We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends what you're after, but more than adequate”

Baywatch Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Depends what you're after, but more than adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a room facing the bay, which was great. The decor was a bit dated, but on the whole the unit was well equipped with a microwave, mini bar fridge and coffee/tea making items. There was even an iron and ironing board tucked away in the cupboard, which was useful. The spa bath was great and worked well, but it would've been nice to have a separate shower. Central location along main road, and close to walk to a couple of good restaurants and attractions. We did hear the train outside the front deck, but to be honest it didn't bother us that much. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
20
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Needed a room just to crash for a night. Found many along the main highway, thought it would be easier when we decided to take off the next day, so we pulled into the first vacancy signed one. Didn't need a view room and didn't want to pay the price for a view room, so he put us in one of the front driveway units. Convenient to unload the car, but that was it. Room was tidy and clean, but it's the amenities that need help. The door to the unit is a sliding door and has small windows next to it to open. Here's the problem: it was a hot day in Timaru. Since we are on the main driveway, we needed to keep the heavy drapes closed for privacy. but that stopped any fresh or cool air from coming into the unit- same issue for the windows on the other side of the unit- they opened to the view of other units. THERE WAS NO FAN OR AC to circulate the air. It was so hot! A ceiling fan installed would help this problem or at least have a rotating fan in the closet. Even if we were cool enough to sleep, the constant traffic and noise from the highway 50 feet away, ensured us no sleep. Big rigs, little honda racers.... You'd sleep like a baby if you were from NYC or some other big city where the city noise is your life. To top it off, one unit next to us seemed like a long timer, so loud conversation or calling to your dog right outside our open windows seemed normal to them. They were home, but to hotel guests, this is bad form. If you need to stay in Timaru and don't need a bay view- get off the highway. I know the highway noise isn't the fault of the proprietor, but get yourself some good sleep if you can.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK907nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Looks nice and the rooms are reasonable. Clean and tidy. does not need the tacky plastic flowers everywhere or the dirty bath duck. Bed was not comfortable, pillows were good. The main problem was the road noise on one side and the railway line about 10meters from the deck! We had four trains during the night and they felt like they were coming in the unit! You can not see the railway line as it is just below the lovely strip of garden. We also had some sort of alarm right outside our door that went of twice in the night! Not again thanks.Shame,bay views were nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

When we checked in we could not understand why this motel was so lowly rated on Trip Advisor. We had a great room at the back overlooking the beach although it was quite a long way away and on the other side of a pretty quiet railway line. As the evening went on we realised many of the residents who seemed to be long term occupants were working in town. They were quiet and well behaved. Sadly others were not and at 0120 hours we had to go outside to break up a domestic, which continued a couple of hours later. With road noise also to the fore and a pretty lumpy bed, which felt like a water bed, we didn't have a good night. Internet is still charged as an extra too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and had Room overlooking the Bay and the best views. Yep there are trains from maybe 6am but very infrequent and run slow so definately bearable.
Room was great, lovely patio area and hosts really great. Complimented by their lovel Motel Dog Teddy.
We were part of a large group so had the oppt to view other rooms and the Villa. You could not better the Motel for a large goup purpose. I do understand the front rooms do hear the continual SH 1 traffic alot .

Room Tip: Request Room with View. or Villa for afew heads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed between Christmas and New Year 2012/13. Two nights, units clean and tidy but the noise level from the road and we were more to the back of the property made having windows open for fresh air impossible. No view of the sea but of rooftops. Trucks were constant all night long with the rough road outside the motel causing even more issues and then air brakes for those coming down the hill. Would not recomment nor stay again. Also tariff is above average. Duped here I think as it does not live up to the photos

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed (2 adults, 2 children) for just the one night in December 2012.

The Baywatch Motel report to have the most amazing views, and certainly one or 2 of their units do overlook the lovely Bay, but the majority of rooms overlook the carpark and property next door. That lovely lawned area you see on their website is a small strip of lawn that is accessible, but slightly bigger than a postage stamp and isn't part of the main section of the complex.

Their website also states that it has the beach at its front door ... only it neglects to tell you that you can't get to it from the front door. That would be due to the train tracks that run between the motel and the Bay, another point missed off the website.

I have a real issue with misleading advertising, and I feel this motel reports itself to be " .. a spacious luxury motel complex", when actually it isn't.

The other thing to be aware of is the noise. Its right on the main road so the traffic noise (particularly trucks) is really up there, and we were in a middle unit. Can't imagine how it would have been for the unit closest to the road. Beware of booking other motels on the main road, as they will have the same issue.

In its favour, the Aquatic Centre is very close, as are some good places to eat. And then there's proximity to Caroline Bay which is NOT accessible via the motel complex (as the photos imply), still within walking distance though. The rooms are roomy. The kids room upstairs had lots of space for them to play. And the unit was clean.

However, all up, a less than average experience. I just expected better, based on what their website reported. Bit of marketing license used.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay. The smaller the room number, the closer you are to the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#2 of 5 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywatch Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywatch Motor Lodge

Property: Baywatch Motor Lodge
Address: 7 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baywatch Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baywatch Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing