R&R spot.

I must say the place is much better than photos (as you all know normally the photos on website look better than the real thing....), this is a complete opposite. The place in reality is way more beautiful & you just have to see it yourself to prove it!!

Alan & Anita are extremely nice, the facility is 6 star, you have your own area to read books & watch TV, make tea/ coffee (any flavour you want), and little cute cocker spaniel dog miss Beckie to play with.

They also produce their own olive oil, which is absolutely fantastic. I bought 1 bottle (500 ml) to take home. Highly recommended to buy this olive oil, it is rich in flavour & really pure..too beautiful.

Anita cooked beautiful breakfast for us - please refer to my photos.
Apart from cooked breakfast, Anita setup 3 bows of cereal (hotel display style), orange juice, milk, toast, yoghurt etc. What a treat !!

I will definitely stay @ Longview again if I ever visit Pleasant Point (15 mins drive from Timaru) in the future & will stay a minimum of 2 nights to enjoy their beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I booked one night at Longview for a stop over between Dunediun and Kaikoura. Anita was great and replied quickly to my request.

The time spent there was one of the higlights of the South Island. The views and company were excellent! Longview is definately a hidden treasure that more people should consider.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s33c3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I could rave all day about Longview because we just loved it. Anita and Alan, our hosts, were funny, intelligent, informative, interesting but above all, welcoming. There's not enough space here to tell you how good it really is - to open the curtains in the morning and see the magnificent view really is breathtaking and then you get to try Anita's cooking which is fabulous. If you go for a wander through the olive groves with them and get to meet their hand-reared calves you'll never want to leave...we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemount76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We chanced upon this hidden gem over the Internet when we were looking for a stopover to break our drive from dunedin to kaikoura. And our experience surpassed our expectations.

Anita and Alan.. And even Becky their cute dog... are warm genteel hosts. When we arrived cold ( winter now) there was hot tea and delicious scones. Water was provided for us to drink in our bedroom and the chocolate - sweet was a nice touch. We were also offered tasting of her olive oil ( pressed from her olive grove) though she didn't have any to sell this time as they had been sold out. (otherwise we would have bought a few bottles back)

The house was spotlessly clean, neat and well kept. There were many little touches that Martha Stewart would have approved.

There were 4 choices of cooked bfast to choose from, plus continental breakfast. We had the best French toast we'd ever had, and a very yummy egg Benedict. Not to mention a great view.

After breakfast we were taken on a tour around the property where there are cows, an olive grove, almond trees and a lovely garden.

A great bonus for us city folks was the free use of WIFI which allowed us to stayed connected.

Definitely a great getaway for city folks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sporeantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solace Country House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Longview Road | Pleasant Point, Timaru 7983, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 acres, Longview Bed & Breakfast/Farmstay has stunning, 'must be seen to be believed' views. Enjoy the tranquillity and beauty of the countryside with the advantage of being only minutes away from town. Centrally located, we are 2 hours drive from Christchurch and Aoraki/Mount Cook enroute to Queenstown. We are the perfect stopover on your journey. We have three double rooms available for guests. Two bedrooms and the guest lounge have direct access to the terrace and gardens. Stroll through our olive grove and enjoy a tasting of Extra Virgin Olive Oil from our most recent harvest. Visit our farm animals or explore the local attractions which include Maori rock art, railway museum with restored steam locomotives, golf course, vineyard and Timaru's International Motor Raceway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing