We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fantastic service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What fantastic service!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

As a sales rep I stay in a lot of motels and Ashley Motor Lodge is one of my favorites, alway clean, quiet, good value and they always looks after me. I was a bit late in booking this month and they were fully booked, Carl took the time to ring around other motels for me to get me a room. Thank you Carl! I will miss you this stay but I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
41
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were treated very well here and upgraded into a spa suite, right at the rear away from any traffic noise. Both lounge and bedroom were huge and it was lovely to have a small grassed area outside at the rear with a table and 2 chairs - the only issue we had is that it was a hot day (very high 20's C) and air-conditioning was not provided, which I thought unusual in 4 star property, which this definetly was. Maybe we just hit NZ in a real heatwave, But a ceiling fan would have been a very welcome and cheap option. Mind you, nowhere else we stayed seemed to have offer air-conditioning either.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stayed one night with my son. First thing I noticed was how clean the unit was. I can honestly say it was the cleanest unit I have stayed in. Very comfortable and extremely well equiped. Everything one could need. Excellent wet floor bathroom. And extremley friendly/helpful owner... Thanks Carl.. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay with you and would have no hesitation about staying with you again. Nice and quiet too...despite being on the main road into Timaru from South, we didnt hear any traffic noise.
Forget the others... this place is tops !!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

“Lovely quiet peaceful motel”

I couldn’t believe how different our experiences were from MacWilder of Sunfish Lake. We are Chris & Lil from England and stayed in the Ashley Motor Lodge in late November 2009. Carl and Janet were very friendly helpful hosts who explained to us they had only been there a few weeks and had made considerable changes to the place already, yes they had converted the gym into a bedroom for their daughter but all signage relating to the gym is gone and in the compendiums it tells you that gym equipment is available. I’m not sure what MacWilder means about spa but the unit we had and the other units Carl showed us all have their own Spa Baths. The Broadband worked extremely well. Our stay was a very nice experience and we could only recommend this place as somewhere great to stay in Timaru. It was a quiet, modern very clean spacious motel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

A very modern, clean motel, with a really pleasant helpful owner.
We just stayed for one night on our way down to Dunedin from Christchurch. It is right on the main road, just out of the town centre.
We were made very welcome when we checked in, the owner even gave us a discount voucher for a local restaurant (Robbie's Bar & Bistro), which we took advantage of.
Our unit was very spacious, clean and well equipped with a large flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed.
Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This is a typical motel. The rooms are OK, its clean, and its manager, Carl, is cheery and helpful.

But...

The "gymnasium", which is featured on the motel's website and on a sign outside the facility--and which is one reason I selected the place, doesn't exist. (It's now Carl's daughter's bedroom.) The similarly promoted "spa" apparently refers to jacuzzi spouts in the otherwise ordinary bathtubs. The "broadband internet" does exist, but clearly doesn't provide the claimed 200 mB capacity. Carl does cheerfully reset the internet connection when it no longer functions, but still calling him repeatedly for this purpose shouldn't be necessary.

Ashley is the first motel encountered in Timaru when coming from the south. Timaru has many motels, and some of them appear nicer than the Ashley based upon a superficial glance. One might do better to select one of them.

However, Ashley is adjacent to the quite nice Timaru Botanic Gardens, which is a factor in its favor if one is interested in visiting them.

Nevertheless, travelers may wish to avoid patronizing a place that egregiously misstates the extent of its offerings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing