We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Dining”
Review of Custom Steak House

Custom Steak House
Ranked #19 of 74 Restaurants in Timaru
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
“Exquisite Dining”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A dinner for two, a Christmas function of 30, a birthday party of 16, this is the best of the best.
The food is exquisite, the ambience is very pleasing and the staff are 1st class. I rate tis as the best restaurant in Timaru for that special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fay439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Group of us dined here for our work dinner, and I was very disappointed with the overall experience. For starters, the garlic bread, was very sad and hard, had to apply garlic butter and slice yourself.. My steak was cooked well, but was let down by the fact that the vegetables and fries, which came separately, were cold by the time we received them. We had to ask for side plates for breads and steak knives for steak. Our waiter, was happy, but our waitresses not so much, which was commented on a few times. And just to finish off two of us had broken chairs, which we had to swap ourselves. We had a fun night out all together, just not the dining experience had hoped for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious Meal at the Steak @ Custon House Timaru”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our Office Christmas Party was held at the Custon House. For a group of 28 people the meal and surrounds were lovely. The white tablecloth set the dining table off beautifully. A three course meal was surpurb - and of course the delicious desert was to 'die for'. Yes, well worth boking and going to for an evening meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went @Steak house last week, had a lamb sliders and Ribs for entrée, ribeye and paua ravioli as a main. Everything was perfect, food, service and environment. We end the night very happy. Thanks for a such great night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMLDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Disappointing, slow and not going back.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was a disappointment. The meal was slow and average. The desserts were really good but quite frankly just did not enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom Steak House also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Custom Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing