We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Taylors Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taylors Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and made to feel very comfy. The room was immaculately clean and we appreciated the access to wifi which had been so limited in other hotels in the South Island. A bonus was 10% discount on drinks and food at the hotel across the road? We had a lovely stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. The discount across the road is a great service to be able to provide our guests. We are happy you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 176 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here after we were passing through one evening and decided to stop as a storm was coming in (in fact, Taylor's was recommended to us by another local motel, which was full). We had a very comfortable stay - our room was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Free WiFi was a bonus. Craig and Rebecca were very welcoming and accommodating hosts who clearly take great pride in their motel. We only stayed one night but would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 615Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

You never know where you will end up in storms, our rooms are warm and spacious and we are glad we could help on this occassion. We would love to see you again. Thanks Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Taylor's motel was extremely clean and comfortable and had everything we would ever have needed, right down to egg cups and scissors! Craig and Rebecca's attention to detail is 100%. The best thing was the king size bed - luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we love our superking bed in some of our rooms as well, always nice to have that touch of luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable for a travelling family of four. Our room was well appointed and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Close to local shops and services. We would actually have liked to stay longer to explore the area but time and itineraries dictated otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do have a lovely town. Everything is reasonably close from Hot Air Ballooning to jetboating or even nice walkways. A nice place to bring up our children. Thanks Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

All we needed for our overnight stay. Clean, well equipped, very comfortable and quiet. Craig was very welcoming with a just needed latte on arrival. The cost was reasonable with complimentary wifi. Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmondbarracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, we do try. Thanks Bex and Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Craig and Rebecca had been wonderful hosts who were very welcoming and helpful, so were the rest of their team. All of them made us feel very much at home.

Our 5-week stay was very comfortable! Clean, well maintained, relatively spacious and warm rooms (was winter then). Just like in the photos, a furnished apartment with everything you need (even an oven in the kitchen). WiFi is free, though it would have been nicer if it was unlimited.

Overall, a great place to stay with 5-star service! Thank you guys =)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meng Yean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you it was a pleasure having you. Thanks Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

3 ladies arrived for a bit of a do! A great welcome and the unit was excellent value for money. Comfortable beds and spacious lounge. All good actually, especially the complimentary lattes in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
18.8 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taylors Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free high speed WiFi and sky 50+ channels with guest select. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing