We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern and spotless”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Units are modern, spotless and certainly could find no fault with them, it's right by the main highway to Christchurch so is prone to a bit of traffic noise, though certainly nothing overly annoying.

It's on the outskirts of town so a little far to walk to the shops but by car it's 5 minutes to the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
32
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked 4 rooms and spent 2 nights here on a sporting trip the staff were great in working with me to accommodate our needs. The rooms are very comfortable and the hospitality and friendliest of staff excellent. Great shower and spa bath!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Set in a convenient location easy to find, out of a city, yet relatively close to urban places such as Ashburton and Geraldine. Good standard of accommodation. Clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Comfortable and convenient place to eat, watch a wide range of TV stations, park at, and meet other guests. Good sized, well aired rooms. This is a well run business that we found reasonably priced for that price-range viz a viz value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a friend's wedding in Geraldine (40 minutes away). We chose this motel because there was no accommodation available in Geraldine over that weekend and we were impressed with the quality of the accommodation, the price and the location to Geraldine.

Upon check in we were greeted in a very friendly manner. The owner gave us a voucher for some internet usage and showed us to our room. The room was a ground floor studio with a spa bath in the bathroom. The bathroom was a good size and the shower had good pressure. The bed was queen sized and was comfortable.

The road noise was a bit of an issue for me when the doors/windows were open. Not so much when the doors and windows were closed but it was quite a warm weekend. The motel is on the main state highway and is right where the 100km/50km sign is. We were aware that there would be road noise before we booked though. It definitely quietened down when darkness fell.

I would recommend this motel because it is clean, comfortable and well priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_L_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great place to stay although a wee bit out of town it was worth the distance. If your going to the races it is the perfect spot. Very clean and tidy, absolutely excellent shower, although they are new owners they certainly were very friendly and welcoming. It was great being able to sit outside in the sun for breakfast. Would recommend this motel as the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had one facing the east so got early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TouristsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed at this motel on several occasions. Found the staff to be welcoming and professional. I was a later arrival on a cold evening. The room was warm on my arrival. The room was roomy, tidy and functional. Very pleasing to note the full range of sky TV channels (I like the sport channels and the motel has all available - along with the movie channels). Also pleasing to note the room had 2 comfy lounge style chairs. Such chairs enabled me to relax in comfort. Overall one of the better motels that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Motel located on the North side of Ashburton. If you wanted to visit the CBD you would probably appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on Saturday 17th may for my Dads 80th birthday. Very easy to find as its on the main road. Very well priced as we got a two bed roomed apartment for two adults and two children for $160. Others motels in Ashburton were charging closer to $200. Rooms very large and had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunnybear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
18.6 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton Motor Lodge

Property: Ashburton Motor Lodge
Address: 507 West Street | State Highway 1, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ashburton Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Harvey and Sally, welcome you to Ashburton Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, Ashburton's newest motel & conference centre offering up-market modern Ashburton accommodation and facilities. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ashburton Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing