We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coronation Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coronation Park
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Friendly capable staff greeted us on arrival. We stayed in the tourist flat which had more than enough room, was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed at a very reasonable rate. The playground was a hit with the kids and they were even brave enough to try out the pool. We were impressed with the overall cleanliness of the site and the tidy grounds. We had friends stay in the powered sites and the kitchen area was a great place for us to gather together and chat while keeping an eye on the kids playing happily. We would definitely stay again and will be recommending Coronation Park to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    57
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
39
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in a chalet which was very clean and comfortable.
Bed was comfortable with crisp white sheets.
Shower, although a little small had plenty of hot water.
Towels clean and white.
The staff were quick to come to the unit and help with a problem, which was ours, re the TV..
This space is set back from the road so is a quiet setting.
Parklike grounds are a lovely environment.
The tariff is reasonable for this sort of accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Great to hear you were comfortable. We look forward to hosting you next time you need to stay in Ashburton.


Regards Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently stayed in Coronation Park for a couple of days with my partner so we could spend some quality time together. I found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable experience, the staff were friendly and jovial - joking with us and making us feel welcome from the moment we set foot on the premises. We stayed in a standard cabin, an impeccably presented room that was a true bargain for its price. Located close to all amenities and shops Coronation Park is a true gem, I highly recommend it to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in the Ashburton area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellyWill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the trouble to write a review for us. Thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Paid $55 on tripadvisor and turned up at 9pm after ringing to say i'd be late. Friendly staff, clean cabin (B7) and close to showers/toilets. Good value and very tidy, flat screen tv and good fridge as well as fan heater.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you, we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The unit we had was very comfortable, clean and for a cold winters night, very warm.
The rooms were quite spacious and fixtures and fittings good quality.

The service was friendly and helpful.

The only thing I don't like about Trip Advisor is the need to write a book in order to provide a review of the motel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyannarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Pollyannarh
thank you so much for your comments. Our main focus to provide our guests with somewhere clean, warm and comfortable to stay. It is reassuring to have positive feedback that we are doing something right.

Regards Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

* Colonial One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 6) *
Good Points = dog friendly, comfy beds, very clean and tidy, fab shower (but goes cold when kitchen tap is used), 2 TV's, good sized pots & frypan, good sized microwave, small fridge, no chipped plates or cups, no timer for the wall heater in the lounge, can have kids in lounge and parents in separate room, swimming pool (but it's solar heated so it's too cold to use at this time of the year), dog friendly!
Not so good = no heater for bedroom (we froze!), one of the bed lamps couldn't reach the power point so hubby couldn't use it to read, the toilet is on other side of the bedroom wardrobe and when you're in bed you can hear the toilet roll noisily turning against the wall, bedroom TV reception is very poor with few channels, no dishwasher, the toilet can't be used while someone's in the shower, prebooked and paid for family of five but the kids' beds were not made up when we arrived (late at night which they were informed of) and we weren't given any sheets, given tiny soap which was unsuitable for family of 5 (pretty average service), plates/cups etc are stored too high - even 10 & 12 yr old couldn't reach them safely, only given just enough cutlery (no extras for serving food etc), tongs couldn't be used (no spring), no cupboard space etc for storing food, stove rings were faulty - one was always too hot and the other was never hot enough, magazines provided on the table were 12 years old.
Considering the age of the unit etc, I thought $196 per night (for two adults & 3 chdn under 14, plus a dog) was on the high side.
Not a lot for 10, 12, 13 yrs olds to do in Ashburton - actually there's nothing. It's ok for younger chdn (flying fox, unheated swimming pool) but older chdn were totally bored and didn't want to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments. It was a fair point about the heater in the bedroom. We do endeavour to have the room warm for when guests arrive later at night. I apologise, we were remiss in this instance. Not sure what you meant about the beds not being made up. Did you mean that you had to get the extra pillows from the wardrobe? Thanks for the heads up about the ceramic oven top. Unless guests let us know, we are totally unaware. We do encourage recycling and go to the local bookarama Rotary fund raiser for good quality magazines. There may be some older ones, but this is the exception rather than the norm. The articles are still interesting. For future reference, the in room compendium is full of great ideas of things to do in Ashburton. The staff can also help with places to go and things to see – most of it free of charge for families who are watching their pennies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an OK first stopping point when coming out of Christchurch with your camper van. All the facilities that you need are there but just a little on the dowdy side and there are not too many of them. The site appears to accommodate a significant number of semi-permanent residents who work in the locality, but this still leaves a good number of sites to choose from.

There appeared to be only a small number of (gents) toilet and shower facilities - 2 toilets and 2 showers which seemed to be a small number fof facilities for the site of this size.

The railway which runs past the front of the camp is pretty audible but fortunately there are not too many trains during the night.

Overall, it was priced at the rate for a good Kiwi site but I felt that it fell well short of their usual standard - but it was convenient....

Be careful as you drive into the entry as there is a sort of bridge that crosses a culvert which seems a little on the 'tight' side...

Room Tip: Keep away from the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We are disappointed to hear you were not too impressed with our park. Ashburton is a rural supply town with a shortage of seasonal accommodation. Our guests who live here on a weekly basis are a great group of people who offer a sense of community and security to the park. We see this as a bonus. We are only a small park, but offer a modern kitchen dining area and two blocks of women’s and men’s bathroom facilities - making a total of 4 showers and 4 toilets in the park for each gender. We also have a solar heated swimming pool, guest BBQ, children’s play park and a reliable and fast wireless internet service. We don’t have any powered sites beside the railway track. The train track is located across the road from the main entrance to the park. As the crow flies, it is at least 200m from the track to the campervan area, which is also shielded behind our double glazed accommodation blocks. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in the Kiwi Holiday Parks and hope you will recommend the group to any family and friends travelling to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashburton hotels
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.9 mi away
ASURE Adcroft Motel
ASURE Adcroft Motel
#7 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Park

Property: Coronation Park
Address: 780 East Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coronation Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronation Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing