We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TweLve Bar - CLOSED

TweLve Bar
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We pride ourselves on being the best little restaurant bar in Ashburton! We provide an exquisite modern bar, that is as comfortable as it is friendly. We have exceptional service, divine cocktails and the most delicious food. Our fresh local menu is designed by owner Chantelle Quinn, who was Top 9 on the 2012 Masterchef NZ television show, and tweLves Head Chef Kinnear Horsburgh.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
349 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Still the best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just had another great night, with a new menu, at TweLve Bar. The rack of Canterbury lamb was the best I've eaten. One colleague rated the steak as superb, and the vegetarian plate was imaginative and colourful, as well as a taste-treat according to our fellow diner. It's a small bar-come-restaurant. Do book! I should point out that this is my third review as a visitor to Ashburton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely place to chill and have a few teapots. Fantastic food, ordered the monk fish, which I have never ordered fish before as it is not really my thing, but wanted a change. It was in a lemon, caper, butter sauce and it was divine. Everyone at the table had something different but each dish was lovely on its own merits. Will go back again and again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWayman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

What better way to wind up your week than lunch at Twelve. Absolutely divine. Nice and warm on a freezing cold day as well and great coffee to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love Twelve! Cozy atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent service. The food is some of the best you will find in Ashburton the chefs platter is delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maza223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great must go spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I met after work ,enjoyed a nice glass of Shiraz
We decided spur of the moment to have dinner .
There was a table available and we were made very welcome ,great service and a nice simple menu , we chose a fillet steak and the pork belly , both dishes were superb ,the steak beautifully cooked and the pork belly quite sweet and interesting.
Service was great and the intimate surroundings with the all out friendliness made this a lovely experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TweLve Bar also viewed

 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing