We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food massive portions”
Review of Bennys Again

Bennys Again
Ranked #15 of 75 Restaurants in Timaru
Price range: $11 - $28
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food massive portions”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Food was really good only negative I would have are the portions especially the starters are too big and I know that's a good complaint to have, the price was very good too as was the service. The overall style of the restaurant wasn't to my taste but didn't take away from the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Poor service”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Went there for a meal for the third time over a five year period just to see if the service was any better but it wasn't. It was a very quiet night with only two tables occupied, the staff all sat around one of the empty tables and gossiped. Not once were we asked if we wanted another drink so we ate our meals and left.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank KellyTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local family restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great family restaurant and the food was pretty good...service good too.

Helpful?
Thank Fee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good food. Excellent salmon dish. most meals about $NZ26 plus drinks and starters etc

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tony870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lameroo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the hidden gem of Timaru, great food, exellent service, must do!”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The hotel we stayed at recommended this restaurant and we are so glad they did. We enjoyed an entree and main which were all fresh and delicious. They also had a good selection of beers and wines for every palate. The staff were fabulous and very helpful. It was clean and good value, the decor is really kitsch which was really cute, easy to find, lots of off street parking. Make sure you visit this restaurant when you are in Timaru.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennys Again also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bennys Again? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing