We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goos location and comfort in Timaru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Ranked #3 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Hollingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Goos location and comfort in Timaru”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a most welcoming and comfortable stay with Rosemary and Ian. Good location to walk into town and with lovely views from our double aspect king room. This is the one we would recommend. The lounge and breakfast facilities were fine for us with plenty of room and good self-service facilities. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice with a Nespresso coffee machine.

Room Tip: Book the king room which has double aspect views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Would highly recommend a stay, with pleasant hosts and fantastic view to Timaru.
We thoroughly enjoyed the walk into Timaru and also the shorter walk around the small headland where Pleasant View is situated.
The best room is the one which overlooks the Bay but there is also a visitor lounge (fully equipped) which also overlooks the Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in the King room with a nice view. There are only 2 rooms in this property. The set up is a little different to other motels we stayed in NZ as the tea, coffee, kettle etc were all situated outside the rooms in the shared lounge. This was fine for us as the other guests arrived late so we had the whole lounge to ourselves for most of the evening. The room and attached shower/toilet were so clean and immaculate! Fluffiest towels I have ever used in a non 5 star establishment. Nespresso machine, home made bread, cooked bacon and eggs plus juices and cereals were a very nice treat which you don't always get at other similarly priced accommodations in NZ. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Well, we had the King room with its expansive picture windows. Space, I thought, but would it be warm enough for this somewhat cold-blooded northerner? It was so cosy! My better half who knows about these things said "double glazing" and built to high specs. And so it was.

That hurdle over, would it be as peaceful as it should be? Yes. Not a thing disturbed our sleep nor our daytime tranquility.

Two or three other big pluses; the "Pleasant View" is very accessible to a walkway through Caroline Bay on the seafront to some very agreeable eateries in the Bay Hill eat strip; Rosemary's homemade jam is to-die-for and Ian's poached eggs right up there; the tariff not a stretch!

We loved it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thangboche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this b and b, requesting a room with a view.
We were shown into the huge lounge/ dining room with absolutely panoramic views of Caroline Bay over to Timaru. After some confusion we were shown to our room... A miniscule room at the back of the house overlooked by neighbours. Amazingly, Rosemary then showed us the only other room, a huge room with stunning views, explaining another guest would be using this room. This had not been mentioned in prior discussions.
The other single guest arrived late, left almost immediately for dinner, came home very late and was gone first thing, while we had to huddle in our tiny room!
The house is lovely, the hosts warm and welcoming, but be sure to insist on the front room or go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Request the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roroTimaru, Owner at Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry you were not happy in our queen room which you reserved through booking.com. We try to ensure the best comfort for our visitors and that evening our large lounge with an amazing view was free for you to have to yourself
As we only have one bedroom with a view this automatically goes to the person who books it, We are happy to upgrade if there is a cancellation. The rooms are priced accordingly.
Maybe you will come back another time and stay in our King room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed two nights at Pleasant View, and couldn't have been happier. Welcomed by Rosemary and Ian into a beautiful place, with amazing views over Caroline Bay. We had the room with Queen bed which was perfect for our needs. Lovely comfy bed, very quiet and immaculate bathroom. Breakfast was amazing, (been missing it since we left!) with a yummy homemade muesli, followed by the best cooked bacon and eggs I've had for ages. A lovely surprise on our last morning was the visit of a hector dolphin just out in the bay as we enjoyed breakfast, perfect! Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel Tasman/Nelson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just had a one night stay with Rosemary and Ian in April (this is a very late review) and we wished we could have stayed longer - particularly to walk the track along the beach to the cafes. Such wonderful, friendly hosts with attention to detail in all aspects of their B&B. This is a new purpose built B&B with everything you could wish for. The bedroom was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a great view and the ensuite was perfect. The separate guest lounge and dining area was ideal, with a brilliant view out to sea, across the harbour and along a beautiful beach over to Timaru. The cooked breakfast and bacon and eggs etc was magnificant!! Rosemary was very helpful with suggestions of restuarants and local knowledge. We so enjoyed our short stay here and we will be back. Thanks Rosemary and Ian, your B&B is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennis1540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
2.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
253 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#2 of 6 in Timaru
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru

Property: Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Address: 2 Moore Street | Waimataitai, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodation in Timaru New Zealand, with amazing views across the ocean, bay, town and hills beyond. 2 double bedrooms with en-suites one looking out across the sea and garden, the other onto a sheltered courtyard. Guests own lounge with kitchenette and TV/DVD. Free wireless internet Sit and relax looking out to sea. An easy walk to restaurants and takeaways. Great walking and cycling tracks on doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing