We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Convieient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Convieient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Parklands Motor Lodge is an older motel but has been very well maintained. Excellent kitchen facilities (although we ate out) and lovely clean, comfortable bedding. The general cleanliness couldn't be faulted. The owner is delightful and was very helpful.
Well situated within a short distance to a supermarket, restaurants and take aways.
We would certainly stay again - Value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybee2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie K, Owner at Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
26
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
273 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night here. Room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Decor quite dated with apricot coloured walls but everything we needed. Great recycling of rubbish. Close to supermarket and various dining options. Only down side is the traffic noise when it came time for sleeping. Couldn't get to sleep and it woke me early. Good if working, but not if on holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie K, Owner at Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Parklands is an older style motel and we are well aware that the décor is dated. We are in the process of refurbishing the units having redecorated 6 of the 14. We are removing the peach coloured wallpaper and replacing it with paint in neutral colours.
It was a shame that you were bothered by the traffic noise considering that you were in the unit furthest away from the road. This is one of the downsides of our location sometimes although for a lot of our guests this is not a problem. Suppose it depends on what you are used to and how well you sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Although the stay was comfortable, i really was dissapointed with the room. I think the decor needs some updating and there was alot of dust on the lampshades and pictures. I spotted a couple of cobwebs on the ceiling. Your cups in the kitchen is badly stained and was off putting to me. Because you are classified as a 4 star i was expecting better. Don't think i will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lientjie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for a random weekend away, price was really good for four adults.
Decor felt a little dated, and couch wasnt very comfortable but had everything you needed and plenty of space, off road parking, dining table for sitting around playing cards/drinking etc and was quiet location. Beds were great and comfy, view over park was nice.
Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ended up staying there twice over 3 weeks as our West coast trip was sidelined due to a bridge outage.
The owners were super accommodating and gave us the same large 1 bedroom when we returned, and I have to say it was a comfortable and cosy stay, massive bathroom with amenities and right next to the park and plenty of take away restaurants and the supermarket.
Would stay there again and have already recommended it to others! Thanks :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluDupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

"after a quick escape from Christchurch we drove south with no idea where we would stay and as luck would have it, we stopped here. A lovely clean and spacious unit, absolutely perfect after a day that started with 6am flights from Hobart. The owner was so helpful and courteous.
The bed was heaven, not because we were tired but really comfortable and with a couple of really good restaurants just a minute or two walk away the whole place was spot on.
Only one problem for me was the shower, a sort of a triangular thing that was pretty cramped but I managed to get wet anyway, wife and kids ,no problems. A really good kitchen that enabled us to have a substantial breakfast before hitting the road.
I would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Good spacious units with friendly, helpful owners. Very clean & tidy with good off road parking and nice walk into town along seaview walkway at back of park next door. Units well set up for recycling with lots of information on what to put where which I thought was great. A little noisy in some of the front units due to SH1.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.6 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.9 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru

Property: Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Address: 65 - 67 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing