We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view combined with great service and funny people.”
Review of Mt Potts Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Potts Lodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful view combined with great service and funny people.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the lodge through helpx and had do much fun spending time in the lodge and helping out. Very fun staff and welcoming atmosphere. Would definitely recommend visiting if you are looking for a beautiful view and a Lord of the Rings experience. Highly recomended location to visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InjuringApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard WA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you are looking for an absolutely incredible experience in the heart of the Southern Alps of New Zealand, you have to consider Mt. Potts Lodge! My wife & I, along with my oldest son & his fiancee, stayed in a charming 2-bedroom cabin with an amazing view of the soaring mountains & valley floor. Just a short drive away is the trail head to Mt. Sunday, know to LOTR fans as Edoras/Rohan. The setting is spectacular. From the top of the rise, you can almost see Gandalf streaking across the plain below on Shadofax!

A VERY special thanks to Matt for helping make this one of the most memorable stops on a memorable trip to Australia & New Zealand!!!

Room Tip: The single cabin facility is homey & clean, with two bedrooms, a comfy living room with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank soccerdad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Mt Potts Lodge is situated in one of the most beautiful spots on earth. No joke. Scenes from the Lord of the Rings were filmed here but this place is great for both LOTR and those people who just want to feel closer to the beauty of nature. We stayed in the cabin and it was nice and warm on a very cold July day. Easily accessible roads to get here, yet it is totally isolated. Just a great experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Mt Potts Lodge is in by far one of the most beautiful locations I've ever been. The mountains surrounding it are stunning. We had a wonderful stay, and as my boyfriend proposed while we were there, the ranch manager, Matt, brought us champagne to help us celebrate. The cabin we stayed in was clean and had the cutest pot-belly stove that was perfect for the cold weather. We can't wait to go back next time we're in New Zealand!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
23.1 mi away
Glenfalloch Station
Glenfalloch Station
#10 of 10 in Methven
3 reviews
47.4 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
172 reviews
47.4 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
34 reviews
47.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
88 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Potts Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Potts Lodge

Property: Mt Potts Lodge
Address: 2131 Hakatere Potts Rd | Ashburton Lakes, Ashburton 7771, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Potts Lodge offers an impressive location and relaxing private ambiance in the mid of High-Country in Hakatere Conservation Park, Canterbury and has been undergoing major renovations and upgrading of the rooms. We cater for all events and propose a tailored solution for any occasions' function venue with quality service and facilities. Welcome you to relax and enjoy a real NZ high country experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mt Potts Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing