We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accommodation but rates highly within its type.”
Review of Blue Dolphin Motel

Blue Dolphin Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Motel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very basic accommodation but rates highly within its type.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Blue Dolphin is in the 90-110 dollar price range and for this cost you don't expect to get frills. The Blue Dolphin did not let us down in this regard. It is very basic but it is very clean, tidy and comfortable. The hosts are outstanding and always happy to help. this type of accommodation is best suited to groups, sports teams and school trips as the rooms can sleep 4 or 5 comfortably. The locations is excellent . Do not be put off by the busy road. The rooms at the front are completely doubled glazed and noise proof and you don't notice the noise at the back. It also has a very good back entrance off the street behind it. For its type and price range this motel rates highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Decided to stay here on the strength of the recent reviews and it was only a couple of hours south of Christchurch (about all I could handle after 4am start in Australia). What a pleasant surprise , the hosts are fantastic- take you to your room show you everything , nothing left to chance and plenty of good advice about local attractions. The Unit was clean, warm ,comfortable and quiet. The main bed was large and firm and I slept brilliantly. I only stayed 1 night but will stay longer next time as Timaru has much to offer and the Blue Dolphin is a great place to stay...

Room Tip: Units on the back street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have had the fortune to stay at the Blue Dolphin for two extended periods, one lasting seven weeks and the other 3 weeks. On both occasions the service offered by Geoff and Diane has been excellent, nothing is to much trouble.
The level of accommodation and service for the extremely reasonable rates is fantastic.
Try it you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The motel is clean and well equipped with cooking utensils that we need. It is roomy and warm, supermarkets and Caroline bay are close by. Furthermore, Geoff and Dianne are friendly and great host! Couldn't ask for more at a reasonable price like this! :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our second stay (unfortunately only 1 night this time) at the Blue Dolphin.
Management is fabulous.
We had a 2 bedroom unit, which as normal here, were clean and comfortable.
Excellent price and a great location.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After arriving in Timaru at 9pm at night, it was lovely to walk into our room that was so warm and comfortable. I could have easily picked up my bed and pillow and taken it with me on to Christchurch. What a fantastic nights sleep. Very little traffic noise although we were right on the main highway. Thankyou, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Very comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here just 1 night, very comfortable unit, spotless, maybe the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in which is a huge plus! Fantastic location right on Caroline Bay & across the road from the swimming pool, great location for kids!! Manager was extremely helpful & friendly. Would recommed to all & stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
1.3 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Motel

Property: Blue Dolphin Motel
Address: 40 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Dolphin Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Blue Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing