We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay”
Review of Taylors Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taylors Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would 100% recommend this motel from checking in to checking out I was very impress the service I received from Kaye who made me so welcome & kept my place so homely & cosey each day. I will definatly be back to visit.......Thank you for making my weekend wonderful........5 star all the way...

Stayed: July 2012
Thank sammygee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We would love to have you staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

The rooms aren't top of the range but they are clean, functional and comfortable. The welcome we got was warm and included a cuppa brought to the room. We only stayed one night but it was a good stay and one we'd recommend to anyone looking for a restful and comfortable stop-off on a long journey.

Room Tip: Try the pub over the road - great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of our rooms except 3 are basically new and of a 4 star plus quality. You may have been in 1 of our 3. It is great to hear you enjoyed the restaurant opposite and a nice espresso that we took to your room. We hpe you have a great next holiday. Thanks Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The owner made us feel very welcome and provided a wealth on information on the local area. The motel room was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. The only downside was the noise of the freight train in the early hours of the morning, however this is something you would hear in most of the motels in the area as the railway runs straight through the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently went to Ashburton and Taylors were very accomodationg at giving us a room to suit us with our elderly mother, the free coffee was great. Kaye kept saying is there anything else I can do for you and she meant it. We had several requests e.g. extra rubbish that Kaye whisked away before we could blink. The rooms were serviced daily, we loved the gardens, access to our room was easy and the rooms were of a high standard. We totally recommend Taylors Motel Ashburton.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron and Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We travelled round New Zealand for nearly 3 weeks in January, 2012 staying in motels most nights but we would rate this as one of the best we stayed in. The lady who greeted s and saw us off the next morning was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious, extremely clean, very well equipped and reasonably priced The gardens are well kept and there are even BBQ facilities if you choose to use them. Highly reccommended.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed for a family wedding so booked quite a few units.
Ours was a two bedroom unit which slept 5.
Check in was easy as Rebecca was super friendly offering a complimentary coffee on arrival, which Mum said was beautiful. Room was very clean & tidy & had everything we needed. Slept great. Check out with Kay was equally smooth & friendly.
Some rooms had been recently renovated but no complaints about our rooms.
Close to centre of town so easy to locate & to sightsee.
Would recommend staying at Taylors if staying in Ashburton or Passing through

Room Tip: If you prefer modern ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Having just arrived in Ashburton before getting married there, we were delighted to be directed to this motel by the I-site visitor centre. On arrival we were greeted with a complimentary coffee and settled into our room.The manageress was extremely helpful in sorting out an appointment with an emergency dentist for us and altogether, nothing was too much trouble for her. The room was very clean and spacious and had everything we needed and more.
We would not hesitate in reccommending this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepiddu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#7 of 7 in Ashburton
115 reviews
18.8 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ashburton
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $86 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taylors Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free high speed WiFi and sky 50+ channels with guest select. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing