We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bed and breakfast in Timaru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Ranked #4 of 17 Timaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hosts were gracious, the room was spacious and clean, the view was lovely - very, very pleasant stay. We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoTravelRochester_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Excellent hosts. All the amenities you could want. Good breakfast. Offered continental or cooked. Walking distance to town centre. Can highly recommend this establishment. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyqAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed for one night en route to Dunedin.
Accommodation is on the ground floor of this modern home. Our bedroom was large with two windows giving views over the bay. It was very comfortable and clean.
There is a large guest lounge with comfortable furniture, TV, dining table and a small kitchen area. There are good views of the bay from this room,
Rosemary and Ian are very friendly without being intrusive. They served a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroliz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a wonderful couple of nights staying at Pleasant View. Beautiful accommodation and location. The hosts were so obliging and only too happy to do anything for us. We had the best scrambled eggs there!! Would highly recommend Pleasant View as a place to stay without hesitation.

Room Tip: There are two rooms. Choose the larger room with the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at Pleasant View B&B on our way from Dunedin to Christchurch with our son (5). Rosemary led us into her home and we instantyly felt at home: we had the larger room looking into the bay with ensuite, lovely bathroom. The showers are just marvelous. The roller blinds do a good job to let you sleep well at night, so do the comfortable beds. For our son, they just rolled in a bed into our room, but still you had some space to move. The place is clean.

The whole home is very stylish, tastefully furnished and decorated. You share a large lounge room with Sky TV and a nice selection of DVDs for children and adults. You may watch DVDs in your room as well, but there are also lots of outdoor activities in Timaru.

Breakfast is also being served in this lounge room which has an air conditioning for both heating and cooling. Further on, you find a microwave oven, tea and coffee facilities in there as well as a small fridge. Breakfast is lovely with home-made marmelade, apricots and a yummy cooked breakfast if you like. In addition, you can enjoy a nice Nespresso coffee!

Rosemary and Ian are very helpful and nice hosts, who respect your privacy and are not intrusive at all.

We would have loved to stay for another night, but had to move on!

Room Tip: When traveling with one kid the larger room is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olssons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hosts are very nice and the setting is great. We had a separate bedroom and a shared lounge/cooking area. We met very interesting people in the other unit. The location is perfect for bay watching and easy to get out to the town by car. Everything we needed was there and we brought home takeout for a pleasant dinner. Also, the host's breakfasts were superb.

Room Tip: No, only two rooms and both are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldfitball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

New home a short walk away from town. We booked the smaller of the 2 rooms and it was quite small. TV is only offered in the common room, but you can watch dvd's in your room if you need to. Our room was very clean and the shower pressure second to none. We haven't enjoyed a hot shower like that in years! Breakfast was basic, but did the trick. Good pick for an overnight on the way elsewhere. No worry about sleeping in as the blinds let most of the light in. We didn't have to worry about a late check out here. The host are very pleasant people and seem to enjoy having a B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iknowwhatilike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
3.7 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 17 in Timaru
92 reviews
6.8 mi away
Solace Country House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
275 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Northpark Motel
#13 of 18 in Timaru
5 reviews
2 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#2 of 18 in Timaru
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru

Address: 2 Moore Street | Waimataitai, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: $98 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodation in Timaru New Zealand, with amazing views across the ocean, bay, town and hills beyond. 2 double bedrooms with en-suites one looking out across the sea and garden, the other onto a sheltered courtyard. Guests own lounge with kitchenette and TV/DVD. Free wireless internet Sit and relax looking out to sea. An easy walk to restaurants and takeaways. Great walking and cycling tracks on doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing