We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Just about everything perfect. Great room spacious, stylish, spotlessly clean. Only thing lacking was a view but where in Timaru is there a view. Spa bath wonderful after a days driving. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mot_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were superbly welcomed by Carl and he gave us some top tips for our short stay in Timaru. He showed us to our room which was very clean and well appointed. The only problem we found out was later that night when all the trucks were heading south, up the hill towards the motel, going through the gears. It being summer and there are no aircons, we had to leave the windows open, so night 1 was a very sleepless night, the moral of the story, request a back room away from the road. We raised the issue with Carl and he gracefully moved us to a quiet room at the back, thanks Carl.
While we were overall happy with our stay, we felt that the motel would have been tops if it had aircon in the rooms, it was a very hot few days we were there and the rooms offered no respite.
Our thanks to Carl for also doing the right thing when we had to change our travel plans and leave a day early.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent one night here on New Year's Day 2013. It was a walk in booking and the hotelier was friendly and let us look at the unit before booking. We decided to look and phone a couple of other places first but this one seemed the better price choice so we went back and made the booking. The unit had two bedrooms. The kitchen and lounge were spacious and had modern decor and was quite appealing. Three bin recycling containers in the unit was a good touch. Nice little outdoor grass courtyard also added a nice touch. The bathroom had a separate shower and spa bath. Well supplied tea and coffee and kitchen cutlery, plates etc. The price was quite reasonable for a two bedroom unit and we enjoyed our stay. A bit distant from supermarkets but we had a vehicle so wasn't an issue. Yes we'd stay again if passing through.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ironmaidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A lovely motel. Absolutely spotless and spacious and the two bedroom unit was fantastic. Great attention to detail and facilities in the room were in excellent order. Very reasonably priced and affordable for families. The hosts (Carl and Janet) were so friendly and really could not do enough for you. A pleasure to stay in this motel and we will definitely be back when next in NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed 1night but wish we could have stayed longer. Very friendly hosts, nothing seemed to be a problem. Very pleasing to pay and not have to argue about the price, as you sometimes need to after they try to charge you more than was quoted. 10 out of 10 guys we will be back. Regards Jason and Katherine.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a relief to finally stay in a motel in Timaru that is excellent in all respects. Clean and spacious, great facilities within the room, an outstanding breakfast...will definitely be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

this motel is on the main south road out of timaru so is easily found and in a good location. The service from the manager Carl was outstanding and the rooms were very tidy and clean. I would look into a room further back from the main road next time and upstairs. Very good facility, great garden and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#8 of 18 in Timaru
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $114 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing