We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is my home away from home”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stop at The Ashley because it is very comfortable quiet.
Karl and Janet are great hosts. As I am working in Timaru every month I have arrange of things that they do for me. eg faxes accept parcels etc
Breakfast are good value and taste great

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
42
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lameroo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The spa room we had was a fantastic size with lots of room. They had lots of extras like more than 1 towel per person, decent milk, handwash and a big tv. The service was outstanding, they were very helpful with everything and recommended to great things to do and places to eat in Timaru. They also had a internet kiosk which was very cheap and easy to access.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The hosts give you a very warm welcome and the studios are very nice!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seona_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This motel is a true gem, have been staying here one night every six weeks for the last two years or more, and would have to be the best I stay at, Carl and Janet and there staff are fantastic, rooms are very well appointed, clean , quite, and roomy and great beds!!!, With all the nice touches- lollies in kitchen, can of cold drink at check-in, you can't go wrong!!! Wish every motel was like this one ;-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I have stayed at the Ashley Motor Lodge for over 10 years and have found the rooms spacious with a modern decor. I am always made welcome. There is plenty of off street car parking and it is quiet. The one bedroom units are very spacious with 2 modern 3 seater sofas.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tafretel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

As a sales rep I stay in a lot of motels and Ashley Motor Lodge is one of my favorites, alway clean, quiet, good value and they always looks after me. I was a bit late in booking this month and they were fully booked, Carl took the time to ring around other motels for me to get me a room. Thank you Carl! I will miss you this stay but I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were treated very well here and upgraded into a spa suite, right at the rear away from any traffic noise. Both lounge and bedroom were huge and it was lovely to have a small grassed area outside at the rear with a table and 2 chairs - the only issue we had is that it was a hot day (very high 20's C) and air-conditioning was not provided, which I thought unusual in 4 star property, which this definetly was. Maybe we just hit NZ in a real heatwave, But a ceiling fan would have been a very welcome and cheap option. Mind you, nowhere else we stayed seemed to have offer air-conditioning either.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing